carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

66 card

CAMPING LA GARENNE

You have certainly already heard family and friends tell you how much they loved their stay in the Pyrenees. Against a backdrop of mountains, lakes, pastures, vineyards and valleys, they may have told you about the Cirque de Gavarnie, the Pont d'Espagne, the Lac de Gaube, the Ossau Valley, the Massif from Néouvielle, Pic du Midi, Bigorre, Borce, Val d'Azun. A national park, large spaces, a flora and fauna of great diversity, breathtaking panoramas and landscapes that open your heart and mind ... In short, you will certainly be enchanted by the exceptional environment of the camping de la Garenne.

Visit the bustling city of Ille-sur-têt

It has had a turbulent history due to its position near the border with Spain. Do not miss its ramparts, portals, walls and towers of original fortifications. The town is famous also and above all because it is close to a wonderful natural rock formation known as the 'Les Orgues d'Ille-sur-Têt' which is well worth more than a detour. The organs form a sort of natural amphitheater, with tall stone pillars that have been eroded into wonderful shapes like the 'organs', which stand up to 12 meters high. They are all formed of a white sand rock with regular layers of a yellow rock running through them giving them a striped appearance. Also known as fairy chimneys, many of them are topped with other less pretty rock or even some vegetation, which provides some protection to the more vulnerable rock. The view opens onto the mountains: To the south the Aspres massif, to the south-east the Mount Canigou, with its peak known as 'the tooth of a dog' and the highest peak in the Pyrénées Orientale, and to the north the granite plateau of Montalba.

Extend the walk to Castelnou

The village of Castelnou is one of the most remarkable sites to be discovered in Catalonia, and it is also ranked among the most beautiful villages in France. Surrounded by two limestone causses, the Causse de Thuir and the Roc de Mallorca (alt. 443 m); nestled at the foot of the Aspres, this village founded in thest century seems to have been forgotten by time, having been the capital of the Viscount of Vallespir for more than three centuries. Take the time to visit the Church of Santa Marie del Mercadal, the historic center and the castle.

Plan a stop at Quéribus castle

It is one of the most impressive royal castles in the region. You will first see the massive keep which seems to rise from the Corbières to challenge the Fenolhedés which faces it. From the top of its rocky outcrop, at an altitude of 728 meters, the fortress dominates the plain which goes from Tautavel to Caudiès. As if emerging from the rock, the keep of Quéribus can be recognized from afar. It existed in the time of Chabert de Barbaira, but has often been altered over the centuries. It was undoubtedly higher at the time of the engineers of King Louis IX. It was to adapt to the appearance of portable artillery that it was lowered and above all thickened. Inside, the pillar room is also a fine example of an ingenious adaptation. Consult the Visit guide of the Château de Quéribus.

End local tours with Eus

Among the Conflent valley and Mount Canigou, Eus (facing the sun in Catalan) offers its facades descending into terraces in the hot Catalan sun, complicit in lush vegetation. This former defensive site had to push back the French in the XVIst century and the Spanish army in the XVIIIst century. Today, instead of the old citadel, stands the imposing Saint-Vincent church at the foot of which sloping cobbled streets descend. You will be able to walk through them and thus discover the craftsmen, artists and local businesses that make this place one of the Most Beautiful Villages in France.  

Are you mountain biking enthusiasts?

Indeed, if climbing, canyoning, rafting, canoeing or caving attracts you less than mountain biking, then you will be served! With its fifty circuits, its 3 km of marked trails, its massifs traversed by paths and tracks, its balconies above the Roussillon plain and its coastal paths, the regional natural park of the Catalan Pyrenees is a mountain biker's paradise! 

The MTB circuits in the Eastern Pyrenees are many and varied. You will have the choice for leisure mountain biking as well as downhill mountain biking and enduro. Professionals also offer guided mountain biking outings for beginners, in the most beautiful landscapes of the Catalan country. So for a first experience, take advantage! From an introductory walk to a multi-day itinerant hike, the choice is vast. To go further and higher, the electric mountain bike is an option that you can easily consider to fully enjoy your rides.

Tours advice

  • The dam balcony, over 20 km, is difficult. It requires good technique and excellent physical condition. It displays a positive and negative elevation of nearly 600 meters. On the heights of the Agly dam and the lake, you will enjoy many panoramas.
  • The edges of Agly is a family mountain bike or walking tour. Easy and shady. 8,6 km. 1 hour approximately. The terrain is flat, with a very slight drop of less than 00 meters. Very beautiful landscapes to explore.
  • Cliffs and smugglers. It is a sporting and technical course that takes you through varied landscapes, from the flowery scrubland to the mineral backdrop of cliffs and limestone rocks, passing through pine forests and vineyards. 14 km to go and a positive elevation of about 200 meters.
  • The Estagels mountains is a circuit of medium difficulty, with a distance of 9 km with a drop of approximately 120 meters. Between scrubland and vineyards and olive groves. The loop is punctuated by numerous points of view which give to see varied landscapes, picturesque villages in limestone cliffs and typical Mediterranean wild nature in cultivated terraces.
  • The Pyrenees passes route. It is a complete route that crosses the massif of the Pyrenees from the Mediterranean to the Atlantic Ocean over nearly 1100 km and more than 93 hours of mountain biking. 
  • The Dellà Bac takes you for 17 km in the Galbe valley. The course is rolling and sporty, of average level. Allow 2 hours of mountain biking on a loop with a positive and negative elevation of 380 meters. The hike will offer you a sublime panorama of the villages of lower Capcir and the surrounding peaks.

If you prefer hiking ...

Pauline and Bruno, the owners of camping la Garenne, invite you to discover the Caladroy Volta. This 13,9 km loop is of medium difficulty with its height difference of only 390 meters. The start can be taken either in Néfiach, on the Général-de-Gaulle car park, or in Bélesta, a former village of Caladroy, near the castle of Caladroy. The circuit is marked in yellow (short hike path) and crosses the northern balconies of Canigou in a landscape of scrubland. Little shade, it is more pleasant in the morning or in low season. Plan a half-day of walking, that is to say between 4 hours and 4:30 a.m. to complete the loop from Néfiach. In the heart of the Catalan maquis, this hike takes you calm village of Néfiach until Caladroy wine castle, through a landscape of broom, oaks, vines and olive trees. At the highest point of the hike, at 398 meters, there is a belvedere with an orientation table. At the Château de Caladroy, you can admire a sales cellar in a former primitive chapel. The building still has its towers from 13e century. Much changed over time and eras, its heterogeneous overall architecture tells its story. Choose the app Alltrails to discover the hikes around the camping.

Other hikes to explore in the Pyrénées Orientales

Zoom on the mythical Pic du Canigou

At the gates of the Catalan Pyrenees Regional Natural Park, the Pic du Canigou stands less than 15 km from the Spanish border. It is located 40 km west of Perpignan and 50 km from the Mediterranean beaches. West of Mount Canigou, the highest point of the massif of the same name, are the famous Pyrenean resorts of Font-Romeu (35 km as the crow flies) and Angles (30 km). The Grand site of Canigou is located in the natural region of Conflent and dominates the upper and middle valleys of Têt. 

Several hiking routes are possible for several accesses to the summit. During your hike, you have the option of being accompanied by donkeys. They will carry the necessary equipment as well as your children, in order to make you discover the various routes of the massif. The mountain guides offer horseback riding and pack animal treks. Massive, mythical, magnificent ...

Prepare your trip and your activities on Mont Canigou, you will be amazed!

Other winks from Pauline and Bruno

If you are looking for an unusual and extraordinary activity to do in summer with children, climb aboard the yellow train from Cerdanya which will take you to the Catalan highlands and offer you sensational panoramic views. The department is dotted with beautiful monuments such as the fortress of Salses restored by Vauban and the magnificent Palace of the Kings of Majorca in Perpignan, jewel of the superb heritage of the Catalan capital. Bathe or rent a jet-ski on the beaches of Argelès, Saint-Cyprien, Canet-en-Roussillon or Le Barcarès, stroll through the traditional markets to buy local products and chat with the locals.

How about a cure in Molitg-Les-Bains?

Molitg-Les-Bains is located 45 minutes from Perpignan, in the Catalan Pyrenees, 5 minutes from Prades and its picturesque old town. It is in this enchanting setting that the Thermal Domain of Molitg-les-Bains unfolds, in a circus of Mediterranean mountains. You can book approved cures, fitness stays and / or à la carte beauty and well-being treatments. The thermal baths are open from the beginning of April to the beginning of December, every day except Sunday. Many wellness activities can be chosen à la carte at the thermal baths of Molitg-les-Bains, with, for example, massages, hydromassage beds, sophrology, aquagym, dietetic assessment, reiki, or yoga, for € 75 the 3-activity package , and 150 € for the 6-activity package. The spa can be used in the evening, from 17 p.m. to 19:30 p.m. throughout the season. Among the most popular beauty treatments at the institute are the complete face-décolleté-hands treatment of 60 minutes at € 75, the Scandinavian ritual of 30 minutes for € 50, or the essential aromassage of 45 minutes at € 65 .

Other must-sees for curious and insatiable travelers

Tourist documentation to download

To prepare your holidays in the Eastern Pyrenees with confidence, go to the website of our partner SportRIZER, and you can book the sports around camping ! If you would like more information for your stay, do not hesitate to consult the pages Camping, Accommodation et Themes.

Explore our guide for holidays

Articles to help you prepare your holidays!

In a group, with the family or alone

Do not hesitate to ask for a tailor-made quote!

Ask for a quote

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

carte 66

CAMPING LA GARENNE

Vous avez certainement déjà entendu autour de vous famille et amis vous dire combien ils avaient adoré leur séjour dans les Pyrénées. Sur un fond de montagnes, de lacs, de pâturages, de vignes et de vallées, ils vous ont peut-être parlé du Cirque de Gavarnie, du Pont d’Espagne, du Lac de Gaube, de la Vallée d’Ossau, du Massif du Néouvielle, du Pic du Midi, de Bigorre, de Borce, de Val d’Azun. Un parc national, de grands espaces, une faune et une flore d’une grande diversité, des panoramas à vous couper le souffle et des paysages qui vous ouvrent le cœur et l’esprit… Bref vous serez assurément enchantés par l’environnement exceptionnel du camping de la Garenne.

Visitez la ville animée de Ille-sur-Têt

Elle a eu une histoire mouvementée en raison de sa position près de la frontière avec l’Espagne. Ne pas manquer ses remparts, portails, murs et tours de fortifications originales. La ville est réputée aussi et surtout parce qu’elle est proche d’une formation rocheuse naturelle merveilleuse connue sous le nom de ‘les Orgues d’Ille-sur-Têt’ qui valent bien plus qu’un détour. Les orgues forment une sorte d’amphithéâtre naturel, avec des hauts piliers de pierre qui ont été érodés dans les merveilleuse formes comme les ‘orgues’, qui se dressent jusqu’à 12 mètres de haut. Ils sont tous formés d’une roche de sable blanc avec des couches régulières d’un rocher jaune qui les traverse en leur donnant une apparence rayé. Connus aussi comme des cheminées de fées, beaucoup parmi eux sont surmontées d’une autre roche moins jolie ou même un peu de végétation, ce qui fournit une certaine protection à la roche plus vulnérable. La vue s’ouvre sur les montagnes : Au sud le massif des Aspres, au sud-est le Mont Canigou, avec son pic connu sous le nom ‘la dent d’un chien’ et le plus haut sommet de le Pyrénées Orientale, et au nord le plateau granitique de Montalba.

Prolongez la promenade jusqu’à Castelnou

Le village de Castelnou compte parmi les sites les plus remarquables que l’on se doit de découvrir en Catalogne, il est d’ailleurs classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France. Ceint par deux causses calcaires, le causse de Thuir et le Roc de Majorque (alt. 443 m); niché au pied des Aspres, ce village fondé au Xème siècle semble avoir été oublié du temps, après avoir été la capitale de la vicomté du Vallespir pendant plus de trois siècles. Prenez le temps de visiter l’église de Santa Marie del Mercadal, le centre historique et le château.

Prévoyez une halte au château de Quéribus

C’est l’un des châteaux royaux les plus impressionnants de la région. Vous apercevrez d’abord le donjon massif qui semble s’élancer des Corbières pour aller défier le Fenolhedés qui lui fait face. Du haut de son éperon rocheux, à 728 mètres d’altitude, la forteresse domine la plaine qui va de Tautavel à Caudiès. Comme émergeant de la roche, le donjon de Quéribus se reconnaît de loin. Il existait du temps de Chabert de Barbaira, mais a souvent été remanié au fil des siècles. Il était sans doute plus haut au temps des ingénieurs du roi Louis IX. C’est pour s’adapter à l’apparition de l’artillerie portative qu’il a été abaissé et surtout épaissi. À l’intérieur, la salle du pilier est aussi un bel exemple d’ingénieuse adaptation. Consulter le Guide de visite du Château de Quéribus.

