carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 2: Discover Chartres Cathedral

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the first sites recognized in 1979, the Notre-Dame de Chartres Cathedral.

Situated in the heart of the historic district from Chartres to Eure-et-Loire, Notre-Dame de Chartres Cathedral is one of the most representative French monuments of Gothic architecture. It would also be the best preserved Gothic cathedral in France. Its vast nave in the purest ogival style, its carved porches from the middle of the XNUMXth century, as well as the colored stained glass windows from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, make this cathedral an exceptional masterpiece.

Chartres Cathedral

The majestic building is a landmark in the history of medieval architecture. He was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List for three reasons. Having been built quite quickly, the cathedral is characterized by the unity of its architecture and its decor. This makes her a symbol, but also an example of Gothic architecture. The cathedral was also a source of inspiration for the builders of churches in France, and even in Europe.

The history of Chartres Cathedral

Since the XNUMXth century, no less than five religious buildings have been erected on the site of the current cathedral. Aventine Cathedral, destroyed in 350 by the Visigoths. A second sanctuary destroyed in 858 by the Danish Vikings. Then the Saint-Lubin chapel, set on fire in the 30th century… In the 1194th century, it was lightning that also caused a destructive fire. Bishop Fulbert will then build a Romanesque-style building. The current Cathedral will finally be built at the beginning of the XNUMXth century in less than XNUMX years. It will be built on the ruins of this Romanesque cathedral, also destroyed in a fire in XNUMX.

A monumental structure with multiple ornaments

At a height of 51 meters, this cathedral has the shape of a Latin cross with a basilica nave, and has five rib-vaulted bays. The 650 m2 of the choir makes it the largest in France. 3500 statues and nine sculpted portals adorn the building. The diameter of the large rose window is larger than those of the transept of Notre-Dame de Paris. The 2600 m2 of stained-glass windows in the cathedral are considered to be one of the most complete and best-preserved sets of medieval times. 9000 biblical and historical figures are represented in the cathedral.

Carved portal Chartres

Chartres cathedral today

Nowadays, Notre-Dame de Chartres cathedral is still considered a great place of pilgrimage. Sacred music concerts, masses and celebrations are organized there very regularly. Visitors can also benefit from the tour of the towers and thus admire the magnificent view which dominates Chartres and the Beauce plain. Administered by the Center des monuments nationaux and the city of Chartres, the various players are mobilizing to preserve the site. The next challenge is now to ensure the harmony of the building in the landscape, at a time when the pressure of urban development is increasing.

Sunset over Chartres

To prepare for your next visit to Chartres, discover this report on Chartres Cathedral.

Patrimoine Mondial #2 : Découvrez la Cathédrale de Chartres

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des premiers sites reconnus en 1979, la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Chartres.

Située au coeur du quartier historique de Chartres en Eure-et-Loire, la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Chartres est l’un des monuments français les plus représentatifs de l’architecture gothique. Elle serait d’ailleurs la cathédrale gothique la mieux conservée de France. Sa vaste nef du plus pur style ogival, ses porches sculptés du milieu du XIIe siècle, ainsi que les vitraux colorés des XIIe et XIIIe siècles, font de cette cathédrale un chef-d’œuvre exceptionnel.

Le majestueux édifice a fait date dans l’histoire de l’architecture médiévale. Il a été inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO pour trois raisons. Ayant été bâtie assez rapidement, la cathédrale se caractérise par l’unité de son architecture et de son décor. Cela fait d’elle un symbole, mais aussi un exemple de l’architecture gothique. La cathédrale a par ailleurs été une source d’inspiration pour les bâtisseurs des églises de France, et même d’Europe.

Cathédrale de Chartres

Un peu d’histoire

Depuis le IVème siècle, pas moins de cinq bâtiments religieux ont été édifiés sur l’emplacement de l’actuelle cathédrale. La cathédrale d’Aventin, détruite en 350 par les Wisigoths, un deuxième sanctuaire détruit en 858 par les vikings danois. Puis la chapelle Saint-Lubin, incendiée au Xème siècle… Au XIème siècle, c’est la foudre qui provoquera également un incendie destructeur. L’évèque Fulbert fera alors bâtir un édifice de style roman. La Cathédrale actuelle sera finalement édifiée au début du XIIIème siècle en moins de 30 ans, sur les ruines de cette cathédrale romane, également détruite lors d’un incendie en 1194.

Une structure monumentale aux multiples ornements

D’une hauteur de 51 mètres, cette cathédrale a la forme d’une croix latine avec nef basilicale, et comporte cinq travées voutées d’ogives. Les 650 m2 du choeur font de lui le plus étendu de France. 3500 statues et neuf portails sculptés ornent l’édifice. Le diamètre de la grande rosace est plus important que celles du transept de Notre-Dame de Paris. Les 2600 m2 de vitraux de la cathédrale sont considérés comme l’un des ensembles les plus complets et les mieux préservés de l’époque médiévale. 9000 personnages bibliques et historiques sont représentés dans la cathédrale.

Portail sculpté Chartres

La cathédrale de Chartres aujourd’hui

De nos jours, la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Chartres est toujours considérée comme un grand lieu de pèlerinage. Concerts de musique sacrée, messes et célébrations y sont organisés très régulièrement. Les visiteurs peuvent également bénéficier de la visite des tours et admirer ainsi la magnifique vue qui domine sur Chartres et la plaine de Beauce. Administrée par le Centre des monuments nationaux et la ville de Chartres, les différents acteurs se mobilisent pour préserver le site. Le prochain défi est désormais de veiller à l’harmonie du bâtiment dans le cadre paysager, à une époque où la pression de l’aménagement urbain est de plus en plus forte.

Coucher de soleil sur Chartres

Pour préparer votre prochaine visite à Chartres, découvrez ce reportage sur la cathédrale de Chartres.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO