24 card

Camping Le Petit Lion des Tourbières

The natural site of the Vendoire peat bogs

It is located near the Périgord Limousin Regional Natural Park, near the municipalities of Brantôme and Nontron. Water is everywhere there, whether in the form of streams, rivers, ponds or lakes. The granite, limestone, clay or schist subsoil determines the crops, meadows and afforestation. You can discover a variety of flora and fauna. On this territory, many natural sites of interest have been developed in order to enhance them and also offer walkers a fun and educational discovery of the environment. The House of Peatlands takes you to discover both the natural history and the past linked to human activities of this basic peat bog with a multi-millennial past. Through an interpretive trail, an observatory or even a reception site, the heritage riches such as flora, aquatic environments, geology, landscapes but also the history of the region will no longer hold any secrets. you!

The peat bog, first and foremost a story of water ...

In Vendoire, you walk on water. In total, this peat bog represents an area of ​​102 hectares with 4 to 6 meters of peat height to contain approximately 4,5 to 5 million m3 of water. Peat is commonly used as a fuel for example in Ireland. In Scotland peat fires are used to dry barley during the manufacturing process of some Scotch whiskeys. Peat has long been used as a building material in areas where timber was lacking. In Iceland, for example, it was used in the Middle Ages for the construction of farms. In Ireland, poor families used it for the construction of small houses.

In its heart, the camping The Little Lion

Welcomes you at the crossroads to visit the Charente et the Dordogne, at the gates of the Périgord Limousin Regional Natural Park and a stone's throw from the Natura 2000 site of Tourbières de Vendoire. You will enjoy the pleasures of the Val de Dronne and will be spoiled for choice among sporting and cultural activities. Visit Brantome, the Venice of Périgord, and its abbey. Discover thearts and crafts in Nontron (forges and blast furnaces which recall the beginnings of metallurgy, which finds its expression today in the famous cutlery whose products have an international reputation) and its famous knives. Push the door of Romanesque domed churches in the Ribérac region (Ribérac, Saint-Victor, Grand Brassac…). To see also: Bourdeilles Castle, Villars cavecanoeing on the Dronne, Bastide of Saint-Aulaye. To the north-west, the Château de Mareuil, built in the XNUMXth century, watches over one of the four old baronies of Périgord. On the nature side, part of the Périgord Limousin Regional Natural Park covers this territory. In particular, you will discover an exceptional diversity in terms of fauna, flora and landscapes.

The treasures of Périgord Vert

As described so well the website of the Périgord tourist office, here are the villages to visit absolutely!

A 20 minutes, Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, classified “Most Beautiful Villages of France” since 1993 and of the label “Petites Cités de Caractère” since 2012. For more than a thousand years, the village has affirmed its vocation to welcome pilgrims, visitors and tourists. Two major historical monuments, the underground Saint-Jean church and the Saint-Jacques church. The icing on the cake, a leisure center on the banks of the Dronne offering swimming, canoeing, fishing and tennis.

A 35 minutes, Brantome, high tourist and cultural place of the department, is known for its museum of prehistory, the numerous prehistoric and megalithic sites of the surroundings, its Celtic and Gallo-Roman memories, its "cluzeaux" and troglodyte dwellings testify to its antiquity, its bell tower, its abbey Benedictine, its sculpted cave, known as the “Last Judgment Cave”, its cultural and tourist activities, and its table!

A 30 minutes, Bourdeilles, stands out on the banks of the Dronne with its castle, its charming 17th century stately mill, on an islet in the Dronne, the Gothic bridge overlooking the river and above all an unparalleled atmosphere that greatly appeals to walkers.

A 40 minutes, Nontron, sub-prefecture and capital of Périgord Vert, will seduce you with its ramparts and its old streets which dominate the gorges of Bandiat. Visit its medieval fortress and The Nontronnaise cutlery, which has been around since 1653!

25 minutes, Riberac, bordered by the “Double” forest and its ponds, crops and meadows in the Val de Dronne. Many churches typical of Roman art can be discovered including on an organized tour. One of the most important markets in Aquitaine (fatty poultry, farm calves, cereals, etc.) takes place there every Friday. For sports enthusiasts, hiking, mountain biking and trailer circuits leave from Ribérac. Visit the Museum of Tools and Life in St-Privat-des-Prés and the Cognac and wine museum in Saint-Aulaye

A 55 minutes, Saint-Jean-De-Cole, a picturesque medieval village, is famous for its Château de la Marthonie which dominates the main square of the village with its magnificent set of XNUMXth century towers, and its XNUMXth century Roman Byzantine church with its medieval bridge spanning the Côle.

