UNESCO World Heritage # 23: The City of Carcassonne

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1997, the historic walled city of Carcassonne, more commonly known as the Cité de Carcassonne.

In Occitanie, in the Aude department, between Montagne Noire and the Pyrenees, a medieval fortified town dominates the Aude valley. Surrounded by its double enclosure and its 52 towers, the City of Carcassonne is famous throughout the world for its impressive structure and exceptional state of conservation. This royal stronghold is also a unique witness to the defensive architecture of the Middle Ages. The fortifications, the count's castle, but also the preserved alleys and the magnificent Gothic cathedral, offer visitors an exceptional journey through time.

A little history

The history of the City of Carcassonne dates back well before the Middle Ages. The site has in fact been occupied since the 2th century BC. In turn, a fortified oppidum, a Gallo-Roman city, a Visigoth stronghold, and even an Umayyad city… The City then became a county, then a viscount and finally a royal senechaussium. This territory has therefore been marked by 600 years of history. Conquests, Crusades and Catharism thus shaped the places. But in the XNUMXth century, the city was unfortunately destined for demolition. It even serves as a stone quarry. And it is thanks to the tenacity of the Carcassonne archaeologist Jean-Pierre Cros-Mayrevieille, that the demolition decree will be canceled. This will allow one of the largest restoration projects in Europe to see the light of day. Viollet-le-Duc then Boeswillwald will lead operations.

Chateau Comtal of the City of Carcassonne
The Chateau Comtal

A witness to medieval defensive architecture

The City of Carcassonne is recognizable among all, thanks to its double enclosure. The first enclosure, one kilometer in perimeter, dates back to Gallo-Roman times. Sixteen of the seventeen towers that still remain today are recognizable by their horseshoe shape. Single the Pinte Tower is rectangular. The outer enclosure was built in the Middle Ages. Surrounded by a dry moat, it has round and massive towers. The walkway allows you to go around the city through the towers. Finally, the space between the two ramparts constitutes the lists of the City. Today, this place is ideal for discovering military architecture, and admiring the view of the Bastide Saint-Louis and the surrounding nature.

View at the foot of the City of Carcassonne
View at the foot of the City of Carcassonne

The gates of the fortified city of Carcassonne

The outer enclosure is pierced with four doors at the four cardinal points. To the East, the Narbonnaise gate is the main gateway to the City of Carcassonne. Built in 1280, during the reign of Philip III the Bold, it consists of two impressive spur towers. South, the Porte d'Aude offers a very picturesque course, with a sumptuous view of the ramparts. Located near the Château Comtal, it faces the Aude river. This door has been the setting for famous films, such as The Visitors, Robin des Bois or Le Corniaud. The Porte Saint-Nazaire et the Porte du Bourg lie to the west and north, respectively.

Porte d'Aude, City of Carcassonne
The Porte d'Aude

Emblematic monuments of the fortified city of Carcassonne

In the heart of the City of Carcassonne, several buildings are worth a visit. Built in the XNUMXth century by the Trencavels, the count's castle is a must. The Basilica of Saint-Nazaire-et-Saint-Celse is for its part, the “Jewel of the City”. Saint-Gimer Church is one of the three churches designed by Viollet-le-Duc. Built in the XNUMXth century, it is characteristic of the architect's Gothic vision. Two other remarkable elements are visible within the walled city. The Great Well is the oldest well in the City. According to legend, it would house the treasure of Solomon's temple. The Bust of Dame Carcas, legendary character of the city of Carcassonne, finally sits in front of the Porte Narbonnaise.

Basilica of Saint-Nazaire and Saint-Celse in Carcassonne
Basilica of Saint-Nazaire-et-Saint-Celse

The City of Carcassonne today

The fortified city of Carcassonne is free to access 7 days a week, day and night. But to fully benefit from the experience, it is possible to visit the City with the accompaniment of certified tour guides. A real dive into the history of this territory ... Each year, many medieval events are also organized for young and old. Themed tours, treasure hunts, escape games, museum visits are thus offered throughout the year. Since summer 7, the Cistern Tower also offers an incredible virtual reality experience. Equipped with helmets, visitors discover the history of the City, from the creation of the oppidum to the present day.

Medieval festival in the heart of the city of Carcassonne

Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO #23 : La Cité de Carcassonne

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1997, la ville fortifiée historique de Carcassonne, plus communément appelée, Cité de Carcassonne.

En Occitanie, dans le département de l’Aude, entre Montagne Noire et Pyrénées, une ville médiévale fortifiée domine la vallée de l’Aude. Entourée de sa double enceinte et de ses 52 tours, la Cité de Carcassonne est célèbre à travers le monde en raison de son impressionnante structure et de son exceptionnel état de conservation. Cette place forte royale est d’ailleurs un témoin unique de l’architecture défensive du Moyen-Âge. Les fortifications, le château comtal, mais aussi les ruelles préservées et la magnifique cathédrale gothique, offrent aux visiteurs un exceptionnel voyage dans le temps.

Un peu d’histoire

L’histoire de la Cité de Carcassonne remonte bien avant le Moyen-Âge. Le site est en effet occupé depuis le VIème siècle avant Jésus-Christ. Tour à tour oppidum fortifié, cité gallo-romaine, place forte wisigothe, et même ville omeyyade… La Cité est ensuite devenue comté, puis vicomté et enfin sénéchaussée royale. Ce territoire a donc été marqué par 2 600 ans d’histoire. Conquêtes, croisades et catharisme ont ainsi façonné les lieux. Mais au XIXème siècle, la ville est malheureusement destinée à la démolition. Elle sert même de carrière de pierres. Et c’est grâce à la ténacité de l’archéologue carcassonnais Jean-Pierre Cros-Mayrevieille, que le décret de démolition sera annulé. Cela permettra à l’un des plus grands chantiers de restauration d’Europe de voir le jour. Viollet-le-Duc puis Boeswillwald dirigeront les opérations.

Château Comtal de la Cité de Carcassonne
Le Château Comtal

Un témoin de l’architecture médiévale défensive

La Cité de Carcassonne est reconnaissable entre toutes, grâce à sa double enceinte. La première enceinte d’un kilomètre de périmètre, remonte à l’époque gallo-romaine. Seize des dix-sept tours qui subsistent aujourd’hui encore, sont reconnaissables à leur forme en fer-à-cheval. Seule la Tour Pinte est rectangulaire. L’enceinte extérieure a quant-à-elle été édifiée au Moyen-Âge. Entourée d’un fossé sec, elle dispose de tours rondes et massives. Le chemin de ronde permet de faire le tour de la Cité en passant par les tours. Enfin, l’espace entre les deux remparts constitue les lices de la Cité. Ce lieu est aujourd’hui idéal pour découvrir l’architecture militaire, et admirer la vue sur la Bastide Saint-Louis et la nature environnante.

Vue au pied de la Cité de Carcassonne
Vue au pied de la Cité de Carcassonne

Les portes de la ville fortifiée de Carcassonne

L’enceinte extérieure est percée de quatre portes aux quatre points cardinaux. À l’est, la porte Narbonnaise est la porte d’entrée principale de la Cité de Carcassonne. Édifiée en 1280, sous le règne de Philippe III le Hardi, elle se compose de deux impressionnantes tours en éperon. Au sud, la Porte d’Aude offre quant-à-elle un parcours très pittoresque, avec un somptueux point de vue sur les remparts. Située à proximité du Château Comtal, elle fait face au fleuve Aude. Cette porte a été le décor de films célèbres, tels que Les Visiteurs, Robin des Bois ou encore Le Corniaud. La Porte Saint-Nazaire et la Porte du Bourg se situent respectivement à l’ouest et au nord.

Porte d'Aude, Cité de Carcassonne
La Porte d’Aude

Monuments emblématiques de la ville fortifiée de Carcassonne

Au coeur de la Cité de Carcassonne, plusieurs édifices méritent une visite. Construit au XIIème siècle par les Trencavel, le château comtal est un incontournable. La Basilique Saint-Nazaire-et-Saint-Celse est pour sa part, le « Joyau de la Cité ». L’Église Saint-Gimer est l’une des trois églises dessinées par Viollet-le-Duc. Édifiée au XIXème siècle, elle est caractéristique de la vision gothique de l’architecte. Deux autres éléments remarquables sont visibles au sein de la ville fortifiée. Le Grand Puits est le plus ancien puits de la Cité. Selon la légende, il abriterait le trésor du temple de Salomon. Le Buste de Dame Carcas, personnage légendaire de la ville de Carcassonne, trône enfin devant la Porte Narbonnaise.

Basilique Saint-Nazaire et Saint-Celse à Carcassonne
Basilique Saint-Nazaire-et-Saint-Celse

La Cité de Carcassonne aujourd’hui

La ville fortifiée de Carcassonne est libre d’accès 7 jours sur 7, de jour comme de nuit. Mais pour profiter pleinement de l’expérience, il est possible de visiter la Cité en étant accompagné de guides conférenciers agréés. Une véritable plongée dans l’histoire de ce territoire… Chaque année, de nombreuses animations médiévales sont également organisées pour petits et grands. Visites thématiques, chasses au trésor, escape game, visites de musées sont ainsi proposées tout au long de l’année. Depuis l’été 2021, la Tour de la Citerne propose aussi une incroyable expérience de réalité virtuelle. Équipés d’un casque, les visiteurs découvrent l’histoire de la Cité, de la création de l’oppidum, jusqu’à nos jours.

Fête médiévale au coeur de la Cité de Carcassonne