carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 3: The Cévennes National Park

In Occitanie, to the south-east of the Massif Central, the Cévennes National Park extends over the departments of Lozère, Gard and Ardèche.

Dthe summits of Mont Lozère in the north, up to Mont Aigoual in the southwest, the Cévennes National Park is a middle mountain territory. His remarkable natural, cultural and landscape heritage justified the placement in a national park in 1970. About fifteen years later, this national park was finally appointed biosphere reserve by UNESCO, "for the successful balance between man and nature, and for the dynamic process which associates local actors in the sustainable development of the territory".

Remarkable sites

In the Cévennes, wonder is daily. On the limestone plateaus of causse Méjean and Sauveterre, in the heart of the Tarn and Jonte gorges, through the moors, pastures and rocky chaos of Mount Lozère, in the shade of the chestnut and oak groves of the Cévennes valleys, this unspoiled territory conceals sumptuous places. The Aigoual massif hosts the last medium mountain meteorological station in France. From its summit, the 360 ​​° C view gives a glimpse of Mont Ventoux, the Prealps, the Montpellier hinterland and the Pic Saint-Loup. On a clear day, it is even possible to admire the Mediterranean!

The exceptional biodiversity of the Cévennes National Park

The Cévennes National Park brings together nearly 170 types of natural environments. They are home to 11 plant species and 000 animal species. Since the 2s, the Grands Causses in collaboration with the League for the Protection of Birds, have enabled the reintroduction of vultures. There are now nearly 600 pairs of griffon vultures, monks and precnoptera.

Vultures in the Cévennes National Park

A historical heritage on the edge of the Causse

Since 2011, the agro-pastoral cultural landscapes of Causses and Cévennes are inscribed on the list of World Heritage of Humanity. The old buildings and the pastoralism areas are safeguarded and enhanced. The restoration of old buildings and built elements of the landscape calls for traditional know-how. Local materials are preferred when carrying out the work. Nowadays, 700 inhabitants live year round in the heart of the park.

Herd in the Cévennes National Park

On the road to sustainable development

For decades, the Cévennes have become aware of the richness of their territory. They therefore decided to include its development in respect for nature and people living there. This is how all the partners present in the territory support the maintenance of agro-pastoralism. This multi-millennial activity is essential to preservation of open environments. The inhabitants and the communities are also committed to the promotion of ecotourism. They are also consolidating the “dry stone” and “lauze” sectors.

Alley of Anduze
Alley of Anduze

A mine of sporting and cultural activities

In the Cévennes, the hiking trails are numerous. You can follow the Chemin de Régordane, the famous Chemin de Stevenson or even the Céveno Country Tourl. These magnificent routes weave through ridges, forests and vineyards. Thrill seekers can learn via ferrata in Florac, Villefort or Castanet. They can then practice mountain biking in the Cévennes valley, or even kayaking in the Gorges du Tarn. On the cultural side, traditional rural architecture, megaliths, the Desert Museum and traces of the region's industrial and mining past will delight history buffs.

The Gorges du Tarn

50 years of the Céven National Park, es

This year, the Cévennes National Park blows out its 50 candles. On this occasion, various events are therefore organized in Florac on September 25 and 26. The theme will then be “Let's visit the past, celebrate the present and dream of the future of the Cévennes”. Round table on the impact of climate change, futuristic workshops, children's workshops, talk with the help of the Underground Theater, exhibitions, concerts and video screenings are on the program of the festivities.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Parcs Nationaux de France #3 : Le Parc National des Cévennes

En Occitanie, au sud-est du Massif Central, le Parc National des Cévennes s’étend sur les départements de la Lozère, du Gard et de l’Ardèche.

Des sommets du Mont Lozère au nord, jusqu’au Mont Aigoual au sud-ouest, le Parc national des Cévennes est un territoire de moyenne montagne. Ses patrimoines naturel, culturel et paysager remarquables ont justifié le placement en parc national dès 1970. Une quinzaine d’années plus tard, ce parc national a été désigné réserve de biosphère par l’UNESCO, “pour l’équilibre réussi entre l’homme et la nature, et pour le processus dynamique qui associe les acteurs locaux au développement durable du territoire”.

Des sites remarquables

Dans les Cévennes, l’émerveillement est quotidien. Sur les plateaux calcaires du causse Méjean et de Sauveterre, au coeur des gorges du Tarn et de la Jonte, à travers les landes, pâtures et chaos rocheux du Mont Lozère, à l’ombre des châtaigneraies et chênaies des vallées cévenoles, ce territoire préservé recèle des lieux somptueux. Le massif de l’Aigoual accueille la dernière station météorologique de moyenne montagne de France. De son sommet, la vue à 360°C laisse entrevoir le Mont Ventoux, les Préalpes, l’arrière pays montpelliérain et le Pic Saint-Loup. Par temps clair, il y est même possible d’admirer la Méditerranée !

Une biodiversité exceptionnelle

Le Parc national des Cévennes réunit près de 170 types de milieux naturels. Ils abritent 11 000 espèces végétales et 2 500 espèces animales. Depuis les années 80, les Grands Causses en collaboration avec la Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux, ont permis la réintroduction des vautours. On dénombre désormais près de 600 couples de vautours fauves, moines et precnoptères.

Vautours dans le Parc National des Cévennes

Un patrimoine historique à fleur de causse

Depuis 2011, les paysages culturels agro-pastoraux des Causses et des Cévennes sont inscrits sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial de l’humanité. Le bâti ancien et les aires de pastoralisme sont sauvegardés et valorisés. La restauration des bâtiments anciens et des éléments bâtis du paysage fait appel aux savoir-faire traditionnels. Les matériaux locaux sont privilégiés lors de la réalisation des travaux. De nos jours, 700 habitants vivent à l’année dans le coeur du parc.

Troupeau dans le Parc National des Cévennes

En route vers le développement durable

Depuis des décennies, les cévenols ont pris conscience de la richesse de leur territoire. Ils ont donc décidé d’inscrire son développement dans le respect de la nature et des hommes qui y vivent. C’est ainsi que l’ensemble des partenaires présents sur le territoire soutiennent le maintien de l’agro-pastoralisme. Cette activité multi-millénaire est effet indispensable à la préservation des milieux ouverts. Les habitants et les collectivités s’engagent également pour la promotion de l’écotourisme. Ils consolident par ailleurs les filière “pierre sèche” et “lauze”.

Ruelle d'Anduze
Ruelle d’Anduze

Une mine d’activités sportives et culturelles

Dans les Cévennes, les sentiers de randonnées sont nombreux. On peut suivre le chemin de Régordane, le célèbre chemin de Stevenson ou encore le Tour en Pays Cévenol. Ces itinéraires magnifiques sillonnent à travers les crêtes, les forêts et les vignobles. Les amateurs de sensations fortes s’initient à la via ferrata à Florac, Villefort ou Castanet. Ils peuvent ensuite pratiquer le VTT dans la vallée cévenole, ou encore le kayak dans les gorges du Tarn. Côté culture, l’architecture rurale traditionnelle, les mégalithes, le musée du Désert et les traces du passé industriel et minier de la région combleront les amateurs d’histoire.

Les Gorges du Tarn

Les 50 ans du Parc

Cette année, le Parc national des Cévennes souffle ses 50 bougies. À cette occasion, différents évènements sont organisés à Florac les 25 et 26 septembre prochain. Le thème abordé sera alors “Visitons le passé, fêtons le présent et rêvons l’avenir des Cévennes”. Table ronde sur l’impact du changement climatique, ateliers futuristes, ateliers enfants, causerie avec la complicité du Théâtre clandestin, expositions, concerts et projections de vidéos sont au programme des festivités.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Laissez-vous tenter par une escapade dans l’un des magnifiques Parcs Nationaux de France