carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Slow Tourism: Discover France aboard the trains of yesteryear

Going on the small railways of France aboard the trains of yesteryear, is an invitation to stroll and contemplation.

Preturn the time, savor the moment and discover the landscapes. Taste the melancholy of village stations, let yourself be surprised by the station master's whistle ... Browse forests and woods, walk along rivers or the ocean. To indulge in a eulogy of slowness for an enchanted parenthesis… This is what the railways of our regions offer. Because the steam trains and electric locomotives of the past have not completely disappeared. To the delight of slow tourism enthusiasts.

Witnesses to a time when time passed less quickly, these trains from our childhood indolently lead travelers to discover preserved territories. Today we invite you to discover some of the most beautiful train routes, classified by region.

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

The Montenvers cogwheel train in Haute-Savoie, you will take you from Chamonix to Montenvers. From its 1913 meters in altitude, the small station opens the doors to grandiose sites. The Mer de Glace, the Drus and the Grandes Jorasses are then within rail reach.

The Panoramic of the Domes takes you to the top of the highest volcano in the chain of puys, the puy de Dôme. A 360 ° C panorama of the dormant volcanoes will amaze you.

Montenvers cog train

Bourgogne-Franche-Comté

In the Doubs, the Coni'Fer can be proud of the title of the highest steam train in France. At an altitude of more than 1000 meters, it connects at a speed of 20 km / h, the Hospitals-Neufs and Fontaine Ronde stations.

Locomotive 241P-17 of the Creusot railways traveled 1 kilometers between 741 and 865. Returned to service in 1949 after 1969 years of restoration, this legendary locomotive now tows tourist steam trains.

Britain

In the Côtes d'Armor, between Paimpol and Pontrieux, the Trieux steam is a journey through Breton history, culture and landscapes. Around the line, many excursions will be available to you. Walk or boat trip, visits to the Roche Jagu estate or the surrounding villages… Another way to discover authentic Brittany, aboard the trains of yesteryear.

Bridges and trains of yesteryear

Centre-Val de Loire

Rillé steam trains meander along Lake Rillé. They cross the woods and groves of the Loire-Anjou-Touraine Regional Natural Park. Once your journey is over, do not forget to visit the majestic Loire châteaux. Saumur, Ussé or Azay-le-Rideau are indeed not far from Rillé.

Corsica

The Corsican railways allow visitors to the Isle of Beauty to explore the region. From the beaches of Calvi, Ajaccio, Bastia and Porto-Vecchio to Corte or Ponte Leccia on the Corsican massif… These breathtaking routes are used by tourists and residents alike.

Eiffel Bridge crossing the Vecchio in Corsica
Eiffel Bridge crossing the Vecchio in Corsica

Grand-Est

In Alsace, the Thur Doller Train, formerly called the Doller Valley Railway, is a tourist and historic railway located in Alsace in the Haut-Rhin. Its steam locomotives towing gondola wagons, flat or covered, connect Cernay-Saint-André station to Sentheim station.

Hauts-de-France

The Baie de Somme railway offers the opportunity to travel at a speed of 25 km / h aboard historic trains, on the former "Réseau des Bains de Mer". Cayeux-sur-Mer, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme and Le Crotoy are among the magnificent destinations of this rail.

Steam locomotive

Normandy

The Cotentin tourist train along the coast at the gates of the Regional Natural Park of the Cotentin and Bessin Marshes. Not far away are Cap de Carteret and Cap du Rozel, which extend over more than 400 hectares of dunes in Hattainville.

New Aquitaine

In the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, the Rhune train set off to storm this mythical summit of the Basque Country. After 35 minutes of travel in this authentic cogwheel train, you will reach the 360 ​​° C panorama accessible from the top of the Rhune. Atlantic, the Pyrenean chain, but also unique flora and fauna await you at the end of your journey.

Old trains: The Rhune train
The Rhune train

Occitania

The 63 kilometers traveled by the Yellow Train in the heart of the Pyrénées-Orientales once had the task of connecting the Catalan highlands to the rest of the department. More than a century ago, it was therefore necessary to dig 19 tunnels and build bridges, the most notable of which continue to amaze those who use them. The Gisclard suspension bridge, for example, rises to 65 meters above the ground.

The yellow train

Pays de la Loire

The Vendée Railway offers 85 unusual walks. The CFV association and its lovers of heritage and ancient techniques, pass on know-how and transport visitors aboard the trains of yesteryear. Steam train, Train Restaurant "Cars of the Grands Express" or Autorail Picasso await you.

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

The Train des Pignes runs four times a day between the cities of Digne-les-Bains and Nice. With this train you will cross and discover in a unique way the Alpes-de-Haute Provence, the Nice hinterland and the Côte d'Azur.

Slow Tourisme : Découvrir la France à bord des trains d’autrefois

Partir sur les petites voies ferrées de France à bord des trains d’autrefois, est une invitation à la flânerie et à la contemplation.

Prendre le temps, savourer l’instant et découvrir les paysages. Goûter à la mélancolie des gares de villages, se laisser surprendre par le sifflet du chef de gare… Parcourir les forêts et les bois, longer les rivières ou l’océan. Se laisser aller à une éloge de la lenteur pour une parenthèse enchantée… C’est ce que proposent les chemins de fer de nos régions. Car les trains à vapeur et les locomotives électriques d’autrefois n’ont pas complètement disparus. Pour le plus grand plaisir des amateurs de slow tourisme.

