carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The most beautiful villages in France # 1: In Aveyron

In this new series, we invite you to gradually discover the 149 most beautiful villages in France. For this first opus, we have chosen to highlight the most beautiful villages of the Aveyron. Because in this department, ten villages are classified among The most beautiful villages in France. A concentration record, shared with the Dordogne.

Ddepartment located in Occitanie, in the heart of the triangle formed by the cities of Toulouse, Montpellier and Clermont-Ferrand, Aveyron is a multifaceted territory, rich in its culture, its history and its varied landscapes. In summer, Aveyron residents and holidaymakers taste the sweetness of life of this exceptional land. Far from the frenzy of the coast, they benefit from the multitude of opportunities offered by this authentic territory. Some say that you come to Aveyron "to work there, and that you stay there to live" ... Why not discover the most beautiful villages of Aveyron for a summer ... And more so?

A preserved territory

The hikes on foot, by bike or accompanied by a donkey through the causses, in the canyons of Rougier or on the paths from Aubrac to Laguiole, are a real change of scenery. The sumptuous Lake Pareloup offers refreshing swimming, as does the verdant Lot valley, or the Tarn and Aveyron whose gorges are a delight for kayakers.

Kayaking on the Tarn
Kayaking on the Tarn

A unique culture

The wealth of the Aveyron is not based solely on its natural heritage. The people of Aveyron cultivate the art of life and an incomparable welcome. The markets, village festivals, medieval events and festivals, are the revealer. During your visit to Aveyron, do not forget to browse the villages, their squares and their alleys, and taste the specialties such as Roquefort, Aligot or the spit cake which will transport you to the time of the Knights and Templars. The ten Most beautiful villages in France located in Aveyron have many surprises in store for visitors. Peyre visible from the Millau viaduct, is a unique hamlet built on the side of a cliff. Its clear stone facades and its semi-Trogolodyte church make it an essential stage in the discovery of the secrets of Aveyron.

Preserved medieval villages

À Belcastel, you will walk through the alleys lined with stone houses and slate roofs, before reaching a fortified castle restored in 1970. At the confluence of the Tarn and the Alrance, another medieval castle and its Gothic bridge await you at Brousse-le-Chateau. the royal fortress of Najac, coveted by the kings of France and England, will also offer you a leap in history overlooking the majestic gorges of the Aveyron. TO Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, the former royal bastide has kept its original structure since the 47th century. The square with XNUMX arcades welcomes traders, artists and craftsmen. AT Sainte-Eulalie-d'Olt, the church square is considered a masterpiece of Romanesque and Gothic art.

Fortress of Najac
Fortress of Najac

On the trail of the Templars and the Hospitallers

The Courvetoirade is a city of the high plateau of the Causses du Larzac. The Templars built a castle there in the XNUMXth century, and the Hospitallers built the ramparts there in the XNUMXth century. The magnificent buildings of the XVIth and XVIIth centuries recall the sumptuous past of these places. Roquefort, Pérail and Tome will delight the taste buds of visitors to this magnificent city.

On the road to Compostela

The last three villages of our Aveyron journey are crossing points for Routes of Compostela. Conques in the heart of the Lot valley, its half-timbered houses and its Romanesque abbey is a must-see. At the foot of the Aubrac mountains, pilgrims take the Gothic bridge to discover the dwellings with shale roofs and the keep of the château d 'Estaing. On the banks of the Lot, Saint-Come-d'Olt houses a Gothic church and the manor of the Sirs of Calmont. Do not miss to visit the old medieval stalls.

Village of Conques in Aveyron
Conques, one of the most beautiful villages in France

The 10 Aveyron villages classified among The most beautiful villages in France will leave you with lasting memories. Do not delay in visiting them.

Les plus beaux villages de France #1 : En Aveyron

Dans cette nouvelle série, nous vous proposons de découvrir peu à peu les 149 plus beaux villages de France. Pour ce premier opus, nous avons choisi de mettre en lumière les plus beaux villages villages de l’Aveyron. Car dans ce département, dix villages sont classés parmi Les plus beaux villages de France. Un record de concentration, partagé avec la Dordogne.

