What are the must-see sites in Occitanie?

It is difficult to make a choice among the essential sites of Occitanie. This sun-drenched region has many advantages. Massifs, rivers, coastline, towns and villages are a real call to discovery.

In the south of France, Occitanie is a vast region made up of 13 departments. Nestled between the Mediterranean, the Pyrenees and the Massif Central, this land of contrasts is rich in 41 labeled towns, villages or natural sites Large site in Occitanie South of France. We offer in these lines, discover some of the unmissable sites of Occitanie.

The cave of Niaux and the prehistoric heritage of Ariège

In Ariège, one of the unmissable sites of Occitanie, offers a journey through prehistory. The caves of Niaux, Mas-d'Azil and La Vache are an immersion in the daily life of the first men. In the heart of a preserved natural environment, the cave of Niaux is exceptional. On reservation, admire in privacy and by the light of torches, the authentic cave paintings of Magdalenian men. During your visit, do not miss the Prehistory Park, located just a few minutes from Tarascon-sur-Ariège.

Carcassonne and the citadels of vertigo in the Aude

In the Aude, the medieval city of Carcassonne is labeled Grand Site de France. With its 52 towers and its double enclosure, it is representative of medieval architecture. The ramparts of the City, the count's castle, the basilica and the alleys offer visitors moments suspended in time. The castles of the Cathar country perched in the Corbières are an invitation to discovery. Lastours, Quéribus, Peyrepertuse, Aguilar, Termes and Puilaurens offer a journey through Catharism, but also breathtaking panoramas. They totally deserve their nickname of Citadels of Vertigo.

Queribus, one of the must-see sites in Occitanie
The castle of Quéribus in the Corbières

Bastides and gorges in Aveyron

From Belcastel to Najac, the bastides and picturesque villages follow one another along the Aveyron river. Among them, with a rich commercial past, Villefranche-de-Rouergue is a typical country house of the region. The Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur is a treasure of Gothic architecture. In Najac, ranked among thehe most beautiful villages in France, the narrow gorges of the Aveyron can be admired from the impregnable medieval fortress. In Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, Caylus or Villeneuve-d'Aveyron, many discoveries also await holidaymakers. During your passage in Aveyron, do not leave without having admired the gorges. On foot or by canoe, they are ideal for a family outing.

Aigues-Mortes and the Camargue in the Gard

In Mediterranean, among the unmissable sites of Occitanie, Aigues-Mortes and the Gard Camargue are major destinations. The fortified city and the salt flats of Aigues-Mortes offer an absolute change of scenery. The ramparts, the rampart walk, the Tour de Constance and the craftsmen's workshops fascinate visitors. The salt marshes draw sumptuous landscapes. In the Camargue, the lagoons, marshes and ponds are rich in an astonishing biodiversity. The best way to find out is undoubtedly a horseback ride from a herd.

Aigues-Mortes, one of the must-see sites in Occitania
Aigues-Mortes and the salt marshes

Marciac in the Gers

Marciac is an emblematic bastide of the art of living in Gers. This step on the ways of Compostela, located between the Adour valley, Côtes de Saint-Mont, Armagnac and Madiran vineyards, is a must-see cultural site. Sweetness of life, gastronomy, heritage, but also jazz, are lived intensely in Marciac. The Jazz in Marciac festival is indeed recognized worldwide. It has hosted the greatest jazz artists every summer since 1978. No less than fifteen days of concerts, master classes and street shows, in the land of d'Artagnan ...

Toulouse in Haute-Garonne

Impossible to talk about unmissable sites of Occitanie without mentioning Toulouse. Because the Pink City celebrated by Nougaro, is none other than the capital of Occitanie. Between sun, heritage, Garonne and Canal du Midi, it proudly carries the values ​​of its region. Shaped by 2000 years of history, this dynamic city is rich in exceptional monuments. Don't miss the Capitol, the Saint-Sernin basilica, the Jacobins Convent or the Assézat Hotel. During your visit, discover the local gastronomy in one of the many restaurants in the old town. And if you are passionate about science, the Cité de l'Espace, the Quai des Savoirs and the Natural History Museum will satisfy you.

