24 card

Camping La Chatonnière

Located in the north of the Dordogne department, at the gates of the Périgord Limousin Regional Natural Park, the camping combines the softness of the L'isle river, the shadows and lights of the forests, and the richness of the heritage. Opt for the app Alltrails and discover the hikes around the camping. Countless marked hiking trails unfold around you, on foot or by bike (which you can even hire at the camping): Napoleon circuit, Plateau du Guet circuit, Boucle des Ponts circuit. La Boucle, "Papèterie de Vaux", from Payzac, will take you on exciting industrial tourism! Payzac is 16 km from camping. Donkey rides? Contact the Ferme Chêne, de Greletti, 9 km away. On horseback? This equestrian world awaits you in Mialet, 14km away. 

Jumilhac is an architectural treasure. 

You will never forget its roofs, of a powerful slate, nor the complex imbroglio that roofers must master by constantly achieving feats. You will never forget the legend of La Fileuse. You will never forget the dark hours of the Château, nor its exceptional carved wood fireplaces. A theatrical night visit will give even more spice if you are with your family. The furniture is rich, the paintings restored, the location surprisingly central in the village. This will allow you a pleasant stroll in the French gardens (Rendez-vous aux Jardins event in June). You will stroll towards the Pont de la Croix Bancaud, or the Priory of la Faye, to meet artists, artisans and producers of local flavors. The market takes place every Sunday morning in summer.

You will be privileged ...

Because the L'Isle river offers you its small swimming spots, one of which is in the sand near the camping. Fishermen, you will be won over. Within a radius of 15 km, you will discover "spots" of Lisle, Loue, Côle or Dronne, as well as the Lakes of Miallet, or Rouffiac in Périgord: Pike, perch, trout, gudgeon will play with you according to the seasons. Don't forget your fishing cards. If you like swimming, the Rouffiac lake will surprise you with its water skiing and wakeboarding facilities. Unless you join Bussière Galant, (what a seductive name!) Where the Espace Hermeline is developing a beautiful adventure park. Between water, swimming (a tiralo is available), fishing with 2 pontoons, fishing cards available at the reception, and land pleasures, you will be spoiled. A Vélorail, some wagons have electric assistance, will take you on a 12 km tour of discovery of the past, and will sharpen your attention on the preserved flora and fauna. Rushes of Toads, Hairy St. John's Wort, Monkey Orchis, or more simply… And the nettles which mark the course. If you are feeling acrobatic and full of energy, rejoice. The Accrobranche offers several levels, and a zip line will give you unusual sensations! In short, you are now ready for a full day of varied pleasures.

In Jumilhac, the community of towns has thought of all of you, young and old. 

You will learn archery on a hiking trail. Minors must be accompanied, but you will be reassured by a professional. The site of the Castle is also a place where you can try your hand at supervised climbing, or abseiling from the roof of this noble building! The Tourist Office will help you choose and advise you. What an adventure !

A window on the whole Dordogne

Since camping the Chatonnière, of course, you can set off for Périgueux, the Perigord capital, about an hour away. This illustrious city will seduce you with its contrasting neighborhoods. Lose yourself in the Gallo-Roman Périgueux, towards the Vésone tower and the Vesunna museum, the work of Jean Nouvel. Wander through medieval Périgueux, Rue Limogeanne, Place de la Clautre and its picturesque market, observe the magnificence of the Saint Front Cathedral with its 5 domes, walk along the green lane on the banks of L'Isle. Follow a guide for the Périgueux Renaissance. These specialists have the keys to secret doors that open onto moving courtyards, sculptures, spiral staircases… Or… Take the informative, fun and relaxing “Little Tourist Train” for a global view. But Saint Yriex la Perche is a must, a quarter of an hour from Jumilhac, to find Art and History. This intimate little town, whose fame was linked to gold veins and then Kaolin, an essential element of Limoges porcelain. The Ceramics Museum will tell you about this "white gold". Double wealth… Double life… Gold, recognized here since Welsh times, gave birth to a long tradition of gold miners, and it was not until the end of the XNUMXth century that its exploitation was stopped. Shhh… The gold is under your feet! Find this saga at the Galerie de l'Or in Jumilhac, or at the Maison de l'Or in Chalard, near St Yriex. By the way ! Beautiful double swimming pool in St Yriex!        

Wealth of heritage, again ...         

Another beautiful trip can take you to Brantôme and Bourdeilles, passing through Saint Jean de Côle and the cave of Villars, where limestone concretions and rock paintings combine geology and fascinating prehistory. 45 minutes of bucolic landscapes will lead you to this village, one of the most beautiful sites in Périgord Vert. Described as the Venice of Périgord by R. Poincaré, it is entwined by the Dronne and the canal. A charming delight dominated by the unchanging Benedictine abbey, which stretches along the cliff, and is reflected in the water. For an unusual moment, rent a Kayak. The 2000th century, independent abbey bell tower will dominate your walks along the water. And the rock shelter behind the abbey has a surprise in store for you. Bourdeilles, very close, is worth a visit of the Castle, (with audio guide and playbook for the children), as well as a peaceful wandering in the alleys. Bourdeilles and Brantôme respond to the Natura XNUMX program. The waters bear witness to good ecological health: crayfish, lamprey, shad, always fragile, always monitored.