Département situé en Occitanie, au coeur du triangle formé par les villes de Toulouse, Montpellier et Clermont-Ferrand, l’Aveyron est un territoire aux multiples facettes, riche de sa culture, de son histoire et de ses paysages variés. En été, aveyronnais et vacanciers goûtent à la douceur de vivre de cette terre d’exception. Bien loin de la frénésie du littoral, ils bénéficient de la multitude d’opportunités offertes par ce territoire authentique. Certains affirment que l’on vient en Aveyron “pour y travailler, et qu’on y reste pour y vivre”… Pourquoi ne pas découvrir les plus beaux villages d’Aveyron l’espace d’un été… Et plus si affinités ?

Un territoire préservé

Les randonnées à pied, à vélo ou accompagné d’un âne à travers les causses, dans les canyons du Rougier ou sur les sentiers d’Aubrac à Laguiole, sont un véritable dépaysement. Le somptueux lac de Pareloup offre des baignades rafraîchissantes, tout comme la verdoyante vallée du Lot, ou encore le Tarn et l’Aveyron dont les gorges font le bonheur des kayakistes.

Kayak sur le Tarn
Kayak sur le Tarn

Une culture unique

La richesse de l’Aveyron ne repose pas uniquement sur son patrimoine naturel. Les aveyronnais cultivent un art de vivre et un accueil incomparables. Les marchés, fêtes de villages, manifestations médiévales et festivals, en sont le révélateur. Lors de votre visite en Aveyron, n’oubliez pas de parcourir les villages, leurs places et leurs ruelles, et dégustez les spécialités telles que le roquefort, l’aligot ou le gâteau à la broche qui vous transporteront à l’époque des chevaliers et des templiers. Les dix Plus beaux villages de France situés en Aveyron réservent bien des surprises aux visiteurs. Peyre que l’on aperçoit depuis le viaduc de Millau, est un hameau singulier bâti à flanc de falaise. Ses façades de pierres claires et son église semi-trogolodyte en font une étape essentielle de la découverte des secrets de l’Aveyron.

Viaduc de Millau en route pour les plus beaux villages d'Aveyron
Viaduc de Millau en Aveyron

Des villages médiévaux préservés

À Belcastel, vous circulerez à travers les ruelles bordées de demeures en pierres et toits de lauze, avant de rejoindre un château fort restauré en 1970. Au confluent du Tarn et de l’Alrance, un autre château médiéval et son pont gothique vous attendent à Brousse-le-Château. la forteresse royale de Najac, convoitée par les rois de France et d’Angleterre, vous offrira elle aussi un bond dans l’histoire en surplomb des majestueuses gorges de l’Ardèche. À Sauveterre-de-Rouergue, l’ancienne bastide royale a gardé sa structure originelle depuis le XIIIème siècle. La place aux 47 arcades accueille commerçants, artistes et artisans d’art. À Sainte-Eulalie-d’Olt, la place de l’église est considérée comme un chef-d’oeuvre des arts roman et gothique.

Forteresse de Najac
Forteresse de Najac

Sur la trace des Templiers et des Hospitaliers

La Courvetoirade est une cité du haut plateau des Causses du Larzac. Les Templiers y édifièrent un château au XIIème siècle, et les Hospitaliers y bâtirent les remparts au XVème siècle. Les magnifiques bâtisses des XVIème et XVIIème siècles rappellent le passé fastueux de ces lieux. Roquefort, pérail et tome raviront les papilles des visiteurs de cette magnifique cité.

Sur la route de Compostelle

Les trois derniers villages de notre périple aveyronnais sont des points de passage des Chemins de Compostelle. Conques au coeur de la vallée du Lot, ses maisons à colombage et son abbatiale romane est une étape incontournable. Au pied des monts d’Aubrac, les pèlerins empruntent le pont gothique pour découvrir les habitations aux toits de schiste et le donjon du château d’Estaing. Au bord du Lot, Saint-Côme-d’Olt abrite une église gothique et le manoir des Sirs de Calmont. Ne manquez pas d’y visiter les anciennes  échoppes médiévales.

Village de Conques en Aveyron
Conques, l’un des plus beaux villages de France

Les 10 villages aveyronnais classés parmi Les plus beaux villages de France vous laisseront un souvenir impérissable. Ne tardez pas à les visiter.

Découvrez notre camping situé en Aveyron, le camping La Peyrade.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Les plus beaux villages de France #2 : En Dordogne

Crédit image éditoriale Viaduc de Millau : Shutterstock / Richard Semik