Toulouse, capital of Occitania
Toulouse, capital of Occitania

Sète in the Hérault

Sète is one of the most beautiful fishing and trading ports in the Mediterranean. Nicknamed the Venice of Languedoc, it proudly emerges between sea, canals and ponds. The colorful facades, the fishing district of Pointe Courte or the Quartier Haut celebrate the past of this maritime city of character. Here, the sea and the Thau pond have given rise to a culture, gastronomy and traditions that are still very much alive. Every year, the games of Sète thousands of people gather around the canals. During your visit, do not forget to taste a delicious tielle or seafood on the terrace.

Rocamadour and the Dordogne valley in the Lot

Between heaven and earth, Rocamadour is a sacred city. Hanging above the Alzou gorges, this pilgrimage site has 8 churches. Among them, the Notre-Dame chapel and its statue of the Black Madonna attract a large number of visitors. 216 steps lead to the esplanade of the Sanctuary. Not far from Rocamadour, the Dordogne valley is classified as a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO. Its pure waters are suitable for swimming and for walking, cycling or canoeing.

Rocamadour, one of the must-see sites in Occitanie
Rocamadour, in the Lot

The gorges of Tarn and Jonte in Lozère

In the Cévennes, the gorges of Tarn and Jonte are essential sites in Occitanie. The sumptuous gorges of the Tarn have made their way through the causses. Very popular with whitewater sports enthusiasts, they are dotted with some of the most beautiful villages in France. Saint-Énimie and Saint-Chély-sur-Tarn are essential stages, as are the panorama of Point Sublime. Between the Causse Méjean and the Causse Noir, the Jonte gradually formed magnificent and impressive gorges. Its cliffs are particularly popular with climbers, while the wild river descending from the Mont-Aigoual is the playground for canoe enthusiasts. For hikers, the path of the cornices offers sumptuous points of view.

Gavarnie, Cauterets and the Pont d'Espagne in the Hautes-Pyrénées

Formed 50 million years ago by glacial erosion, the circus of Gavarnie offers a breathtaking spectacle. From the village of Gavarnie, an hour's walk is enough to access the exceptional site surrounded by several peaks over 3 meters in altitude. Cauterets recounts the sumptuous past of the XNUMXth century. The large hotels, the facades, the wooden station, but also the thermal baths and the ski resort, are appreciated by all holidaymakers. A few kilometers away, the Pont d'Espagne is the starting point for exceptional hikes. Lakes, forests, torrents and waterfalls await you there.

The Pont d'Espagne in the Pyrenees
The Pont d'Espagne in the Pyrenees

The Canigou massif in the Pyrénées-Orientales

In Catalan Country, the Canigou massif proudly emerges facing the Mediterranean Sea. At the heart of this territory steeped in Catalan culture, the massif benefits from a rich heritage. Roman art is very present there. Do not miss, for example, the priory of Serrabona and its pink marble gallery, or even the abbey of Saint-Martin-du-Canigou. The Vauban fortifications are also present in Catalonia. Villefranche-de-Conflent was indeed fortified by the famous architect in the XNUMXth century. Another must-see in the region is the traditional Yellow Train of Cerdanya. But the Canigou is also a dream site for lovers of outdoor sports. Mountain biking, hiking and mountain recreation are on the program.

Cordes-sur-Ciel and the medieval towns in the Tarn

In the Tarn, Cordes-sur-Ciel is one of the oldest medieval bastides in Occitanie. Imbued with myths and legends, it clings to the Puech de Mordagne, and offers unforgettable views over the Cérou valley. The sculpted facades of the houses of the Grand Fauconnier, the Grand Écuyer and the Grand Veneur are extraordinary treasures of Gothic architecture. The luxurious residences bear witness to the prosperity of yesteryear. In Cordes, crafts and crafts have a place of honor. The workshops of ceramists and painters delight visitors. Every year, the Medieval Festivals attract young and old alike. In the Cordes region, other medieval cities are appreciated. Puycelsi and Castelnau-de-Montmirail are also among the most beautiful villages in France.

Cordes-sur-Ciel
Cordes-sur-Ciel

Moissac, Lauzerte and Auvillar in the Tarn-et-Garonne

In the middle of the vineyards and orchards of Tarn-et-Garonne, Moissac, Lauzerte and Auvillar are essential sites in Occitanie. They are important stages on the Puy path which points to Compostela. In Moissac, the abbey is a Mecca of Romanesque art. The 76 capitals of the cloister and the sculptures of the portal constitute an exceptional architectural heritage. The Canal des Deux Mers spans the Tarn thanks to the impressive Cacor canal bridge. Not far from here, Lauzerte is known to be a magnificent example of an Occitan country house. Auvillar can as for it be proud of its round grain market and its medieval houses.

fbpx

MEILLEURS TARIFS GARANTIS

Pas de surcoût, nos tarifs sont identiques à ceux pratiqués par les campings.

Quels sont les sites incontournables en Occitanie ?

Difficile de faire un choix parmi les sites incontournables d’Occitanie. Cette région gorgée de soleil dispose en effet de bien des atouts. Les massifs, les cours d’eau, le littoral, les villes et les villages sont un véritable appel à la découverte.

Dans le sud de la France, l’Occitanie est une vaste région composée de 13 départements. Nichée entre Méditerranée, Pyrénées et Massif Central, cette terre de contrastes est riche de 41 villes, villages ou sites naturels labellisés Grand site d’Occitanie Sud de France. Nous vous proposons dans ces lignes, de découvrir quelques-uns des sites incontournables d’Occitanie.

La grotte de Niaux et le patrimoine préhistorique d’Ariège

En Ariège, l’un des sites incontournables d’Occitanie, propose un voyage à travers la préhistoire. Les grottes de Niaux, du Mas-d’Azil et de la Vache sont une immersion dans le quotidien des premiers hommes. Au coeur d’un environnement naturel préservé, la grotte de Niaux est exceptionnelle. Sur réservation, admirez en toute intimité et à la lumière de lampes torches, les authentiques peintures rupestres des hommes du Magdalénien. Lors de votre visite, ne manquez pas le Parc de la Préhistoire, situé à quelques minutes seulement de Tarascon-sur-Ariège.

Carcassonne et les citadelles du vertige dans l’Aude

Dans l’Aude, la cité médiévale de Carcassonne est labellisée Grand Site de France. Avec ses 52 tours et sa double enceinte, elle est représentative de l’architecture médiévale. Les remparts de la Cité, le château comtal, la basilique et les ruelles proposent aux visiteurs des instants suspendus dans le temps. Les châteaux du Pays Cathare perchés dans les Corbières sont une invitation à la découverte. Lastours, Quéribus, Peyrepertuse, Aguilar, Termes et Puilaurens offrent un voyage à travers le catharisme, mais aussi des panoramas à couper le souffle. Elles méritent tout à fait leur surnom de Citadelles du Vertige.

Queribus, l'un des incontournables sites en Occitanie
Le château de Quéribus dans les Corbières

Bastides et gorges en Aveyron

De Belcastel à Najac, les bastides et villages pittoresques se succèdent le long de la rivière Aveyron. Parmi eux, riche de son passé commercial, Villefranche-de-Rouergue est une bastide typique de la région. La Chartreuse Saint-Sauveur est un trésor de l’architecture gothique. À Najac, classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France, les étroites gorges de l’Aveyron s’admirent depuis l’imprenable forteresse médiévale. À Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, Caylus ou encore Villeneuve-d’Aveyron, de nombreuses découvertes attendent également les vacanciers. Lors de votre passage en Aveyron, ne partez surtout pas sans avoir admiré les gorges. À pied ou en canoë, elles sont idéales pour une promenade en famille.

Aigues-Mortes et la Camargue dans le Gard

En Méditerranée, parmi les sites incontournables d’Occitanie, Aigues-Mortes et la Camargue gardoise sont des destinations majeures. La cité fortifiée et les salins d’Aigues-Mortes offrent un dépaysement absolu. Les remparts, le chemin de ronde, la Tour de Constance et les ateliers d’artisans fascinent les visiteurs. Les salins dessinent quant-à-eux des paysages somptueux. En Camargue, les lagunes, marais et étangs sont riches d’une biodiversité étonnante. Le meilleur moyen de la découvrir est sans doute une balade à cheval au départ d’une manade.

Aigues-Mortes, l'un des incontournables sites en Occitanie
Aigues-Mortes et les salins

Marciac dans le Gers

Marciac est une bastide emblématique de l’art de vivre gersois. Cette étape sur les chemins de Compostelle, située entre vallée de l’Adour, vignobles des Côtes de Saint-Mont, de l’Armagnac et du Madiran, est un site culturel incontournable. Douceur de vivre, gastronomie, patrimoine, mais aussi jazz, se vivent intensément à Marciac. Le festival Jazz in Marciac est en effet reconnu dans le monde entier. Il accueille chaque été depuis 1978, les plus grands artistes de jazz. Pas moins de quinze jours de concerts, de masters class et de spectacles de rue, au pays de d’Artagnan…

Toulouse en Haute-Garonne

Impossible de parler des sites incontournables d’Occitanie sans mentionner Toulouse. Car la Ville Rose célébrée par Nougaro, n’est autre que la capitale d’Occitanie. Entre soleil, patrimoine, Garonne et Canal du Midi, elle porte fièrement les valeurs de sa région. Façonnée par 2000 ans d’histoire, cette ville dynamique est riche de monuments exceptionnels. Ne manquez pas le Capitole, la basilique Saint-Sernin, le couvent des Jacobins ou encore l’Hôtel d’Assézat. Lors de votre visite, découvrez la gastronomie locale dans l’un des nombreux restaurants de la vieille ville. Et si les sciences vous passionnent, la Cité de l’Espace, le Quai des Savoirs et le Muséum d’histoire naturelle vous combleront.

Toulouse, capitale de l'Occitanie
Toulouse, capitale de l’Occitanie

Sète dans l’Hérault

Sète est l’un des plus beaux ports de pêche et de commerce de la Méditerranée. Surnommée la Venise du Languedoc, elle émerge fièrement entre mer, canaux et étangs. Les façades colorées, le quartier de pêcheurs la Pointe Courte ou encore le Quartier Haut célèbrent le passé de cette cité maritime de caractère. Ici, la mer et l’étang de Thau ont fait émerger une culture, une gastronomie et des traditions encore bien vivantes. Chaque année, les joutes de Sète rassemblent d’ailleurs des milliers de personnes autour des canaux. Lors de votre passage, n’oubliez pas de déguster une délicieuse tielle ou des fruits de mer en terrasse.

Rocamadour et la vallée de la Dordogne dans le Lot

Entre ciel et terre, Rocamadour est une cité sacrée. Accrochée au-dessus des gorges de l’Alzou, ce haut-lieu du pèlerinage compte 8 églises. Parmi elles, la chapelle Notre-Dame et sa statue de la Vierge Noire attirent un grand nombre de visiteurs. 216 marches mènent à l’esplanade du Sanctuaire. Non loin de Rocamadour, la vallée de la Dordogne est classée Réserve de biosphère par l’UNESCO. Ses eaux pures sont propices à la baignade et aux balades à pied, à vélo ou en canoë.

Rocamadour, l'un des incontournables sites en Occitanie
Rocamadour, dans le Lot

Les gorges du Tarn et de la Jonte en Lozère

Dans les Cévennes, les gorges du Tarn et de la Jonte sont des sites incontournables d’Occitanie. Les somptueuses gorges du Tarn se sont frayées un chemin à travers les causses. Très prisées des amateurs de sports en eau vive, elles sont jalonnées par quelques-uns des plus beaux villages de France. Saint-Énimie et Saint-Chély-sur-Tarn sont des étapes essentielles, tout comme le panorama du Point Sublime. Entre le causse Méjean et le causse Noir, la Jonte a peu à peu formé de magnifiques et impressionnantes gorges. Ses falaises sont particulièrement appréciées des grimpeurs, alors que la rivière sauvage descendant du Mont-Aigoual est le terrain de jeu des amateurs de canoë. Pour les randonneurs, le sentier des corniches offre des points de vue somptueux.

Gavarnie, Cauterets et le Pont d’Espagne dans les Hautes-Pyrénées

Formé il y a 50 millions d’années par l’érosion glaciaire, le cirque de Gavarnie offre un spectacle époustouflant. Depuis le village de Gavarnie, une heure de marche suffit pour accéder à l’exceptionnel site encerclé de plusieurs sommets de plus de 3 000 mètres d’altitude. Cauterets raconte quant-à-elle le fastueux passé du XIXème siècle. Les grands hôtels, les façades, la gare en bois, mais aussi les thermes et la station de ski, sont appréciés par tous les vacanciers. À quelques kilomètres, le Pont d’Espagne est le point de départ de randonnées d’exception. Lacs, forêts, torrents et cascades vous y attendent.

Le Pont d'Espagne dans les Pyrénées
Le Pont d’Espagne dans les Pyrénées

Le massif du Canigou dans les Pyrénées-Orientales

En Pays Catalan, le massif du Canigou émerge fièrement face à la mer Méditerranée. Au coeur de ce territoire imprégné par la culture catalane, le massif bénéficie d’un riche patrimoine. L’art roman y est très présent. Ne manquez pas par exemple, le prieuré de Serrabona et sa tribune de marbre rose, ou encore l’abbaye de Saint-Martin-du-canigou. Les fortifications Vauban sont elles aussi, présentes en catalogne. Villefranche-de-Conflent a en effet été fortifiée par le célèbre architecte au XVIIème siècle. Un autre incontournable de la région est le traditionnel Train Jaune de Cerdagne. Mais le Canigou est également un site de rêve pour les amoureux de sports de pleine nature. VTT, randonnée et loisirs de montagne sont au programme.

Cordes-sur-Ciel et les cités médiévales dans le Tarn

Dans le Tarn, Cordes-sur-Ciel est l’une des plus anciennes bastides médiévales d’Occitanie. Empreinte de mythes et de légendes, elle s’accroche au Puech de Mordagne, et offre des points de vues inoubliables sur la vallée du Cérou. Les façades sculptées des maisons du Grand Fauconnier, du Grand Écuyer et du Grand Veneur sont d’extraordinaires trésors de l’architecture gothique. Les luxueuses demeures témoignent de la prospérité d’antan. À Cordes, l’artisanat et l’artisanat d’art ont une place d’honneur. Les ateliers de céramistes et de peintres font le bonheur des visiteurs. Chaque année, les Fêtes Médiévales attirent petits et grands. Dans le pays Cordais, d’autres cités médiévales sont appréciées. Puycelsi et Castelnau-de-Montmirail font d’ailleurs partie des plus beaux villages de France.

Cordes-sur-Ciel
Cordes-sur-Ciel

Moissac, Lauzerte et Auvillar dans le Tarn-et-Garonne

Au milieu des vignes et des vergers du Tarn-et-Garonne, Moissac, Lauzerte et Auvillar sont des sites incontournables d’Occitanie. Elles sont des étapes importantes sur le chemin du Puy qui pointe vers Compostelle. À Moissac, l’abbaye est un haut-lieu de l’art roman. Les 76 chapiteaux du cloître et les sculptures du portail constituent un patrimoine architectural exceptionnel. Le Canal des Deux Mers enjambe le Tarn grâce à l’impressionnant pont-canal du Cacor. Non loin de là, Lauzerte est connue pour être un magnifique exemple de bastide d’Occitanie. Auvillar peut quant-à-elle s’enorgueillir de sa halle aux grains ronde et ses maisons médiévales.