carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discover one of the 45 French sites classified as World Heritage

Did you know that forty-five cultural or natural sites French are on the UNESCO World Heritage List? The inclusion of a place on this exceptional list is recognition of its outstanding universal value. It makes it worthy of being preserved as a heritage of humanity.

Dearly July 2019, the distant French southern lands and seas joined the 44 other French cultural or natural sites benefiting from prestigious label awarded by the World Heritage Committee. They are the latest in a French list inaugurated in 1979. The Mont Saint Michel, Chartres cathedral, the basilica of Vézelay, The Palace of Versailles, or the prehistoric sites of the Vézère valley were the first to register.

Among the emblematic French sites, 39 are recognized for their cultural heritage. 5 are for their Natural Heritage. As for the Pyrénées-Mont Perdu site, it receives mixed recognition. Cultural, in that it presents "invaluable testimonies on the European society of yesteryear". Natural, due to “the presence of two of the largest and deepest canyons in Europe on the southern slope, and three important cirques on the northern slope”.

Demanding selection criteria

To be included in the World Heritage List, sites must have outstanding universal value. They must also satisfy at least one of the ten selection criteria. These criteria include, for example, representing a masterpiece of human creative genius. Or to bring an exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition ... Or finally to represent areas of exceptional natural beauty and aesthetic importance.

The national indicative list of UNESCO World Heritage

To have the honor of appearing one day on the list of sites classified as World Heritage, it is first necessary to ask that the place appear on the national indicative list. Indeed, “the World Heritage Committee cannot study a nomination for inscription on the World Heritage List, if the property in question is not already on the Tentative List of the State Party”. In France, thirty-seven sites appear on the indicative list. This is how the castle of Vaux-le-Vicomte, the City of Carcassonne and its sentinel mountain castles, the Camargue, the Mediterranean shore of the Pyrenees, the Marquesas Islands, the landing beaches, the Mont-Blanc massif or again the salt marshes of Guérande, are there for the filing of an application for World Heritage listing.

World Heritage: Exceptional sites so close to you

To visit the lagoons of New Caledonia, the pitons, cirques and ramparts of Reunion Island, the French Southern Lands and Seas, or even the island of Taputapuātea, you will have to travel the globe. But to admire the forty-one other classified sites, all you have to do is explore the roads and paths of France. This exceptional heritage is so close. Do not wait any longer to discover the French classified sites.

While waiting for your departure and to help you in your choice, stay connected. In the weeks and months to come, we will make you discover one by one the diversity and the originality of these extraordinary places.

Découvrez l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial

Saviez-vous que quarante-cinq sites culturels ou naturels français figurent sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO ? L’inscription d’un lieu sur cette liste d’exception est une reconnaissance de sa valeur universelle exceptionnelle. Elle le rend digne d’être préservé comme patrimoine de l’humanité.

Début juillet 2019, les lointaines Terres et mers australes françaises ont rejoint les 44 autres sites culturels ou naturels français bénéficiant du prestigieux label remis par le Comité du patrimoine mondial. Elles sont les petites dernières d’une liste française inaugurée en 1979. Le Mont-Saint-Michel, la cathédrale de Chartres, la basilique de Vézelay, le château de Versailles, ou encore les sites préhistoriques de la vallée de Vézère ont été les premiers inscrits.

Parmi les sites emblématiques français, 39 sont reconnus pour leur patrimoine culturel. 5 le sont pour leur patrimoine naturel. Le site Pyrénées-Mont Perdu à quant-à-lui une reconnaissance mixte. Culturel, en ce qu’il présente “des témoignages inestimables sur la société européenne d’autrefois”. Naturel, en raison de “la présence de deux des canyons les plus grands et les plus profonds d’Europe sur le versant sud, et de trois cirques importants sur le versant nord”.

Des critères de sélection exigeants

Pour figurer sur la liste du patrimoine mondial, les sites doivent avoir une valeur universelle exceptionnelle. Ils doivent également satisfaire au moins à l’un des dix critères de sélection. Parmi ces critères, figurent par exemple le fait de représenter un chef-d’œuvre du génie créateur humain. Ou encore d’apporter un témoignage exceptionnel sur une tradition culturelle… Ou enfin de représenter des aires d’une beauté naturelle et d’une importance esthétique exceptionnelles.

La liste indicative nationale

Pour avoir l’honneur de figurer un jour sur la liste des sites classés au Patrimoine Mondial, il convient tout d’abord de demander à ce que le lieu figure sur la liste indicative nationale. En effet, “le Comité du patrimoine mondial ne peut étudier une proposition d’inscription sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, si le bien considéré ne figure pas déjà sur la Liste indicative de l’État partie”. En France, trente-sept sites figurent sur la liste indicative. C’est ainsi que le château de Vaux-le-Vicomte, la Cité de Carcassonne et ses châteaux sentinelles de montagne, la Camargue, le rivage méditerranéen des Pyrénées, les îles Marquises, les plages du débarquement, le massif du Mont-Blanc ou encore les Marais salants de Guérande, s’y trouvent en vue du dépôt d’une demande d’inscription au Patrimoine Mondial.

Des sites d’exception si proches de vous

Pour visiter les lagons de Nouvelle-Calédonie, les pitons, cirques et remparts de l’île de la Réunion, les Terres et mers australes françaises, ou encore l’île de Taputapuātea, il vous faudra parcourir le globe. Mais pour admirer les quarante-et-un autres sites classés, il vous suffira de sillonner les routes et chemins de l’Hexagone. Ce patrimoine exceptionnel est si proche. N’attendez plus pour partir à la découverte des sites classés français.

En attendant votre départ et pour vous aider dans votre choix, restez connectés. Dans les semaines et mois à venir nous vous ferons découvrir un à un la diversité et l’originalité de ces lieux extraordinaires.

La rédaction