49 card

Camping Au Bord de Loire

A place, a story

Gennes is located at the junction of two ancient Roman roads, one coming from Chênehutte and heading towards Brissac, and the other heading towards Doué. It was an important Gallo-Roman agglomeration. In the Middle Ages, its territory came under the lord of Trèves, and that of La Harielle and Joreau for Saint-Vérin, and that of Sous-le-Puy for Saint-Eusèbe.

Several monuments which attest to its past are to be visited in and around the town.

  • The troglodyte shelters of Bouchet, the Cour d'Avort and the Forest
  • The castle of Milly, castle site of Milly-le-Meugon
  • The presence of several dolmens and other neolithic megaliths: The forest dolmen, the covered stone dolmen, the Madeleine dolmen, the Pierre Longue menhir, the standing stone known as Pierre Longue du Bouchet
  • Saint-Eusèbe church with memorial to soldiers killed in the fighting in June 1940, Saint-Vétérin church, Saint-Pierre de Milly church 
  • A farm, rue de l'Ancienne-Mairie, from the XVIe, XIXe and XXe centuries
  • The mansions of Bouchet (XVe-XXe), Mardron (XIIe-XVIe), Sarreau (XVIe-XXe)
  • The Sarré mill, a XNUMXth century water mille on the Avort stream
  • The remains of a Gallo-Roman nymphaeum, on the right bank of the Avort stream
  • The Pont de Gennes, scene of fighting in June 1940 between the German troops and the cadets of the Saumur cavalry school supported by Algerian skirmishers 
  • The Gallo-Roman theater-amphitheater of Châtaigniers 

Regional, national and international influence!

Its territory is located in the Loire Valley area, between Sully-sur-Loire and Chalonnes, registered on the UNESCO World Heritage List.. The Loire Valley, from Sully-sur-Loire (45) to Chalonnes-sur-Loire (49), has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since November 30, 2000. This international recognition both protects and enhances an exceptional cultural landscape along the Loire, the longest river in France. The Loire Valley bears witness to the interactions between people and their environment, over two thousand years of history. It is remarkable for the quality of its architectural heritage, its historic towns and for its world-famous castles. This landscape also illustrates the influence of Renaissance and Enlightenment ideals on thought and creation in Western Europe. 

A prodigious nature

When you stay at camping At the edge of the Loire, you will be in the heart of a natural setting where the Loire is a “queen”. The Loire is a lively and majestic river that crosses 12 departments and covers around 1 kilometers from its source in Ardèche. The history of the territories it crosses, of the landscapes and of the people, is closely linked to it. The omnipresence of its water has given birth to green landscapes sometimes favored by the mild climate, sometimes punctuated by rocks, valleys, or vineyards and forests. Over the rising and falling levels, the river and its rivers deposited their sediments in the valley, creating a mosaic of soils, some of which, rich in silt, are particularly fertile. This wealth has enabled the cultivation of fruits, vegetables, flowers, etc. But also the development of animal husbandry in the wettest and most clayey areas. The river has shaped the landscapes but also the mentalities of its inhabitants: sailors, fishermen, farmers and townspeople. A free river, the Loire imposes itself with grace, strength and gentleness at the same time. Its grazed or mown meadows form a traditional landscape on the banks of the Loire. The Loire preserves, with the Loire-Anjou-Touraine Regional Natural Park, a living empire where multiple animal and plant species come together. This migratory stopover offers many birds a nesting and hibernation site. On the Saumur side, the Loire bathes white Anjou and its cellars carved into the tufa. Downstream from Angers, it runs along the Anjou noir and its schist slopes. In the Mauges, the river leaves Anjou in the wake of the white terns to reach the ocean. 

The Loire is magnificent and benefactor. She creates around her a positive effervescence but is really appreciated only in silence and peace. “It is one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world, the most beautiful balance between masses of stone, masses of greenery, mass of water. And don't forget that there is another mass, the silence…. " - Max Jacob 1846 - 1944

Varied activities

Hiking is obviously in the spotlight. The GR 3 and the GR 3D cross the town of Gennes-Val-de-Loire. Along a marked route of more than 200 km, the GR 3 draws, according to the undulations and escarpments of the southern slope of the valley, a palette of colors and landscapes representative of the Loire Angevine. You will sometimes go along the Loire. Other times you will evolve in the heart of the vineyards. But you will always discover unusual and grandiose landscapes (Loire castles and resorts, inhabited islands, historic sites, etc.).

Choose the app Alltrails, and discover the hikes near the camping !

