carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 3: Mont Saint-Michel and its bay

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the first sites recognized in 1979, Mont Saint-Michel and its bay.

Between Normandy and Brittany, the Mont Saint Michel rises to the sky and lives to the rhythm of the tides. Surnamed the "Wonder of the West", the bay hosts the rocky islet topped with a Gothic-style Benedictine abbey. It is recognizable among a thousand thanks to its singular silhouette. The site is a real jewel of the French coast. The remarkable alliance of the natural site and the architecture, the coexistence of the abbey and the fortified village on the confined space that constitutes the islet, but also the rich history of medieval Christianity, have made the Mont Saint-Michel one of the first French sites to have been recognized by UNESCO, as being bearer of outstanding universal value.

The history of Mont Saint-Michel

It was in 709 that the Bishop of Avranches had the first church built in honor of the Archangel Michael. The Duke of Normandy will install there a community of Benedictines in 966. The construction of the abbey as we know it today, then spread from the Romanesque period of the XNUMXth century until the XNUMXth century. But it was the builders of the Gothic period who gave him its slender and airy look, as well as its openwork volumes. By adapting to a very difficult natural site, the architects and companions of the different centuries have achieved a technical and artistic tour de force. Military constructions and the development of the walls carried out during the Hundred Years War, will allow the Mount to withstand a siege of more than 30 years.

Fortified village of Mont Saint-Michel

The turbulent history of the place, which became a prison during the Revolution and under the Empire, led to numerous degradations. But the high-quality restorations carried out in the 1897th century finally made it possible to restore the abbey to its former prestige. The spire will be added in XNUMX.

Mont Saint-Michel today

The abbey has always been a major place of pilgrimage for the Christian West. But it is also one of the centers of medieval culture where many manuscripts were produced and preserved. If the Mount and its bay remain today one of the stages of Paths of Santiago de Compostela for pilgrims from northern Europe, it must be recognized that they are mainly layman tourists who now tread the alleys of the village. Mont-Saint-Michel and its bay are also the most popular tourist site in Normandy. It is even one of the ten most visited sites in France, with nearly two and a half million visitors each year.

Mont Saint-Michel is its visitors

An exceptionnel naturel site

This place conceals unique architectural and heritage treasures. But it is also an exceptional natural site, subject to the highest tides in Europe. The landscapes, the colors and the emotions are always there when the so recognizable silhouette of Mont Saint-Michel rises on the horizon. In 1886, Gustave Flaubert described this idyllic landscape in his book By songs and by strikes.

“The road from Pontorson to Mont-Saint-Michel is cheerful because of the sands. The empty horizon is prolonged, spreads out and ends up melting its chalky grounds in the yellow color of the beach… Tongues of sand, long, flattened one on the other, wrinkle like a wave under great layers … The waves are so far away, so far away that we can no longer see them. "

Discover the Mont Saint Michel as you will certainly never see it… John Williams has received the authorizations to film the Mount during the containment period of April 2020.

In this video, it is a landscape and a village deserted by its visitors which are offered to the spectators.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Patrimoine Mondial #3 : Le Mont Saint-Michel et sa baie

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des premiers sites reconnus en 1979, le Mont Saint-Michel et sa baie.

Entre Normandie et Bretagne, le Mont Saint-Michel s’élève vers le ciel et vit au rythme des marées. Surnommée la “Merveille de l’Occident”, la baie accueillant cet îlot rocheux est coiffé d’une abbaye bénédictine de style gothique à la silhouette singulière. Le site est un véritable joyau du littoral français. L’alliance remarquable du site naturel et de l’architecture, la coexistence de l’abbaye et du village fortifié sur l’espace resserré que constitue l’îlot, mais aussi la riche histoire du christianisme médiévale, ont fait du Mont Saint-Michel l’un des premiers sites français à avoir été reconnu par l’UNESCO, comme étant porteur d’une valeur universelle exceptionnelle.

Un peu d’histoire

C’est en 709 que l’évêque d’Avranches fit construire la première église en l’honneur de l’archange Michel. Le Duc de Normandie y installera une communauté de bénédictins en 966. La construction de l’abbaye telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui, s’est ensuite étalée de l’époque romane du XIème siècle jusqu’au XVIème siècle. Mais ce sont les bâtisseurs de l’époque gothique qui lui donneront son allure élancée et aérienne, ainsi que ses volumes ajourés. En s’adaptant à un site naturel très difficile, les architectes et compagnons des différents siècles ont réalisé un tour de force technique et artistique. Des constructions militaires et le développement des murailles réalisés lors de la guerre de cent ans, permettront au Mont de résister à un siège de plus de 30 ans.

Village fortifié du Mont Saint-Michel

L’histoire mouvementée du lieu devenu prison pendant la Révolution et sous l’Empire engendrera de nombreuses dégradations. Mais les restaurations de grande qualité réalisées au XIXème siècle ont finalement permis de rendre à l’abbaye son prestige d’antan. La flèche sera quant-à-elle ajoutée en 1897.

Le Mont Saint-Michel aujourd’hui

Depuis toujours, l’abbaye est un lieu de pèlerinage majeur de l’Occident chrétien. Mais il est aussi un des centres de la culture médiévale où furent produits et conservés de nombreux manuscrits. Si le Mont et sa baie demeurent aujourd’hui l’une des étapes des Chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle pour les pèlerins du Nord de l’Europe, il faut bien reconnaître que ce sont principalement des touristes profanes qui foulent désormais les ruelles du village. Le Mont-Saint-Michel et sa baie constituent d’ailleurs le site touristique le plus prisé de Normandie. Il est même l’un des dix sites les plus fréquentés de France, avec près de deux millions et demi de visiteurs chaque année.

Le Mont Saint-Michel est ses visiteurs

Un site naturel exceptionnel

Ce lieu recèle des trésors architecturaux et patrimoniaux uniques. Mais il est également un site naturel exceptionnel, soumis au plus grandes marées d’Europe. Les paysages, les couleurs et les émotions sont toujours au rendez-vous quand s’élève sur l’horizon la silhouette si reconnaissable du Mont Saint-Michel. En 1886, Gustave Flaubert décrivait d’ailleurs ce paysage idyllique dans son ouvrage Par les chants et par les grèves.

“La route de Pontorson au Mont-Saint-Michel est riante à cause des sables. L’horizon vide se prolonge, s’étale et finit par fondre ses terrains crayeux dans la couleur jaune de la plage… Des langues de sable, longues, aplaties l’une sur l’autre, se rident comme une onde sous de grandes couches… Les flots sont si loin, si reculés qu’on ne les voit plus.”

Découvrez le Mont Saint-Michel comme vous ne le verrez certainement jamais… John Williams a reçu les autorisations pour filmer le Mont pendant la période de confinement d’avril 2020.

Dans cette vidéo, c’est un paysage et un village désertés de ses visiteurs qui s’offrent aux spectateurs.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO