carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 4: The Pyrenees National Park

Between sea and ocean, the Pyrenees National Park is a gem of the south of France. A magnificent setting rich in a diversity of landscapes, natural and cultural sites, but also preserved biodiversity.

Ebetween Occitania et New Aquitaine, the Pyrenees National Park stretches over a hundred kilometers, straddling the departments of Hautes-Pyrénées and Pyrénées Atlantiques. Created in 1967 under the leadership of Pierre Chimitz, the Park manages the Néouvielle and Ossau valley nature reserves. It also communicates with its Spanish counterpart the Ordesa and Mont Perdu National Park. More than 200 hectares are thus preserved by the communities, the inhabitants and all the partners.

Emblematic natural sites

The entire heart of the national park is located at altitudes of 1 to 067 meters. It therefore offers visitors mountainous landscapes limestone, granite, caves, lakes, meadows, forests and wooded valleys. For several decades, development projects such as high-voltage lines or ski areas have been ruled out. This effort thus enabled the valleys of Aspe, Ossau, Azun, Cauterets, Luz Gavarnie and Aure, keep their authenticity.

Pic du midi d'Ossau
Pic du midi d'Ossau

Among the most visited sites, the upper Aspe valley, the Pic du Midi d'Ossau reserve, the Balaïtous peak, the Vignemale massif ... But also the cirques of Gavarnie, Estaubé and Troumouse. The Barroude wall is also a delight for hikers and lovers of wild nature. The site “Pyrenees Mont Perdu, cirques et canyons” was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1997. It was recognized for its natural and cultural heritage preserved since the Middle Ages.

An intact cultural testimony

Dance the Pyrenees Park, archaeologists have found traces of human occupation from all eras. Some even date back to the Paleolithic. Historically and until today, the inhabitants of the area have raised animals to ensure their subsistence. In the heart of the Park, walkers reconnect with the past. They discover the authenticity of ancestral pastoral and forestry activities.

Family transhumance in the Pyrenees National Park
Family transhumance in the Pyrenees

Transhumance continues today in the same way as several centuries ago. The man-made landscapes, pastures, meadows, paths and villages are an untouched testimony of the mountain society of yesteryear. This pastoralism has crossed the centuries. It is based on the seasonal migration of men and beasts.

An exceptional biodiversity

More than 40% of French plant diversity is present in this small territory! No less than 2 plant species inhabit this preserved biosphere. Among them, 500 endemic species, such as the ciliated Androsace, Hélianthème of the Pyrenees, the Silver Vetch are visible on the beds. In terms of fauna, the Park lists 4 different species, including 000 species of vertebrates. Bearded vultures, golden eagles, marmots, chamois, genets, lynx… And of course brown bears, reintroduced in the 90s, are the stars of the Park.

Pyrenean isard, Rupicapra pyrenaica
Pyrenean isard, Rupicapra pyrenaica

Visit the Park

In the Park, priority is given to sustainable development, the protection of heritage, environmental excellence and public awareness. The Pyrenees National Park is accessible from the cities of Pau, Oloron, Tarbes or Lannemezan. It is particularly suitable for hiking and exploring the environment. Labeled accommodation "National Park Spirit", just like mountain huts welcome athletes for one or more nights. It is also possible to set up a bivouac between 19 p.m. and 9 a.m., but only more than an hour's walk from the access roads. Hikers are, however, requested to respect the Park's regulations, so that this place remains intact and that future generations can continue to appreciate it.

Bivouac in the heart of the Pyrenees National Park

Parcs Nationaux de France #4 : Le Parc national des Pyrénées

Entre mer et océan, le Parc national des Pyrénées est un joyau du sud de la France. Un magnifique écrin riche d’une diversité de paysages, de sites naturels et culturels, mais aussi d’une biodiversité préservée.

Entre Occitanie et Nouvelle-Aquitaine, le Parc national des Pyrénées s’étend sur une centaine de kilomètres à cheval sur les départements des Hautes-Pyrénées et des Pyrénées Atlantiques. Créé en 1967 sous l’impulsion de Pierre Chimitz, le Parc assure la gestion des réserves naturelles du Néouvielle et de la vallée d’Ossau. Il communique par ailleurs avec son homologue espagnol le Parc national d’Ordesa et du Mont Perdu. Plus de 200 000 hectares sont ainsi préservés par les collectivités, les habitants et l’ensemble des partenaires.

Des sites naturels emblématiques

La totalité du coeur du Parc national se situe à des altitudes de 1 067 à 3 298 mètres. Il offre donc aux visiteurs des paysages montagneux de calcaire, de granit, de grottes, de lacs, de prairies, de forêts et de vallons boisés. Depuis plusieurs décennies, les projets de développement tels que les lignes à haute-tension ou les zones skiables ont été écartés. Cet effort a permis aux vallées d’Aspe, d’Ossau, d’Azun, de Cauterets, de Luz Gavarnie et d’Aure, de conserver leur authenticité.

Pic du midi d'Ossau

Pic du midi d’Ossau

Parmi les sites les plus visités, la haute vallée d’Aspe, la réserve du Pic du Midi d’Ossau, le pic du Balaïtous, le massif du Vignemale, les cirques de Gavarnie, Estaubé et Troumouse, ainsi que la muraille de Barroude font le bonheur des randonneurs et amoureux de la nature sauvage. Le site “Pyrénées Mont Perdu, cirques et canyons” a été inscrit sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco en 1997. Il a été reconnu pour son patrimoine naturel et culturel préservé depuis le Moyen-Âge.

Un témoignage culturel intact

Dans le Parc des Pyrénées, les archéologues ont trouvé des traces de l’occupation humaine de toutes les époques. Certaines remontent même jusqu’au Paléolithique. Depuis toujours et jusqu’à aujourd’hui, les habitants des lieux ont élevé des animaux pour assurer leur subsistance. Au coeur du Parc, les promeneurs renouent avec le passé, en découvrant l’authenticité des activités pastorales et forestières ancestrales.

Transhumance en famille dans le Parc National des Pyrénées

Transhumance en famille dans les Pyrénées

Les transhumances se poursuivent aujourd’hui de la même manière qu’il y a plusieurs siècles. Les paysages façonnés par l’homme, les pâturages, les prairies, les chemins et les villages sont un témoignage intact de la société montagnarde d’autrefois. Ce pastoralisme a traversé les siècles. Il est fondé sur la migration saisonnière des hommes et des bêtes.

Une biodiversité exceptionnelle

Plus de 40% de la diversité végétale française est présente sur ce petit territoire ! Pas moins de 2 500 espèces végétales peuplent cette biosphère préservée. Parmi elles, 200 espèces endémiques, telles que l’Androsace ciliée, l’Hélianthème des Pyrénées, la Vesce argentée sont visibles sur les massifs. Côté faune, le Parc recense 4 000 espèces différentes, parmi lesquelles 250 espèces de vertébrés. Gypaètes, vautours, aigles royaux, marmottes, isards, genettes, lynx et bien sûr les ours bruns réintroduits dans les années 90, sont les stars du Parc.

Isard des Pyrénées, Rupicapra pyrenaica

Isard des Pyrénées, Rupicapra pyrenaica

Visiter le Parc

Dans le Parc, la priorité est donnée au développement durable, à la protection des patrimoines, à l’excellence environnementale et à la sensibilisation du public. Le Parc national des Pyrénées est accessible depuis les villes de Pau, Oloron, Tarbes ou Lannemezan. Il est particulièrement propice à la randonnée et à la découverte du milieu. Des hébergements labellisés “Esprit Parc national”, tout comme des refuges de montagne accueillent les sportifs pour une ou plusieurs nuits. Il est également possible d’installer un bivouac entre 19 heures et 9 heures, mais seulement à plus d’une heure de marche des voies d’accès. Les randonneurs sont toutefois priés de respecter la réglementation du Parc, afin que ce lieu demeure intact et que les générations futures puissent continuer de l’apprécier.

Bivouac au coeur du Parc National des Pyrénées

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Laissez-vous tenter par une escapade dans l’un des magnifiques Parcs Nationaux de France