Cycling enthusiasts will feast as close as possible to natural treasures, The Loire à Vélo awaits you in Anjou for a long-distance walk of nearly 150 km. True international tourist route dedicated to cycle tourists, this interregional route of more than 800 km (from Nevers to the Atlantic Ocean) will deliver, without asking too much effort, all the emotions and atmospheres of the river.

Saumur Val-de-Loire is also a trail station. A 13,9 km route with a positive and negative drop of 159 m starts from Gennes-Val-de-Loire. The estimated journey time is 1:10 to 2:05. The information to be found on the website of the Trail Station. Chênehutte is also crossed by the “Loire et Tuffeau” route which starts on the banks of the Thouet.

For walks and horseback rides accompanied by a qualified professional on the banks of the Loire, in the heart of the vineyards, to discover the natural and cultural heritage, the Relais des Moulins is the privileged partner of camping to organize horse riding trips.

By being on the banks of the Loire, swimming and canoe Kayak are must-haves for those looking for freshness or the simple pleasure of water. You can go hiking on the Loire by canoe, kayak and stand up paddle. Courses with varied distances will meet your desires. This is a great opportunity to discover the Loire heritage as well as the flora and fauna of the Loire-Anjou-Touraine regional natural park along the water. Ask Benoît to organize your canoe trips. For example, every Thursday departures from camping are provided.

If you are passionate about wake, or simply adepts of sliding and outdoor activities, 20 km from the camping un Exo-leisure is a park with a body of water equipped with a 5-pylon ski lift for the practice of wakeboarding, water skiing and wakeboarding! 

If you are with toddlers take them to Saumur Forest Adventures ! It is a base of outdoor activities where you can indulge in tree climbing, paintball, Laser Game… Everything you need to spend a pleasant day outdoors!

Would you like to gain height? Only 20 km from camping, either 20 minutes by car or 1 hour by bike, you can access a climbing complex.

What if you treat yourself to a magical hot air balloon moment !? Seen from the sky, the Loire Valley, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, will reveal all its charms to you. at Anjou-Nantes Montgolfière. The departure base is 2 km from the camping and the show seen from above with the lights of the region is a MUST for unforgettable holidays in the Loire Valley.

Heritage “favorites” less than 15 km from camping

Tourist documentation to download

To prepare your holidays in Maine et Loire with confidence, go to the website of our partner SportRIZER, and you can book the sports around camping ! If you want more information for your stay, go to pages Camping, Accommodation et Themes.

Explore our guide for holidays

Articles to help you prepare your holidays!

In a group, with the family or alone

Do not hesitate to ask for a tailor-made quote!

Ask for a quote

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

carte 49

Camping Au Bord de Loire

Un lieu, une histoire

Gennes est situé à la jonction de deux anciennes voies romaines, l’une venant de Chênehutte et se dirigeant vers Brissac, et l’autre se dirigeant vers Doué. Ce fut une importante agglomération gallo-romaine. Au Moyen Âge, son territoire relevait du seigneur de Trèves, et à celui de La Harielle et de Joreau pour Saint-Vérin, et à celui de Sous-le-Puy pour Saint-Eusèbe.

Plusieurs monuments qui attestent de son passé, sont à visiter sur et autour de la commune.

  • Les abris troglodytiques de Bouchet, de la Cour d’Avort et de la Forêt
  • Le château de Milly, site castral de Milly-le-Meugon
  • La présence de plusieurs dolmens et autres mégalithes du néolithique : Le dolmen de la Forêt, le dolmen de la Pierre couverte, le dolmen de la Madeleine, le menhir de Pierre Longue , la pierre dressée dite Pierre Longue du Bouchet
  • L’église Saint-Eusèbe avec mémorial des militaires tués aux combats de juin 1940, église Saint-Vétérin, église Saint-Pierre de Milly 
  • Une ferme, rue de l’Ancienne-Mairie, des XVIe, XIXe et XXe siècles
  • Les manoirs de Bouchet (XVe-XXe), de Mardron (XIIe-XVIe), de Sarreau (XVIe-XXe)
  • Le moulin de Sarré, moulin à eau du XIXe sur le ruisseau de l’Avort
  • Les vestiges d’un nymphée gallo-romain, sur la rive droite du ruisseau de l’Avort
  • Le pont de Gennes, théâtre de combats en juin 1940 entre les troupes allemandes et les élèves officiers de l’école de cavalerie de Saumur appuyés par des tirailleurs algériens 
  • Le théâtre-amphithéâtre gallo-romain des Châtaigniers 

Un rayonnement régional, national et international !

