carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

4 invaluable tips for getting started with shore fishing

The next high tides will take place from May 25 to 29, with a maximum coefficient of 103. It's time to finally learn to shore fishing. And there is still time to prepare effectively, before finally giving in to the call of the foreshore.

Embruns, sea air and serenity… Shore fishing is one of the favorite activities of holidaymakers on the Atlantic coast. The treasures left by the ocean at low tide offer anglers multiple opportunities to come home with a well-stocked basket. But finding cockles, knives, spiders and other fish or crustaceans in the sand or rocks is not as easy as it seems. From the Basque Country to Normandy, via Arcachon, the island of Oléron or even Brittany, fishermen on foot must know many tips to make the best fishing. We share with you some of their secrets to learn about shore fishing.

Getting to grips with shore fishing starts with managing safety

To fully savor its exit on the foreshore, the first thing to consider is security. The ocean is unpredictable. But it is always possible to anticipate a certain number of difficulties. This will reduce the risk of an accident. First, find out about the tide times. Watch the time and watch out for variations in relief. This could in fact isolate you in the event of rising waters. Finally, protect yourself against cuts and the cold. And if you are a beginner, or if you do not know an area, let the local fishermen advise you. This will save you from serious trouble.

Equipment

The basic material consists of a bucket or basket, a claw or a rake, rubber boots, a landing net, and possibly neoprene gloves and a small hammer. The more seasoned will sometimes choose a wicker hood, a wide net with a long handle, or a dry suit. To enjoy the foreshore in summer, the equipment is therefore simple and inexpensive. This partly explains the success of this family hobby par excellence. The shore-based fishermen who are the most attentive to the preservation of the environment prefer manual collection.

Tips

By fishing on foot, your patience and your observation skills will be put to the test. At low tide, the seashells live in the sand a few inches from the surface. Watch out for small holes left on the sand, a sign that a shell is located below. Once the holes have been identified, gently rake or dig until the precious reward appears. For knife fishing, place a pinch of coarse salt on the 8-shaped hole left by the animal. Let the knife come out two-thirds, before grabbing it at its base and pulling it out slowly. To flush out some fish and shellfish, do not hesitate to lift the stones and stir the seaweed where beautiful catches may have been hidden.

Shore fishing in Oléron
Shore fishing in Oléron

Regulations

Fishing periods, number of daily catches and size limits are the subject of regulations that all shore-based fishermen must be aware of. The basis of regulation is national. To these common provisions are added local rules which may vary from one region to another. The site Recreational shore fishing lists national regulations, as well as those specific to Picardy estuaries, the Opal Sea, Seine-Maritime, the Norman and Breton Gulfs, the Channel and Calvados, the Côtes d'Armor, the Pays de Morlaix, the harbor of Brest, the Finistère Sud, Morbihan, Pays de la Loire, the Gironde estuary and the Pertuis sea, the Arcachon basin and the Basque Country. Updates are very regular and allow you to keep informed of closings and openings.

“The regulation of recreational fishing on foot is relatively complex and complete and can be done at several levels: community (EC regulations), national (codes, decrees and ministerial decrees), prefectural (departmental and regional prefectures) and municipal (decrees municipal). It mainly concerns the quality of the catches (minimum sizes and health aspects), the quantities fished, as well as the periods, zones and authorized fishing methods. "

At low tide

Getting started with shore fishing requires equipment and expert advice. All you have to do is take the plunge and join the enthusiasts on the foreshore.

4 précieux conseils pour s’initier à la pêche à pied

Les prochaines grandes marées auront lieu du 25 au 29 mai, avec un coefficient maximal de 103. C’est le moment d’enfin s’initier à la pêche à pied. Et il est encore temps de vous préparer efficacement, avant de céder enfin à l’appel de l’estran.

Embruns, air du large et sérénité… La pêche à pied est l’une des activités préférées des vacanciers sur le littoral Atlantique. Les trésors laissés par l’océan à marée basse offrent aux pêcheurs de multiples occasions d’un retour à la maison avec un panier bien garni. Mais dénicher dans le sable ou les rochers les coques, couteaux, araignées et autres poissons ou crustacés, n’est pas si simple qu’il n’y paraît. Du Pays Basque à la Normandie, en passant par Arcachon, l’île d’Oléron ou encore la Bretagne, les pêcheurs à pied doivent connaître de nombreuses astuces pour réaliser les meilleures pêches. Nous vous livrons quelques-uns de leurs secrets pour s’initier à la pêche à pied.

La sécurité

Pour savourer pleinement sa sortie sur l’estran, la première chose à considérer est la sécurité. L’océan est imprévisible, mais il est toujours possible d’anticiper un certain nombre de difficultés. Vous réduirez ainsi le risque d’accident. Dans un premier temps, informez-vous des horaires de marée. Surveillez l’heure et prenez garde aux variations de reliefs qui pourraient vous isoler en cas de montée des eaux. Pour finir, protégez-vous contre les coupures et le froid. Et si vous êtes débutant, ou si vous ne connaissez pas une zone, laissez-vous conseiller par les pêcheurs du coin. Ils vous éviteront peut-être de sérieux ennuis.

Sur l'Estran
Le Croisic à marée basse

L’équipement

Le matériel de base consiste en un seau ou un panier, une griffe ou un râteau, des bottes en caoutchouc, une épuisette, et éventuellement des gants en néoprène et un petit marteau. Les plus aguerris feront parfois le choix d’une hotte en osier, d’un haveneau large à long manche, ou d’une combinaison étanche. Pour profiter de l’estran en été, l’équipement est donc simple et peu onéreux, ce qui explique en partie le succès de ce loisir familial par excellence. Les pêcheurs à pied les plus attentifs à la préservation du milieu privilégient le ramassage manuel.

Les astuces

En pratiquant la pêche à pied, votre patience et vos talents d’observateur seront mis à rude épreuve. À marée basse, les coquillages vivent dans le sable à quelques centimètres de la surface. Soyez attentifs aux petits trous laissés sur le sable, signe qu’une coque se situe en dessous. Une fois les trous identifiés, ratissez ou creusez délicatement jusqu’à ce qu’apparaisse la précieuse récompense. Pour la pêche au couteau, déposer une pincée de gros sel sur le trou en forme de 8 laissé par l’animal. Laissez le couteau sortir au deux tiers, avant de l’attraper à sa base et de le tirer lentement. Pour débusquer  quelques poissons et crustacés, n’hésitez pas à soulever les pierres et remuer le goémon où pourraient s’être cachés de belles prises.

Pêche à pied à Oléron
Pêche à pied à Oléron

La règlementation

Périodes de pêche, nombre de prises quotidiennes et limites de taille, font l’objet d’une réglementation que tout pêcheur à pied se doit de connaître. La base de la réglementation est nationale. À ces dispositions communes s’ajoutent des règles locales qui peuvent varier d’une région à une autre. Le site Pêche à pied de loisirs répertorie la réglementation nationale, ainsi que celles propres aux estuaires picards, à la mer d’Opale, la Seine-Maritime, les Golfes normand et breton, la Manche et le Calvados, les Côtes d’Armor, le Pays de Morlaix, la rade de Brest, le finistère Sud, le Morbihan, les Pays de la Loire, l’estuaire de la Gironde et la mer des Pertuis, le Bassin d’Arcachon et le Pays Basque. Les mises à jour sont très régulières et permettent de se tenir informé des fermetures et ouvertures.

“La réglementation de la pêche de loisir à pied est relativement complexe et complète et peut se faire à plusieurs niveaux : communautaire (règlements CE), nationale (codes, décrets et arrêtés ministériels), préfectorale (préfectures départementales et régionales) et municipale (arrête municipaux). Elle concerne principalement la qualité des prises (tailles minimales et aspects sanitaires), les quantités pêchées, ainsi que les périodes, zones et modes de pêche autorisés.”

À marée basse

S’initier à la pêche à pied nécessite du matériel et des conseils avisés. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à franchir le pas, et à rejoindre les passionnés sur l’estran.

La rédaction

Crédit image Le Croisic : Shutterstock éditorial/Delpixel

Choisissez votre destination pour un séjour Camping & Pêche à pied réussi.

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Évadez-vous pour un week-end de pêche à pied à l’occasion des grandes marées