Terminez les visites locales par Eus

Entre la vallée du Conflent et le mont Canigou, Eus (face au soleil en catalan) offre ses façades dévalant en terrasses au chaud soleil catalan, complice d’une végétation luxuriante. Cet ancien site défensif eut à repousser les Français au XVIème siècle et l’armée espagnole au XVIIIème siècle. Aujourd’hui, en lieu et place de l’ancienne citadelle se trouve l’imposante église Saint-Vincent au pied de laquelle dévalent les ruelles pentues pavées de galets. Vous pourrez les arpenter  et découvrir ainsi, les artisans, artistes et commerces locaux qui font de ce lieu, un des Plus Beaux Villages de France.  

Êtes-vous amateurs de VTT ?

En effet, si l’escalade, le canyoning, le rafting, le canoë ou la spéléologie vous attirent moins que le VTT, alors vous serez servis ! Avec sa cinquantaine de circuits, ses 3 500 km de sentiers balisés, ses massifs parcourus de sentiers et de pistes, ses balcons au-dessus de la plaine du Roussillon et ses chemins côtiers, le parc naturel régional des Pyrénées Catalanes est un paradis pour les vététistes ! 

Les circuits VTT dans les Pyrénées Orientales sont nombreux et variés. Vous aurez du choix pour le VTT de loisirs comme pour le VTT de descente et l’enduro. Des professionnels proposent également des sorties VTT accompagnées aux débutants, dans les plus beaux paysages du Pays catalan. Alors pour une première expérience, profitez-en ! De la balade d’initiation à la randonnée itinérante de plusieurs jours, le choix est vaste. Pour aller plus loin et plus haut, le VTT électrique est une option que vous pouvez aisément envisager pour profiter pleinement de vos randonnées.

Conseils de circuits

  • Le balcon du barrage, sur 20 km, est de niveau difficile. Il demande une bonne technique et une excellente condition physique. Il affiche un dénivelé positif et négatif de près de 600 mètres. Sur les hauteurs du barrage d’Agly et du lac, vous bénéficierez de nombreux panoramas.
  • Les bords d’Agly est une randonnée à VTT ou à pied familiale. Facile et ombragé. 8,6 km. 1h00 environ. Le terrain est plat, avec un très léger dénivelé de moins de 20 mètres. Des paysages très beaux à parcourir.
  • Falaises et contrebandiers. C’est un parcours sportif et technique qui vous fait traverser des paysages variés, de la garrigue fleurie jusqu’au décor minéral des falaises et rochers calcaires, en passant par les pinèdes et chemins de vignes. 14 km à parcourir et un dénivelé positif de 200 mètres environ.
  • Les monts d’Estagels est un circuit de difficulté moyenne, d’une distance de 9 km avec un dénivelé de 120 mètres environ. Entre garrigue et champs de vignes et oliveraies. La boucle est ponctuée de nombreux points de vue qui donnent à voir des paysages variés, de villages pittoresques en falaises calcaires et de nature sauvage méditerranéenne typique en terrasses cultivées.
  • La route des cols des Pyrénées. C’est un itinéraire complet qui traverse le massif des Pyrénées de la Méditerranée à l’océan Atlantique sur près de 1100 km et plus de 93 heures de VTT. 
  • Le Bac de Dellà vous emmène durant 17 km dans la vallée du Galbe. Le parcours est roulant et sportif, de niveau moyen. Comptez 2 heures de VTT sur une boucle au dénivelé positif et négatif de 380 mètres. La randonnée vous offrira un panorama sublime sur les villages du bas Capcir et les sommets environnants.

