carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

What if you set off with your family on the Santiago de Compostela routes?

Cradled by a relative material abundance in the heart of a frenzied society, many parents wish to provide their families with authentic experiences and transmit fundamental values ​​to their children. The ways of Compostela are a great opportunity for this.

Ccreating family memories has now become an essential goal of education. The family is built around common experiences and unforgettable memories. The photos are displayed on the walls of the houses, allowing everyone to remember these precious moments of intimacy. And beyond the experience that unites the family, parents seek to transmit the values ​​that seem essential to them, such as knowledge and self-esteem, sharing, a taste for effort, resilience, patience, indulgence, the satisfaction of having achieved one's goal. If you want to live with your children an exceptional experience which will leave a mark in their life and allow your values ​​to be anchored in them, the ways of Compostela are there for you.

Miles of trails

From North to South and from East to West, France offers kilometers of trails which all point to Santiago in Spain. Whether you choose the Puy-en-Velay route, the roads that lead from Bergerac to Rocamadour, from Conques to Toulouse, the Arles, Cluny or Geneva paths, or the Via Arverna, there are many possibilities for you lodge in accommodation of all categories and for all budgets. Some parent bloggers even share their tents stories!

Compostela for young and old

What a joy for young and old alike to walk the paths with their family, to admire the stage stamp on its credential, this famous pilgrim's passport which attests to the efforts endured. The ways of Compostela can be walked from the age of 3. However, it is preferable to have a mountain cart to relieve the younger ones in case of need. But be careful, taking the trails with young children requires careful preparation. To prevent the trip from turning into ordeal, here are some ideas so you don't forget anything before departure.

Physical preparation

Just like you, your children will need to prepare themselves physically for this effort, which will be long and intense. It is therefore important to travel with them on hiking trails during the 2 months preceding the departure. Children and teenagers will thus be able to familiarize themselves with hiking, develop their muscle mass and endurance, get used to carrying a backpack, but also - and this is not a detail - to wear the shoes so that they are not new when you leave. With this training you will have a better vision of the limits of your children… and yours!

Compostela: The route and places of accommodation

For families with young children, it is advisable not to travel more than 15 kilometers during the day. It will be relevant to walk early in the morning to avoid the hot weather, and to plan regular breaks. Many accommodations are available all along the routes and all prices apply. For more peace of mind, do not hesitate to contact a tour operator, or a luggage transport service. All options are possible.

Cultural awakening

Walking in the footsteps of Santiago de Compostela is an intense cultural experience. The stages will be an opportunity to observe the flora and fauna, or to tell the adventures kings, knights, peasants and beggars who walked these paths before you. So many stories that you can research and tell before your departure to enrich the discoveries when the time comes.

Trails, meetings, villages, biodiversity, the sound of footsteps, tranquility and a return to the simplest pleasures, await you on the paths of St Jacques de Compostelle. Do not delay! Prepare your stay now!

Et si vous partiez en famille sur les chemins de Compostelle ?

Bercés par une relative abondance matérielle au coeur d’une société frénétique, nombreux sont les parents qui souhaitent faire vivre à leur famille des expériences authentiques et transmettre à leurs enfants des valeurs fondamentales. Les chemins de Compostelle sont une belle opportunité pour cela.

Créer des souvenirs en famille est désormais devenu un objectif essentiel de l’éducation. La famille se construit autour d’expériences communes et de souvenirs inoubliables. Les photos s’étalent sur les murs des maisons, permettant à chacun de se remémorer ces précieux instants d’intimité. Et au delà de l’expérience qui unit la famille, les parents cherchent à transmettre les valeurs qui leur paraissent essentielles, telles que la connaissance et l’estime de soi, le partage, le goût de l’effort, la résilience, la patience, l’indulgence, la satisfaction d’avoir atteint son objectif. Si vous souhaitez vivre avec vos enfants une expérience exceptionnelle qui laissera une trace dans leur vie et permettra d’ancrer en eux vos valeurs, les chemins de Compostelle sont là pour vous.

Des kilomètres de sentier

Du Nord au Sud et d’Est en Ouest, la France offre des kilomètres de sentiers qui pointent tous vers Santiago en Espagne. Que vous choisissiez la voie du Puy-en-Velay, les routes qui mènent de Bergerac à Rocamadour, de Conques à Toulouse, les chemins d’Arles, de Cluny ou de Genève, ou encore la Via Arverna, nombreuses sont les possibilités de vous loger en hébergements de toutes catégories et pour tous les budgets. Certains parents blogueurs partagent même leurs récits de séjours sous tentes !

Pour les petits et les grands

Quelle joie pour les petits et les grands de sillonner à pied les chemins en famille, d’admirer le tampon de l’étape sur sa crédential, ce fameux passeport du pèlerin qui atteste des efforts endurés. Les chemins de Compostelle peuvent être parcourus dès l’âge de 3 ans. Il est toutefois préférable de disposer d’un chariot de montagne pour soulager les plus jeunes en cas de besoin. Mais attention, emprunter les sentiers avec des enfants en bas âges exige une préparation millimétrée. Pour éviter que le voyage ne tourne au calvaire, voici quelques idées afin de ne rien oublier avant le départ.

La préparation physique

Tout comme vous, vos enfants auront besoin de se préparer physiquement à cet effort qui sera long et intense. Il est donc important de parcourir avec eux des sentiers de randonnée pendant les 2 mois qui précèdent le départ. Enfants et ados pourront ainsi se familiariser avec la randonnée, développer leur masse musculaire et leur endurance, s’habituer à porter un sac à dos, mais également – et ce n’est pas un détail – porter les chaussures afin qu’elles ne soient pas neuves au moment du départ. Avec cet entraînement vous aurez ainsi une meilleure vision des limites de vos enfants… Et des vôtres !

Le parcours et les lieux d’hébergement

Pour les familles avec jeunes enfants, il est conseillé de ne pas parcourir plus de 15 kilomètres dans la journée. Il sera pertinent de marcher tôt le matin pour éviter les grosses chaleurs, et de prévoir des pauses régulières. De nombreux hébergements sont disponibles tout au long des parcours et tous les tarifs sont pratiqués. Pour plus de sérénité, n’hésitez pas à contacter un tour-operator, ou un service de transport de bagages. Toutes les options sont possibles.

L’éveil culturel

Marcher sur les traces de St Jacques de Compostelle est une expérience culturelle intense. Les étapes seront l’occasion d’observer la faune et la flore, ou de conter les aventures des rois, chevaliers, paysans et mendiants qui parcoururent ces chemins avant vous. Autant de récits que vous pouvez rechercher et raconter avant votre départ pour enrichir les découvertes le moment venu.

Les sentiers, les rencontres, les villages, la biodiversité, le son des pas, la quiétude et le retour aux plaisirs les plus simples, vous attendent sur les chemins de St Jacques de Compostelle. Ne tardez plus ! Préparez votre séjour dès maintenant !

La rédaction