carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 1: The basilica and the hill of Vézelay

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as UNESCO World Heritage, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We begin this series with the first site recognized in 1979, the basilica and the hill of Vézelay.

C 'is in the heart of Burgundy that rises the hill of Vézelay capped of its typical village, its monastery and the Sainte-Marie-Madeleine basilica. This high place of Christianity from the Middle Ages remains today an important pilgrimage site on the road to Saint Jacques de Compostela. The hill and the abbey of Vézelay appear on the UNESCO World Heritage List, because the building represents "a masterpiece of human creative genius". It is also associated with events, faith and works "of outstanding universal significance".

A little history

Shortly after its foundation in the 1146th century, the monastery of Vézelay acquired the relics of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine. It then became a place of pilgrimage. In 1190, Bernard de Clairvaux preached the Second Crusade there. Richard Coeur-de-Lion and Philippe-Auguste met there at the start of the third crusade in XNUMX. The Sainte-Madeleine basilica, erected in the XNUMXth century, will become a masterpiece of Burgundian Romanesque art. Indeed, its architecture, its capitals and its sculpted portal placed between the nave and the narthex, are emblematic.

Vézelay Abbey

But the glorious era of Vézelay will gradually come to an end. The Hundred Years War and the Wars of Religion will continue to weaken the city. Basilica will ultimately be saved much later by Prosper Merimee. He will also entrust the restoration of the building to the young architect. Viollet-le-Duc. Since 1993, the monastic fraternities of Jerusalem have been in charge of the spiritual animation of the basilica. They celebrate the liturgy there three times a day.

Vézelay today

The charming village of Vézelay clinging to its hill has retained its authenticity. Magnificent medieval houses can be discovered around the alleys and the main street. Several contemporary authors have found inspiration in the heart of this unspoiled landscape. At the Zervos museum, it is possible to admire works by Calder, Miro and Max Ernst. In August, sacred music concerts resonate in the heart of the basilica, which is today the most visited monument in Burgundy with more than 800 visitors per year, far in front of the basilica of Paray-le-Monial and the Hospices de Beaune.

Vézelay

A gastronomic and oenological heritage

If history buffs are thrilled in Vézelay, wine and good food lovers will find what they are looking for on the “eternal hill”. The Bourgogne Vézelay appellation is booming. Passionate winegrowers open their doors to you to discover elegant wines. Many restaurants offer a variety of dishes in the purest Burgundian tradition. Every Wednesday from May to October, a magnificent market awaits you and offers local products for direct sale.

To choose the hill and the abbey of Vézelay for your holidays, it means choosing authenticity and tranquility. It is immersing yourself in a fascinating history, while savoring the wine, agricultural and culinary treasures of a region which has preserved its identity over time.

Patrimoine Mondial #1 : La basilique et la colline de Vézelay

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous commençons cette série avec le premier site reconnu en 1979, la basilique et la colline de Vézelay.

C’est au coeur de la Bourgogne que s’élève la colline de Vézelay coiffée de son village typique, de son monastère et de la basilique Sainte-Marie-Madeleine. Ce haut lieu de la chrétienté du Moyen-Âge demeure aujourd’hui encore un site de pèlerinage important sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. La colline et l’abbaye de Vézelay figurent sur la liste du patrimoine mondiale de l’UNESCO, car l’édifice représente “un chef-d’œuvre du génie créateur humain”. Il est par ailleurs associé à des événements, une foi et des œuvres “ayant une signification universelle exceptionnelle”.

Un peu d’histoire

Peu après sa fondation au IXème siècle, le monastère de Vézelay fit l’acquisition des reliques de Sainte-Marie-Madeleine. Il devint alors un lieu de pèlerinage. En 1146, Bernard de Clairvaux y prêcha la deuxième croisade. Richard Cœur-de-Lion et Philippe-Auguste s’y retrouvèrent quant-à-eux au départ de la troisième croisade en 1190. La basilique Sainte-Madeleine érigée au XIIème siècle, deviendra un chef d’œuvre de l’art roman bourguignon. En effet, son architecture, ses chapiteaux et son portail sculpté placé entre la nef et le narthex, sont emblématiques.

Abbaye de Vézelay

Mais l’époque glorieuse de Vézelay prendra fin peu à peu. La guerre de cent ans et les guerres de religions continueront d’affaiblir la ville. La basilique sera finalement sauvée bien plus tard par Prosper Mérimée. Il confiera d’ailleurs la restauration de l’édifice au jeune architecte Viollet-le-Duc. Depuis 1993, les Fraternités monastiques de Jérusalem ont en charge l’animation spirituelle de la basilique. Ils y célèbrent trois fois par jour la liturgie.

Vézelay aujourd’hui

Le charmant village de Vézelay accroché à sa colline a su conserver son authenticité. De magnifiques maisons médiévales se découvrent au détour des ruelles et de la rue principale. Plusieurs auteurs contemporains ont trouvé l’inspiration au coeur de ce paysage préservé. Au musée Zervos, il est possible d’admirer des oeuvres de Calder, Miro et Max Ernst. En août, les concerts de musique sacrée résonnent au coeur de la basilique, qui est aujourd’hui le monument le plus visité de Bourgogne avec plus de 800 000 visiteurs par an, loin devant la basilique de Paray-le-Monial et les Hospices de Beaune.

Vézelay

Un patrimoine gastronomique et oenologique

Si les amateurs d’histoire sont comblés à Vézelay, les amoureux de vins et de bonne table trouveront leur bonheur sur la “colline éternelle”. L’appellation Bourgogne Vézelay est en plein essor. Les viticulteurs passionnés vous ouvrent leurs portes pour vous faire découvrir des vins élégants. De nombreux restaurants proposent une diversité de plats dans la plus pure tradition bourguignonne. Tous les mercredis de mai à octobre, un magnifique marché vous attend et propose les produits du terroir en vente directe.

Choisir la colline et l’abbaye de Vézelay pour ses vacances, c’est choisir l’authenticité et la quiétude. C’est s’imprégner d’une histoire passionnante, tout en savourant les trésors viticoles, agricoles et culinaires d’une région qui a su préserver son identité au fil du temps.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO