34 card

Camping Les Terrasses

A situation to make your head spin!

And here you are called by Saint Chinian, the Orb, the Minervois and the Big Blue! The multiplicity of leisure activities would make your head spin! Of course, of course, in an hour by car you can bask on the sand in Agde, or jump in salt water, but the richness of the nearby region calls out to you. You will therefore stroll through the village of Saint-Chinian, who since the VIIIst century plays with its first name in the Oc language: "Sanch Inhau". With your eyes wide open, at the Hôtel de Ville, you will spot traces of a XNUMXth century Benedictine abbey, a cloister, or, in the secrecy of a church, the organs classified as Historical Monuments. Be curious, look at the fountain, discover the courtyards, spiral staircases, the benevolent pergolas, memory of the XVIIIst century, when spinning and dyeing factories proliferate. Shelter yourself from the sun under the magnolias, and take the time to pick your fruit and vegetables at the "Organic Garden", 5 minutes from the camping. 

Discover the region differently

Take the time, you hikers, mountain bikers, cycle tourists, to embark on the marked trails (43 or 44 for example), discovering the “capitelles”, peasant shelters made of dry stone, bread ovens, “clapas”, mills. The stone walls will guide you, like a treasure hunt. Choose the app all trails to discover the hikes around the camping. Why not head 5 km to Cebazan-Puisserguier (hike 32 "the Dolmen" of Montmajou) where megalithic remains will appeal to young and old. No, you are not in Brittany, but the region can compete! Except that you are in the middle of olive trees, holm oaks, scrubland, arbutus and that it is rosemary, thyme and wild thyme that tickle your nostrils! There is even a regional museum of prehistory in Saint Pons de Thomières. The riders, on horseback or… on donkeys, will follow the valley of Vernazobre, but all of you will climb to the Roches du Mont Caroux (nicknamed Mountain of Light). Why ? Because the purple and indigo crests draw human figures there. Artists, to your cameras and brushes! These are enchanting panoramas whose ancestral paths you follow, to soak up the small heritage.

And of course… You will be looking for freshness. 

Enter the Cave of the Glass Spinner towards ST Pons. A delight. The wild beauty of Vésoles lake will surprise you with the diversity of its surroundings. Lake, moors, but also an impressive waterfall at the Saut de Vésoles. Hiking sheets are available from the Tourist Offices. You can sail, but swimming is not supervised. And then, the living water is a treat? So go to Colombières gorges where the aridity of the soil is thwarted by the brilliance of the waterfalls. Also go to the true paradise of Gorges d'Héric. Their limpid waters are due to the granite of Mont Caroux, the heart of Languedoc, inexhaustible routes for nature lovers. You can go climbing to Cessenon Sur Orb, or contact Reals Canoë Kayak for example, to discover or explore your emotions. Climbing courses, such as canoeing, adapt and offer you leisure or more sporting options. Your sensitivity to the environment will be increased tenfold by this sharing of man and nature. Pure moments of happiness: Carpe Diem. 

Wine tourism and conviviality

So leave the water, sometimes (!) And soak up the “Vines of the Lord”. The famous vineyards (AOC since 1982) open to you 9 km of apparent wine-growing peace, thanks to the Oenonorando de Notre Dame de Nazareth in Saint Chinian. The villages and their 100 private cellars and cooperatives then developed. You will like to follow the rich winegrowers of their knowledge, to initiate you and "to taste" the Saint-Chinian, intoxicate yourself with the magic of wine, the diversity of terroirs, the secrets of the appellations. Some areas are turning with interest to organic, but all work with respect for traditions and the appeal of modernity. In the evening at camping, what a pleasure of conviviality around a small barbecue with friends, to taste the products gleaned from the picturesque markets in the area! Ah! Of course, of course, if you still have time, enjoying the Canal du Midi is a MUST! Pierre Paul Riquet was a pugnacious genius, who under Louis XIV persevered to bring the Atlantic and the Mediterranean together. So, a boat trip from Béziers, after visiting such a noble city, or a few days of roaming along the peaceful Canal will delight you. This Canal du Midi being world famous, it would be a shame to be so close without addressing it. But, you will have to come back. So many places to see, so much natural beauty and human ingenuity call for another stay at the Camping "The Terraces of Saint Chinian".

To prepare your holidays in Hérault with confidence, go to the website of our partner SportRIZER, and you can book the sports around camping ! If you would like more information for your stay, do not hesitate to consult the pages Camping, Accommodation et Themes.

Explore our guide for holidays

Articles to help you prepare your holidays!

In a group, with the family or alone

Your tailor-made quote in less than 24 hours!

Ask for a quote

carte 34

Camping Les Terrasses

Une situation à vous faire tourner la tête !

Et vous voilà appelés par Saint Chinian, l’Orb, le Minervois et la Grande Bleue ! La multiplicité des loisirs vous ferait bien tourner la tête ! Bien sûr, bien sûr, vous pouvez en une heure de voiture vous prélasser sur le sable à Agde, ou sauter dans l’eau salée, mais la richesse de la région proche vous interpelle. Vous flânerez donc au village de Saint Chinian, qui depuis le VIIIème siècle joue avec sa première appellation en langue d’Oc : “Sanch Inhau”. Les yeux grand ouverts, vous dépisterez à l’Hôtel de Ville, les traces d’une abbaye Bénédictine du IXème siècle, un cloître, ou, dans le secret d’une église, les orgues classées Monuments Historiques. Soyez curieux, regardez la fontaine, découvrez les cours, escaliers à vis, les pergolas bienveillantes, mémoire du XVIIIème siècle, lorsque prolifèrent filatures et teintureries. Abritez vous du soleil sous les magnolias, et prenez le temps de faire vos cueillettes de fruits et légumes au ” Jardin  Bio” à 5 mn du camping. 

Découvrir la région autrement

Prenez le temps, vous les randonneurs à pieds, à VTT, en cyclotourisme, de vous lancer sur les sentiers balisés (le 43 ou 44 par exemple), à la découverte des “capitelles”, abris paysans de pierre sèche, des fours à pain, des “clapas” , des moulins. Les murs de pierre vous guideront, comme un jeu de piste. Pourquoi ne pas vous diriger à 5 km vers Cebazan-Puisserguier (rando 32 ” le Dolmen” de Montmajou) où des vestiges mégalithiques interpelleront grands et petits. Non, vous n’êtes pas en Bretagne, mais la région peut rivaliser ! A cela près, que vous êtes au milieu des oliviers, des chênes verts, de la garrigue, des arbousiers et que c’est le romarin, le thym et le serpolet qui chatouillent vos narines ! Il y a même un musée régional de la préhistoire à Saint Pons de Thomières. Les cavaliers, à cheval ou… à dos d’âne, suivront la vallée du Vernazobre, mais tous, vous monterez aux Roches du Mont Caroux (surnommé Montagne de Lumière). Pourquoi ? Parce que les crêtes violines et indigo y dessinent des silhouettes humaines. Artistes, à vos caméras et pinceaux ! Ce sont des panoramas enchanteurs dont vous suivez les voies ancestrales, pour vous imprégner du petit patrimoine.

Et bien sûr… Vous chercherez la fraîcheur. 

Pénétrez dans la Grotte de la Fileuse du Verre vers ST Pons. Un délice. La beauté sauvage du Lac de Vésoles vous surprendra par la diversité de ses abords. Lac, landes, mais aussi impressionnante cascade au Saut de Vésoles. Des fiches Rando sont disponibles dans les Offices de Tourisme. Vous pourrez naviguer, mais la baignade n’est pas surveillée. Et puis, l’eau vive est un régal ? Alors allez aux Gorges de Colombières où l’aridité des sols est contrariée par la brillance des cascades. Allez aussi au véritable paradis des Gorges d’Héric. Leurs eaux limpides sont dues au granit du mont Caroux, cœur du Languedoc, inépuisable d’itinéraires pour les amoureux de la nature. Vous pourrez y pratiquer l’escalade vers Cessenon Sur Orb,ou contacter Reals Canoë Kayak par exemple, pour découvrir ou explorer vos émotions. Les parcours d’escalade, comme de canoë kayak, s’adaptent et vous proposent des formules loisirs, ou plus sportives. Votre sensibilité à l’environnement sera décuplée par ce partage de l’homme et de la nature. De purs moments de bonheur : Carpe Diem. 

Oenotourisme et convivialité

Alors laissez l’eau, parfois (!) et imprégnez vous des “Vignes du Seigneur”. Les célèbres vignobles (AOC depuis 1982) vous ouvrent 9 km de paix viticole apparente, grâce à l’Oenonorando de Notre Dame de Nazareth à Saint Chinian. Se développent alors les villages et leurs 100 caves particulières et les coopératives. Vous aimerez suivre les viticulteurs riches de leur savoir, vous initier et “déguster ” le Saint Chinian, vous enivrer de la magie du vin, la diversité des terroirs, les secrets des appellations. Certains domaines se tournent avec intérêt vers le Bio, mais tous travaillent dans le respect des traditions et l’appel de la modernité.  Le soir au camping, quel plaisir de convivialité autour d’un petit barbecue entre amis, pour goûter les produits glanés sur les pittoresques marchés des environs ! Ah ! Bien sûr, bien sûr, si vous avez encore du  temps, profiter du Canal du Midi est un MUST ! Pierre Paul Riquet fut un génie pugnace, qui sous Louis XIV persévéra pour que l’Atlantique et la Méditerranée se rejoignent. Alors, une promenade en pénichette depuis Béziers, après la visite d’une si noble cité, ou quelques jours d’itinérance au fil paisible du Canal vous ravira. Ce Canal du Midi étant de notoriété mondiale, il serait dommage d’en être si proche sans l’aborder. Mais, vous devrez revenir. Tant de lieux à voir, tant de beauté naturelle et d’ingéniosité humaine demandent un autre séjour au Camping “les Terrasses de Saint Chinian”.

Pour préparer plus en détails votre séjour, rendez-vous pages Camping, Hébergements et Thématiques.