carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The Lilleau des Niges reserve, a paradise for birds on the Île de Ré

In the heart of the Île de Ré, inside the large bay of Fier d'Ars, nestles a wild paradise for birds, the Lilleau des Niges reserve.

On the old salt marshes of Fier d'Ars, nature has gradually regained its rights. The 220 hectare site has become a sanctuary for hundreds of species of birds, the Lilleau des Niges reserve. Because the Île de Ré is located on one of the main migration routes in Europe. She is " hyphen essential between the Arctic and Africa ”. More than 300 species of migratory and sedentary birds have been listed there since 1980. It is on this date that the site was classified. National Nature Reserve. A real ornithological treasure that the League for the Protection of Birds preserves with ardor.

Lilleau des Niges Reserve
Lilleau de Niges Reserve

Inside the reserve, a labyrinth of freely accessible trails allows you to discover the rich biodiversity of the places. The House of the Fier installed in a former salt shed, intends to introduce visitors to the flora and fauna of the region. It also puts the spotlight on the multiple landscapes that exist on the Île de Ré. The dunes, the beaches, the pine and oak forests, the marshes and mudflats, without forgetting the foreshore and the joys of shore fishing ! The primary objective of the Maison du Fier is to educate visitors about the fragility of this ecosystem, which can be discovered in all seasons.

During the nesting period

During nesting, the marshes of Fier host numerous bird colonies. This is how the white stilt, the common tern, the elegant avocet, the Belon shelduck, or even the blue throat are neighbors while they nest. The large variegated duck has become an emblem of the reserve.

White stilt
White stilt

The swamp in spring

It is in spring that the marsh shelters the most species. Birds find there the peace of mind they need to raise their young. All the species that have nested on the edge of the marsh are of course found there. But we can also see the marsh harrier, the little egret or the gray heron.

Marsh Harrier
Marsh Harrier

Mudflats in autumn and winter

At low marsh, mudflats appear. The birds find plants, worms, shellfish and crustaceans there. New species populate the reserve during these two seasons. Visitors will be able to admire the white spoonbill, the great cormorant, the brant, the northern pintail, the sandpiper, the curlew and many others ...

Dunlin
Dunlin

As you will have understood, to discover the Île de Ré and its many facets, a single visit will not be enough. As Christine Bridault says in her book dedicated to The art of living on the Île de Ré, “Ré does not open up at first glance. A holidaymaker in a hurry will remember only one or two postcard ports, a few white villages with flower-lined streets, a warm sea and austere marshland landscapes where nothing can stop the eye. What a mistake ! Each of these harbors has a history fueled by hard battles. Each village hides treasures. "

If you plan to join the lovers of this Charente island for a getaway, many campings, cottages, hotels and guest houses await you. And don't forget your binoculars and your camera.

La réserve de Lilleau des Niges, un paradis pour oiseaux sur de l’Île de Ré

Au coeur de l’Île de Ré, à l’intérieur de la grande baie du Fier d’Ars, se niche un paradis sauvage pour les oiseaux, la réserve de Lilleau des Niges.

Sur les anciens marais salants du Fier d’Ars, la nature a peu à peu repris ses droits. Le site de 220 hectares est devenu un sanctuaire pour des centaines d’espèces d’oiseaux, la réserve de Lilleau des Niges. Car l’Île de Ré est située sur l’une des principales voies de migration d’Europe. Elle est “un trait d’union indispensable entre l’Arctique et l’Afrique”. Plus de 300 espèces d’oiseaux migrateurs et sédentaires y ont d’ailleurs été répertoriés depuis 1980. C’est à cette date que le site a été classé Réserve Naturelle Nationale. Un véritable trésor ornithologique que la Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux préserve avec ardeur.

Réserve de Lilleau des Niges

Réserve de Lilleau de Niges

À l’intérieur de la réserve, un dédale de sentiers en accès libre permet de découvrir la richesse de la biodiversité de lieux. La Maison du Fier installée dans un ancien hangar à sel, se propose de faire découvrir aux visiteurs la faune et la flore rétaise. Elle met également à l’honneur les multiples paysages qui se déclinent sur l’Île de Ré. Les dunes, les plages, les forêts de pins et de chênes, les marais et vasières, sans oublier l’estran et les joies de la pêche à pied ! L’objectif premier de la Maison du Fier est de sensibiliser les visiteurs à la fragilité de cet écosystème, qui se découvre en toutes saisons.

Pendant la période de nidification

Pendant la nidification, les marais de Fier accueillent de nombreuses colonies d’oiseaux. C’est ainsi que l’échasse blanche, le sterne pierregarin, l’avocette élégante, le tadorne de Belon, ou encore la gorge-bleue à miroir sont voisins le temps de nicher. Le gros canard bariolé est quant-à-lui devenu emblème de la réserve.

Échasse blanche

Échasse blanche

Le marais au printemps

C’est au printemps que le marais abrite le plus d’espèces. Les oiseaux y trouvent la quiétude nécessaire pour élever leurs petits. Toutes les espèces ayant nidifié aux abords du marais s’y retrouvent bien sûr. Mais on peut également apercevoir le busard des roseaux, l’aigrette garzette ou encore le héron cendré.

Busard des roseaux

Busard des roseaux

Les vasières en automne et en hiver

À marais basse, les vasières apparaissent. Les aux oiseaux y débusquent végétaux, vers, coquillages et crustacés. De nouvelles espèces peuplent la réserve pendant ces deux saisons. Les visiteurs pourront ainsi admirer la spatule blanche, le grand cormoran, la bernache cravant, le canard pilet, le bécasseau variable, le courlis cendré et bien d’autres…

Bécasseau variable

Bécasseau variable

Vous l’aurez compris, pour découvrir l’Île de Ré et ses multiples facettes, une seule visite ne suffira pas. Comme le dit Christine Bridault dans son ouvrage dédié à L’art de vivre à l’Île de Ré, “Ré ne se livre pas au premier regard. Un vacancier pressé n’en retiendra qu’un ou deux ports de carte postale, quelques villages blancs aux rues fleuries, une mer tiède et des paysages austères de marais où rien n’arrête le regard. Quelle erreur ! Chacun de ces havres a une histoire nourrie de rudes batailles. Chaque village cache des trésors.”

Si vous projetez de rejoindre les amoureux de cette île charentaise le temps d’une escapade, de nombreux campings, gites, hôtels et maisons d’hôtes vous attendent. Et n’oubliez surtout pas vos jumelles et votre appareil photo.

La rédaction