And the gastronomy ?!

In Périgord Vert, gastronomic tradition reigns supreme. Foie gras, truffles, walnuts, chestnuts, red fruits, apples, cheese, snails, beef, pork, goose and duck, and many other local products bear witness to a rare and exceptional heritage. Take the time to treat yourself to a good table!

Main events, festivals and festivals in the Val de Dronne

  • Certified truffle markets in Brantôme, from December to the end of February
  • Potters Fair in Bussière Badil, in May
  • Weavers Market in Varaignes, in May
  • Water sports on the Dronne in Brantôme, in July / August at the foot of the abbey
  • Irish musical encounters of Tocanes Saint-Apre, end of July
  • Forges et Métallurgie Festival in Etouars, late July / early August
  • Spicy Music Festival, early August in Saint-Aulaye
  • Knife festival in Nontron, in August
  • Feast of the Cep and the veal under the mother in Saint-Saud Lacoussière, in October
  • Salon Rue des Métiers d'Art in Nontron, during the weekend of All Saints' Day
  • Turkey Fair in Varaignes, in November

Main sports activities

To prepare your holidays in the Dordogne with confidence, go to the website of our partner SportRIZER, and you can book the sports around camping ! If you would like more information for your stay, do not hesitate to consult the pages Camping, Accommodation et Themes.

Explore our guide for holidays

Articles to help you prepare your holidays!

In a group, with the family or alone

Your tailor-made quote in less than 24 hours!

Ask for a quote

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

carte 24

Camping Le Petit Lion des Tourbières

Le site naturel des Tourbières de Vendoire

Il se situe aux abords du Parc Régional Naturel Périgord Limousin, à proximité des communes de Brantôme et Nontron. L’eau y est omniprésente que ce soit sous la forme de ruisseaux, rivières, étangs ou lacs. Le sous-sol granitique, calcaire, argileux ou schisteux détermine les cultures, prairies et boisements. On peut y découvrir une faune et une flore diversifiées. Sur ce territoire, de nombreux sites naturels d’intérêt ont été aménagés afin de les mettre en valeur et également offrir aux promeneurs une découverte ludique et pédagogique de l’environnement.  La Maison des Tourbières vous amène à découvrir aussi bien l’histoire naturelle que le passé lié aux activités humaines de cette tourbière basique au passé multimillénaire. À travers un sentier d’interprétation, un observatoire ou encore un site d’accueil, les richesses patrimoniales telles que la flore, les milieux aquatiques, la géologie, les paysages mais aussi l’histoire de la région n’auront plus de secret pour vous !

La tourbière, d’abord une histoire d’eau…

A Vendoire, vous marchez sur l’eau. Au total, cette tourbière représente une superficie de 102 hectares avec 4 à 6 mètres de hauteur de tourbe pour contenir environ 4,5 à 5 millions de m3 d’eau. La tourbe est couramment utilisée comme combustible par exemple en Irlande. En Ecosse, les feux de tourbe sont utilisés pour faire sécher l’orge au cours du processus de fabrication de certains whiskies écossais. La tourbe a longtemps servi de matériau de construction dans des régions où le bois faisait défaut. En Islande, par exemple, elle a été utilisée au Moyen-âge pour la construction de fermes. En Irlande, les familles pauvres l’utilisaient pour la construction de petites maisons.

En son coeur, le camping Le Petit Lion

Vous accueille à la croisée des chemins pour visiter la Charente et la Dordogne, aux portes du Parc Naturel Régional Périgord Limousin et à deux pas du site Natura 2000 des Tourbières de Vendoire. Vous jouirez des plaisirs du Val de Dronne et aurez l’embarras du choix parmi les activités sportives et culturelles. Visitez Brantôme, la Venise du Périgord, et son abbaye. Partez à la découverte de l’artisanat d’art à Nontron (forges et hauts fourneaux qui rappellent les débuts de la métallurgie, qui trouve son expression aujourd’hui dans la célèbre coutellerie dont les produits connaissent une réputation internationale) et ses célèbres couteaux. Poussez la porte des églises romanes à coupoles du ribéracois (Ribérac, Saint-Victor, Grand Brassac…). A voir aussi : Château de Bourdeilles, grotte de Villars, canoë sur la Dronne, bastide de Saint-Aulaye. Au nord-ouest le château de Mareuil, édifié au XVème siècle veille sur une des quatre anciennes baronnies du Périgord. Côté nature, une partie du Parc naturel régional Périgord Limousin couvre ce territoire. Vous y découvrirez notamment une diversité exceptionnelle en ce qui concerne la faune, la flore et les paysages.