Témoins d’une époque où le temps filait moins vite, ces trains de notre enfance conduisent les voyageurs avec indolence à la découverte de territoires préservés. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui de découvrir quelques-uns des plus beaux circuits en train, classés par régions.

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Le train à crémaillère du Montenvers en Haute-Savoie, vous conduira de Chamonix à Montenvers. Du haut de ses 1913 mètres d’altitude, la petite gare vous ouvre les portes de sites grandioses. La Mer de Glace, les Drus et les Grandes Jorasses sont alors à portée de rail.

Le Panoramique des Dômes vous emmène quant-à-lui au sommet du plus haut volcan de la chaîne des puys, le puy de Dôme. Un panorama à 360°C sur les volcans endormis vous émerveillera.

Train à crémaillère du Montenvers

Bourgogne-Franche-Comté

Dans le Doubs, le Coni’Fer peut s’enorgueillir du titre de train à vapeur le plus haut de France. À plus de 1000 mètres d’altitude, il relie à une allure de 20km/h, les stations des Hôpitaux-Neufs et de Fontaine Ronde.

La locomotive 241P-17 des chemins de fer du Creusot a parcouru 1 741 865 kilomètres entre 1949 et 1969. Remise en service en 2006 après 13 ans de restauration, cette locomotive de légende tracte désormais des trains à vapeur touristique.

Bretagne

Dans les Côtes d’Armor, entre Paimpol et Pontrieux, la vapeur du Trieux est un voyage à travers l’histoire, la culture et les paysages bretons. Aux alentours de la ligne, de nombreuses excursions s’offriront à vous. Promenade à pied ou en barque, visites du domaine de la Roche Jagu ou des villages alentours… Une autre manière de découvrir la Bretagne authentique, à bord des trains d’autrefois.

Ponts et trains d'autrefois

Centre-Val de Loire

Les trains à vapeur de Rillé serpentent le long du lac de Rillé. Ils traversent les bois et les bosquets du Parc naturel régional Loire-Anjou-Touraine. Une fois votre périple achevé, n’oubliez pas de visiter les majestueux châteaux de la Loire. Saumur, Ussé ou Azay-le-Rideau se trouvent en effet non loin de Rillé.

Corse

Les Chemins de fer de la Corse permettent quant-à-eux aux visiteurs de l’Île de Beauté de parcourir la région. Des plages de Calvi, Ajaccio, Bastia et Porto-Vecchio jusqu’à Corte ou Ponte Leccia sur le massif corse… Ces itinéraires époustouflants sont empruntés par les touristes comme par les résidents.

Pont Eiffel traversant le Vecchio en Corse

Pont Eiffel traversant le Vecchio en Corse

Grand-Est

En Alsace, le Train Thur Doller, autrefois appelé le chemin de fer de la vallée de la Doller, est un chemin de fer touristique et historique situé en Alsace dans le Haut-Rhin. Ses locomotives à vapeur tractant les wagons tombereaux, plats ou couverts, relient la gare de Cernay-Saint-André à la gare de Sentheim.

Hauts-de-France

Le chemin de fer de la Baie de Somme offre l’opportunité de voyager à une allure de 25 km/h à bord de trains historiques, sur l’ancien “Réseau des Bains de Mer”. Cayeux-sur-Mer, Saint-Valery-sur-Somme et Le Crotoy font partie des magnifiques destinations de ce rail.

Locomotive à vapeur

Normandie

Le train touristique du Cotentin longe le littoral aux portes du Parc Naturel Régional des Marais du Cotentin et du Bessin. Non loin se trouvent le cap de Carteret et le cap du Rozel, qui s’étendent sur plus de 400 hectares de dunes à Hattainville.

Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques, le Train de la Rhune part à l’assaut de ce sommet mythique du Pays Basque. Après 35 minutes de parcours dans cet authentique train à crémaillère, vous atteindrez le panorama à 360°C accessible depuis le sommet de la Rhune. L’Atlantique, la chaîne pyrénéenne, mais aussi une flore et une faune uniques vous attendent au terme de votre trajet.

Trains d'autrefois : Le train de la Rhune

Le train de la Rhune

Occitanie

Les 63 kilomètres parcourus par le Train Jaune au coeur des Pyrénées-Orientales avaient autrefois pour mission de relier les hauts plateaux catalans au reste du département. Il y a plus d’un siècle, il fallut donc creuser 19 tunnels et édifier des ponts dont les plus notables continuent d’émerveiller ceux qui les empruntent. Le pont suspendu Gisclard par exemple culmine à 65 mètres au dessus du sol.

Le train jaune

Pays de la Loire

Le Chemin de fer de la Vendée offre 85 balades insolites. L’association CFV et ses amoureux du patrimoine et des techniques anciennes, transmettent les savoir-faire et transportent les visiteurs à bord des trains d’autrefois. Train à Vapeur, Train Restaurant « Voitures des Grands Express » ou Autorail Picasso vous attendent.

Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

Le Train des Pignes relie quatre fois par jour les villes de Digne-les-Bains et Nice. Avec ce train vous traverserez et découvrirez de manière unique les Alpes-de-Haute Provence, l’arrière-pays niçois et la Côte d’Azur.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Au fil de l’eau, sur les plus beaux canaux de France