carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Trek: On the Cathar trail, go to meet the citadels of vertigo

From the Mediterranean to the balconies of the Pyrenees, the Cathar trail is a sublime hiking trail.

In Occitanie, from Port-la-Nouvelle in Aude to Foix in Ariège, the legendary Cathar trail GR 367 trains hikers for an incredible adventure discovering the citadels of vertigo. Through lagoons, wine-growing hillsides, scrubland, forests, valleys, gorges and summits, this route offers a sublime immersion in the heart of nature, coupled with an unforgettable leap back in time. The Cathar trail trek is rich in discoveries in the heart of a territory of southern France that has remained wild. Here no concrete, nor mass tourism. Hikers in search of authenticity will be delighted.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Elise Joub 🌍✈🏊🧜‍♀️🥾🤿🏃‍♀️ (@elisejoub)

The route of the Cathar trail GR 367

To browse the 250 kilometers of the GR 367, 12 stages of 15 to 28 kilometers are necessary. The first takes hikers from the Mediterranean to Corbières, for a first night in Durban-Corbières. From the second stage of the Cathar trail, the emblematic medieval castles can be discovered with majesty. At the end of the fourth step, if you choose the northern variant, the mysterious gorges of Galamus offer a refreshing break.

 

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A post shared by Tiff ⚓🌟 (@ tiffany_38100)

The southern variant leads to Prugnanes, Puilaurens and Marsa. Whatever variant you choose, Puivert and Espezel are the last steps in Aude. Then place in Ariège, with Montsegur, Roquefixade, then finally Foix, and its famous castle.

The citadels of vertigo

All along the Cathar trail, the impressive castles of the Cathar country emerge from the steep reliefs. These citadels, mostly built by the Capetian royal power, bear witness to a rich and sometimes controversial history. Refuges of the Cathars during the Albigensian Crusade, the citadels were major defense posts. They resisted the assaults of the Aragonese army until the Treaty of the Pyrenees in 1659. The majestic Peyrepertuse castle but also the castles of Puilaurens, Quéribus, Aguilar and Montségur, are now candidates alongside the City of Carcassonne, the 4 châteaux of Lastours and the château de Termes, to be included on the prestigious UNESCO World Heritage list.

The Cathar trail winds through the heart of a preserved territory

During this southern trek, you will cross unspoiled nature. Here, urbanization is limited. Between sea and mountain, Aude is in fact the third department in mainland France, the richest in plant biodiversity. 3 species constitute the cradle of more than 000 animal species of heritage interest. More mountainous, the Ariège is home to raptors, otters and even bears! Its forest is also home to rare plant species, such as Ariège orchids or even mistletoe, a sign of unspoiled nature.

As you will have understood, for lovers of hiking and trekking, the Cathar trail GR 367 is a route to discover as soon as possible. And for a different experience, know that some stages of the GR 367 can be covered on horseback.

 

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

A publication shared by the Official Account of ADT Aude (@audetourisme)

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Trek : Sur le sentier cathare, partez à la rencontre des citadelles du vertige

De la Méditerranéee aux balcons des Pyrénées, le sentier cathare est un sentier de grande randonnée sublime.

En Occitanie, de Port-la-Nouvelle dans l’Aude à Foix en Ariège, le mythique sentier cathare GR 367 entraîne les randonneurs pour une aventure incroyable à la découverte des citadelles du vertige. À travers lagunes, coteaux viticoles, garrigues, forêts, vallées, gorges et sommets, ce tracé offre une sublime immersion en pleine nature, doublée d’un inoubliable saut dans le temps. Le trek du sentier cathare est riche de découvertes au coeur d’un territoire du sud de la France demeuré sauvage. Ici pas de béton, ni de tourisme de masse. Les randonneurs en quête d’authenticité seront comblés.

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Une publication partagée par Elise Joub 🌍✈🏊🧜‍♀️🥾🤿🏃‍♀️ (@elisejoub)

Le tracé du sentier cathare GR 367

Pour parcourir les 250 kilomètres du GR 367, 12 étapes de 15 à 28 kilomètres sont nécessaires. La première entraîne les randonneurs de la Méditerranée aux Corbières, pour une première nuit à Durban-Corbières. Dès la deuxième étape du sentier cathare, les emblématiques châteaux médiévaux se laissent découvrir avec majesté. À la fin de la quatrième étape, si vous choisissez la variante nord, les mystérieuses gorges de Galamus offrent une pause fraîcheur bienfaisante.

 

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Une publication partagée par Tiff ⚓🌟 (@tiffany_38100)

La variante sud conduit quant-à-elle à Prugnanes, Puilaurens et Marsa. Quelle que soit la variante choisie, Puivert et Espezel sont les dernières étapes audoises. Place ensuite à l’Ariège, avec Montségur, Roquefixade, puis enfin Foix, et son célèbre château.

Les citadelles du vertige

Tout au long du sentier cathare, les impressionnants châteaux du Pays cathare émergent des reliefs escarpés. Ces citadelles, bâties pour la plupart par le pouvoir royal capétien, sont les témoins d’une riche histoire parfois controversée. Refuges des cathares pendant la croisade des albigeois, les citadelles étaient des postes de défense majeurs. Elles ont résisté aux assauts de l’armée aragonaise jusqu’au traité des Pyrénées en 1659. Le majestueux château de Peyrepertuse mais aussi les châteaux de Puilaurens, Quéribus, Aguilar et Montségur, sont désormais candidats aux côtés de la Cité de Carcassonne, des 4 châteaux de Lastours et du château de Termes, pour être inscrits sur la prestigieuse liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.

Le sentier cathare serpente au coeur d’un territoire préservé

Au cours de ce trek méridional, vous traverserez une nature préservée. Ici, l’urbanisation est limitée. Entre mer et montagne, l’Aude est en effet le troisième département de France métropolitaine, le plus riche en biodiversité végétale. 3 000 espèces constituent le berceau de plus 300 espèces animales d’intérêt patrimonial. Plus montagneuse, l’Ariège abrite des rapaces, des loutres et même des ours ! Sa forêt accueille également des espèces végétales rares, telles que les orchidées de l’Ariège ou encore le gui, signe d’une nature préservée.

Vous l’aurez compris, pour les amateurs de randonnée et de trek, le sentier cathare GR 367 est un parcours à découvrir au plus vite. Et pour une expérience différente, sachez que certaines étapes du GR 367 peuvent être parcourues à cheval.

 

 
 
 
 
 
Voir cette publication sur Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Une publication partagée par Compte Officiel de l’ADT Aude (@audetourisme)