Les trésors du Périgord Vert

Comme le décrit si bien le site de l’office de tourisme du Périgord, voici les villages à visiter absolument !

A 20 minutes, Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, classé “Plus Beaux Villages de France” depuis 1993 et du label «Petites Cités de Caractère» depuis 2012. Le village  affirme depuis plus de mille ans sa vocation à accueillir pèlerins, visiteurs et touristes. Deux monuments historiques majeurs, l’église souterraine Saint-Jean et l’église Saint-Jacques. Cerise sur le gâteau, une base de loisirs en bord de Dronne offrant baignade, canoë kayak, pêche et tennis.

A 35 minutes, Brantôme, haut lieu touristique et culturel du département, est connu pour son musée de préhistoire, les sites nombreux préhistoriques et mégalithiques des environs, ses souvenirs celtes et gallo-romains, ses « cluzeaux » et habitations troglodytiques témoignent de son antiquité, son clocher, son abbaye bénédictine,sa grotte sculptée, dite « Grotte de Jugement Dernier », ses animations culturelles et touristiques, et sa table !

A 30 minutes, Bourdeilles, s’impose au bord de la Dronne avec son château, son charmant moulin seigneurial du 17ème siècle, sur un îlot de la Dronne, le pont gothique surplombant la rivière et surtout une atmosphère sans pareil qui plaît beaucoup aux promeneurs.

A 40 minutes, Nontron, sous-préfecture et capitale du Périgord Vert, vous séduira par ses remparts et ses vieilles rues qui dominent les gorges du Bandiat. Visitez sa forteresse médiévale et La Coutellerie Nontronnaise, qui existe depuis 1653 !

A 25 minutes, Ribérac, bordé par la forêt de la “Double” et ses étangs, ses cultures et ses prairies du Val de Dronne. De nombreuses églises typiques de l’art Roman se découvrent y compris en circuit organisé. L’un des marchés les plus importants d’Aquitaine (volailles grasses, veaux fermiers, céréales, etc… ) y prend place chaque vendredi. Pour les sportifs, des sentiers de randonnée, VTT, circuits en roulotte partent de Ribérac. Visitez le Musée de l’outil et de la vie à St-Privat-des-Prés et le Musée du Cognac et du vin à Saint-Aulaye

A 55 minutes, Saint-Jean-De-Côle, pittoresque village médiéval, est réputé pour son château de la Marthonie qui domine la place principale du village avec son ensemble magnifique de tours du XIIème siècle, et son église romano byzantine du XIIème siècle avec son pont moyenâgeux enjambant la Côle.

Et la gastronomie ?!

En Périgord Vert, la tradition gastronomique règne en reine. Foie gras, truffes, noix, châtaignes, fruits rouges, pommes, fromage, escargots, bœuf, cochon, oie et canard, et bien d’autres produits du terroir témoignent d’un héritage rare et exceptionnel. Prenez le temps de vous offrir une bonne table !

Principales animations, fêtes et festivals en Val de Dronne

  • Marchés certifiés aux truffes à Brantôme, de décembre à fin février
  • Foire des Potiers à Bussière Badil, au mois de Mai
  • Marché des Tisserands à Varaignes, au mois de Mai
  • Joutes nautiques sur la Dronne à Brantôme, en juillet/août au pied de l’abbaye
  • Rencontres musicales irlandaises de Tocanes Saint-Apre, fin juillet
  • Festival Forges et Métallurgie à Etouars, fin juillet/début août
  • Festival des Musiques Epicées, début août à Saint-Aulaye
  • Fête du couteau à Nontron, au mois d’Août
  • Fête du Cèpe et du veau sous la mère à Saint-Saud Lacoussière, en octobre
  • Salon Rue des Métiers d’Art à Nontron, pendant le week-end de la Toussaint
  • Foire aux Dindons à Varaignes, en novembre

Principales activités sportives

Pour préparer plus en détails votre séjour, rendez-vous pages Camping, Hébergements et Thématiques.

En groupe, en famille ou en solo

N'hésitez pas à demander un devis sur mesure !

Demander un devis