Si vous préférez la randonnée pédestre …

Pauline et Bruno, les propriétaires du camping la Garenne, vous proposent de découvrir la Volta de Caladroy. Cette boucle de 13,9 km, est de difficulté moyenne avec son dénivelé de 390 mètres seulement. Le départ peut être pris soit à Néfiach, sur le parking du Général-de-Gaulle, soit à Bélesta, ancien village de Caladroy, au niveau du château de Caladroy. Le circuit est balisé de jaune (chemin de petite randonnée) et parcourt les balcons nord du Canigou dans un paysage de maquis. Peu ombragé, il est plus agréable en matinée ou en basse saison. Prévoyez une demi-journée de marche, c’est-à-dire entre 4 heures et 4h30 pour effectuer la boucle au départ de Néfiach. Au cœur du maquis catalan, cette randonnée vous emmène du calme village de Néfiach jusqu’au château viticole de Caladroy, à travers un paysage de genêts, de chênes, de vignes et d’oliviers. Au point le plus haut de la randonnée, à 398 mètres, se trouve un belvédère doté d’une table d’orientation. Au château de Caladroy, vous pourrez admirer un caveau de vente aménagé dans une ancienne chapelle primitive. L’édifice comporte encore ses tours du 13e siècle. Beaucoup remanié au fil du temps et des époques, son architecture globale hétéroclite raconte son histoire.

Autres randonnées à explorer dans les Pyrénées Orientales

Zoom sur le mythique Pic du Canigou

Aux portes du parc naturel régional des Pyrénées catalanes, le Pic du Canigou se dresse à moins de 15 km de la frontière espagnole. Il est situé à 40 km à l’ouest de Perpignan et à 50 km des plages de la Méditerranée. À l’ouest du mont Canigou, point culminant du massif du même nom, se trouvent les célèbres stations pyrénéennes de Font-Romeu (35 km à vol d’oiseau) et des Angles (30 km). Le Grand site du Canigou se trouve dans la région naturelle du Conflent et domine les haute et moyenne vallées de Têt. 

Plusieurs itinéraires de randonnée sont possibles pour plusieurs accès au sommet. Lors de votre randonnée, vous avez la possibilité de vous faire accompagner par des ânes. Ils porteront le matériel nécessaire ainsi que vos enfants, afin de vous faire découvrir les divers parcours du massif. Les accompagnateurs en montagne vous proposent des randonnées équestres et animaux de bât. Massif, mythique, magnifique …

Préparez votre voyage et vos activités sur le Mont Canigou, vous serez émerveillés !

Autres clins d’oeil de Pauline et Bruno

Si vous recherchez une activité insolite et extraordinaire à faire en été avec des enfants, montez à bord du train jaune de Cerdagne qui vous emmènera sur les hauts plateaux catalans et vous offrira des vues panoramiques sensationnelles. Le département est jalonné de très beaux monuments comme la forteresse de Salses restaurée par Vauban et le magnifique palais des Rois de Majorque à Perpignan, fleuron du superbe patrimoine de la capitale catalane. Baignez-vous ou louez un jet-ski sur les plages d’Argelès, Saint-Cyprien, Canet-en-Roussillon ou Le Barcarès, flânez dans les marchés traditionnels pour acheter les produits du terroir et converser avec les habitants.

Et si vous faisiez une cure à Molitg-Les-Bains ?

Molitg-Les-Bains se situe à 45 minutes de Perpignan, dans les Pyrénées Catalanes, à 5 minutes de Prades et de sa vieille ville pittoresque. C’est dans ce cadre enchanteur que le Domaine Thermal de Molitg-les-Bains se dévoile, dans un cirque de montagnes méditerranéennes. Vous pourrez réserver des cures conventionnées, des séjours de remise en forme et/ou des soins de beauté et de bien-être à la carte. Les thermes sont ouverts de début avril à début décembre, tous les jours sauf le dimanche. De nombreuses activités bien-être peuvent être choisies à la carte aux thermes de Molitg-les-Bains, avec, par exemple, modelages, lits hydromassants, sophrologie, aquagym, bilan diététique, reiki, ou yoga, pour 75 € le forfait 3 activités, et 150 € le forfait 6 activités. Le spa peut être utilisé en soirée, de 17 h à 19 h 30 sur toute la durée de la saison. Parmi les soins de beauté les plus prisés de l’institut figurent le soin complet visage-décolleté-mains de 60 minutes à 75 €, le rituel scandinave de 30 minutes pour 50 €, ou encore l’aromassage essentiel de 45 minutes à 65 €.

Autres immanquables pour les voyageurs curieux et insatiables

Documentation touristique à télécharger

Pour préparer plus en détails votre séjour, rendez-vous pages Camping, Hébergements et Thématiques.

Le guide Welcome

Des articles pour vous aider dans la préparation de vos vacances !

En groupe, en famille ou en solo

N'hésitez pas à demander un devis sur mesure !

Demander un devis