Gastronomy

A strong point of Périgord? Wherever you are, you will be spoiled in the restaurants and tables d'hôtes. You will all be delighted to learn that according to "certain medical studies": Foie gras, duck fat, butter parsley, vines and Bergerac wine… Are excellent for the arteries! So, do not deprive yourself! Feast on local markets. Cul Noir, fed on Périgord chestnuts, has no equal, and commands your respect! The AOC apple and its derivatives, the Bijou de St Yrieix madeleines deserve a moment of attention for your pleasure! You will cross many orchards if you go to the Château de Hautefort (28 km from Jumilhac). The panorama and the castle are unusual and surprising. In summer, the theatrical scenarios, the activities, the French gardens, the park, are “Pluses”. Go down to the Coucou pond. Fishing, walking, picnic), and go up to visit the Medicine Museum at the Hospices, historical monuments. Too. Great day isn't it?

Back to Camping the Chatonnière, you will share convivial moments around, perhaps, a barbecue, to exchange the little secrets of your great visits to Périgord Vert. You will thus become the ambassadors of this sacred region, with many facets.

To prepare your holidays in the Dordogne with confidence, go to the website of our partner SportRIZER, and you can book the sports around camping ! If you would like more information for your stay, do not hesitate to consult the pages Camping, Accommodation et Themes.

Explore our guide for holidays

Articles to help you prepare your holidays!

In a group, with the family or alone

Do not hesitate to ask for a tailor-made quote!

Ask for a quote

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

carte 24

Camping La Chatonnière

Situé dans le Nord du département de la Dordogne, aux portes du Parc Naturel Régional Périgord Limousin, le camping allie douceur de la rivière L’isle, ombres et lumières des forêts, et richesse du patrimoine. Se déroulent autour de vous, d’innombrables sentiers de randonnées balisés, à pied ou à vélo (que vous pourrez même louer au camping) : Circuit Napoléon, circuit du Plateau du Guet, circuit de la Boucle des Ponts. La Boucle, « Papèterie de Vaux », depuis Payzac, vous fera faire du Tourisme industriel passionnant ! Payzac est à 16 km du camping. Des balades à dos d’âne ? Contactez la Ferme Chêne, de Greletti, à 9 km. A cheval ? Ce monde équestre vous attend à Mialet, à 14km. 

Jumilhac est un trésor d’architecture. 

Vous n’oublierez jamais ses toitures, d’une puissante ardoise, ni l’imbroglio complexe que doivent maîtriser les couvreurs en réalisant sans cesse des prouesses. Vous n’oublierez jamais la légende de La Fileuse. Vous n’oublierez jamais les sombres heures du Château, ni ses exceptionnelles cheminées en bois sculpté. Une visite théâtralisée nocturne donnera encore plus de piquant si vous êtes en famille. Le mobilier y est riche, les tableaux restaurés, la situation étonnamment centrale dans le village. Cela vous permettra une agréable flânerie dans les jardins à la Française (manifestation Rendez-vous aux Jardins en Juin). Vous déambulerez vers le Pont de la Croix Bancaud, ou le Prieuré de la Faye, à la rencontre des artistes, artisans et producteurs des saveurs du terroir. Le marché a lieu tous les dimanches matin en été.

Vous serez privilégiés…

Car la rivière L’Isle vous offre ses petits coins de baignade dont une de sable près du camping. Pêcheurs, vous serez conquis. Dans un rayon de 15 km, vous découvrirez des « spots » de Lisle, de la Loue, la Côle ou la Dronne, ainsi que les Plans d’eau de Miallet, ou Rouffiac en Périgord : Brochets, perches, truites, goujons joueront avec vous selon les saisons. N’oubliez pas vos cartes de pêche. Si vous aimez la baignade, le plan d’eau de Rouffiac vous surprendra par ses installations de ski nautique et de wakeboard.  A moins que vous ne rejoigniez Bussière Galant, (quel nom séduisant !) où l’Espace Hermeline développe un beau Parc d’aventures. Entre l’eau, baignade (un tiralo est disponible) , pêche avec 2 pontons, les cartes de pêches possibles à l’accueil, et les plaisirs terrestres, vous serez gâtés. Un Vélorail, certains wagons ont une assistance électrique, vous emmènera sur une tournée de 12 km de découverte du passé, et aiguisera votre attention sur la faune et la flore préservées. Joncs des Crapauds, Millepertuis velu, Orchis singe, ou plus simplement… Et les orties qui jalonnent le parcours. Si vous vous sentez acrobates et plein d’énergie, réjouissez vous. L’Accrobranche propose plusieurs niveaux, et une tyrolienne vous procurera des sensations pour le moins inhabituelles ! En bref, vous voici prêts pour une journée complète de plaisirs variés.

A Jumilhac, la communauté de commune a pensé à vous tous, grands et petits. 

Vous vous initierez au tir à l’arc sur un parcours randonnée. Les mineurs doivent être accompagnés, mais vous serez rassurés par un professionnel. Le site du Château est également un lieu où vous pourrez vous essayer à l’Escalade encadrée, ou à la descente en rappel d’un toit de ce noble édifice! L’Office de Tourisme vous aidera à choisir et vous conseillera. Quelle aventure !

Une fenêtre sur toute la Dordogne

Depuis le camping la Chatonnière, bien sûr, vous pouvez vous lancer vers Périgueux, la capitale périgourdine, à une heure environ. Cette ville illustre vous séduira par ses quartiers contrastés. Perdez vous dans le Périgueux gallo-romain, vers la tour de Vésone et le musée Vesunna, œuvre de Jean Nouvel. Errez dans le Périgueux médiéval, la rue Limogeanne, la place de la Clautre et son marché pittoresque, observez la magnificence de la Cathédrale Saint Front aux 5 coupoles, longez la voie verte sur les bords de L’Isle. Suivez un guide pour le Périgueux Renaissance. Ces spécialistes ont les clés de portes secrètes qui ouvrent sur d’émouvantes cours, sculptures, escaliers à vis… Ou … Prenez le « Petit train touristique » instructif, amusant et reposant, pour une vision globale. Mais Saint Yriex la Perche est un incontournable, à un quart d’heure de Jumilhac, pour retrouver l’Art et l’Histoire. Cette petite ville intime, dont la renommée fut liée aux filons d’or puis du Kaolin, élément essentiel de la porcelaine de Limoges. Le musée de la Céramique vous parlera de cet « or blanc ». Double richesse… Double vie… L’or, reconnu ici depuis l’époque galloise, donna naissance à une longue tradition d’orpailleurs, et ce n’est qu’en fin de XXème siècle qu’on en arrêta l’exploitation. Chut… L’or est sous vos pas ! Retrouvez cette saga à la Galerie de l’or à Jumilhac, ou à la Maison de l’or au Chalard, près de St Yriex. Au fait ! Belle double piscine à St Yriex !        

Richesse du patrimoine, encore…         

Une autre belle virée peut vous mener à Brantôme et Bourdeilles, en passant par Saint Jean de Côle et la grotte de Villars, où concrétions calcaires et peintures rupestres allient géologie et passionnante préhistoire. 45 minutes de paysages bucoliques vous conduiront vers cette bourgade, un des plus beaux sites du Périgord Vert.  Qualifiée de Venise du Périgord par R. Poincaré, elle est enlacée par la Dronne et le canal. Un délice de charme dominé par l’abbaye Bénédictine, immuable, qui s’étire le long de la falaise, et se mire dans l’eau.   Pour un moment insolite, louez un Kayak. Le clocher de l’abbaye, XIème siècle, indépendant, dominera vos promenades au fil de l’eau. Et l’abri sous roches derrière l’abbaye, vous réserve une surprise. Bourdeilles, tout proche, vaut une visite du Château, (avec guide audio et carnet de jeu pour les enfants), ainsi qu’une errance paisible dans les ruelles. Bourdeilles et Brantôme répondent au programme Natura 2000. Les eaux sont le témoin de la bonne santé écologique : Écrevisses, lamproie, aloses, toujours fragiles, toujours surveillés.

La gastronomie

Un point fort du Périgord ? Où que  vous soyez, vous serez gâtés dans les restaurants et tables d’hôtes. Tous vous serez enchantés d’apprendre que selon « certaines études médicales » : Le foie gras, la graisse de canard, la persillade au beurre, les ceps et le vin de Bergerac… Sont excellents pour les artères ! Alors, ne vous privez pas ! Régalez-vous des marchés locaux. Le Cul Noir, nourri aux châtaignes du Périgord n’a pas son pareil, et force votre respect ! La pomme AOC et ses dérivés, les madeleines Bijou de St Yrieix méritent un moment d’attention pour votre plaisir ! Vous traverserez de nombreux vergers si vous allez au Château de Hautefort (28 km de Jumilhac). Le panorama et le château sont inhabituels et surprenants. L’été, les mises en situation théâtrales, les activités, les jardins à la Française, le parc, sont des “Plus”. Descendez à l’étang du Coucou. Lieu de pêche, promenade, piquenique), et remontez visiter le Musée de la Médecine aux Hospices, monuments Historiques. Aussi. Grande journée n’est-ce-pas ?

De retour au Camping la Chatonnière, vous partagerez des moments conviviaux autour , peut-être, d’un barbecue, pour échanger les petits secrets de vos grandes visites du Périgord Vert. Vous deviendrez ainsi, les ambassadeurs de cette région sacrée, aux multiples facettes.

Pour préparer plus en détails votre séjour, rendez-vous pages Camping, Hébergements et Thématiques.

En groupe, en famille ou en solo

N'hésitez pas à demander un devis sur mesure !

Demander un devis