Son territoire se trouve dans la zone du Val de Loire, entre Sully-sur-Loire et Chalonnes, inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Le Val de Loire, de Sully-sur-Loire (45) à Chalonnes-sur-Loire (49), est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco depuis le 30 novembre 2000. Cette reconnaissance internationale à la fois protège et met en valeur un paysage culturel exceptionnel le long de la Loire, plus long fleuve français. Le Val de Loire témoigne des interactions entre les hommes et leur environnement, sur deux mille ans d’histoire. Il est remarquable pour la qualité de son patrimoine architectural, ses villes historiques et pour ses châteaux de renommée mondiale. Ce paysage illustre également l’influence des idéaux de la Renaissance et du siècle des Lumières sur la pensée et la création en Europe occidentale. 

Une nature prodigieuse

Lorsque vous séjournerez au camping Au Bord de Loire, vous serez au cœur d’un écrin de nature où la Loire fait figure de “reine”. La Loire est un fleuve vivant et majestueux qui traverse 12 départements et parcourt environ 1 000 kilomètres depuis sa source en Ardèche. L’histoire des territoires qu’elle traverse, des paysages et des hommes, est étroitement liée à elle. L’omniprésence de son eau a donné naissance à des paysages verdoyants parfois favorisés par la douceur du climat, parfois ponctués de roche, de vallons, ou de vignes et de forêts. Au fil des crues et décrues, le fleuve et ses rivières ont déposé leurs sédiments dans la vallée, créant une mosaïque de sols dont certains, riches en limons, sont particulièrement fertiles. Cette richesse a permis la culture de fruits, légumes, fleurs… Mais également le développement de l’élevage dans les zones les plus humides et les plus argileuses. Le fleuve a modelé les paysages mais aussi les mentalités de ses habitants : Mariniers, pêcheurs, cultivateurs et citadins. Fleuve libre, la Loire s’impose avec grâce, force et douceur à la fois. Ses prairies pâturées ou fauchées forment un paysage traditionnel des bords de Loire. La Loire préserve, avec le Parc naturel régional Loire-Anjou-Touraine, un empire vivant où se côtoient de multiples espèces animales et végétales. Cette escale migratoire offre à de nombreux oiseaux un site de nidification et d’hibernation. Du côté de Saumur, la Loire baigne l’Anjou blanc et ses caves creusées dans le tuffeau. En aval d’Angers, elle longe l’Anjou noir et ses coteaux de schiste. Dans les Mauges, le fleuve quitte l’Anjou dans le sillage des sternes blanches pour rejoindre l’océan. 

La Loire est magnifique et bienfaitrice. Elle crée autour d’elle une effervescence positive mais s’apprécie vraiment que dans le silence et la paix. « C’est un des plus beaux paysages du monde, le plus bel équilibre entre les masses de pierre, les masses de verdure, la masse de l’eau. Et n’oublie pas qu’il y a une autre masse, le silence…. » – Max Jacob 1846 – 1944

Des activités variées

La randonnée pédestre est évidemment à l’honneur. Le GR 3 et le GR 3D traversent la commune de Gennes-Val-de-Loire. Tout au long d’un itinéraire balisé de plus de 200 km, le GR 3 dessine, au gré des ondulations et escarpements du versant sud de la vallée, une palette de couleurs et de paysages représentatifs de la Loire angevine. Vous longerez parfois la Loire. D’autres fois vous évoluerez au cœur des vignobles. Mais toujours vous découvrirez des paysages insolites et grandioses (châteaux et villégiatures ligériennes, îles habitées, sites historiques…).

Les amateurs de vélo se régaleront au plus près des trésors naturels, La Loire à Vélo vous attend en Anjou pour une promenade au long cours sur près de 150 km. Véritable route touristique internationale dédiée aux cyclotouristes, cet itinéraire interrégional de plus de 800 Km (de Nevers à l’Océan Atlantique) vous livrera, sans vous demander trop d’effort, toutes les émotions et ambiances du fleuve.

Saumur Val-de-Loire est également une station de trail. Un parcours de 13,9 km avec dénivelé positif et négatif de 159 m démarre de Gennes-Val-de-Loire. Le temps de parcours estimé est de 1h10 à 2h05. Les informations à retrouver sur le site de la Station de Trail. Chênehutte est également traversé par le parcours « Loire et Tuffeau » dont le départ se situe sur les rives du Thouet.

Pour les promenades et randonnées à cheval accompagnées par un professionnel diplômé sur les bords de Loire, au cœur des vignes, à la découverte du patrimoine naturel et culturel, le Relais des Moulins est le partenaire privilégié du camping pour organiser des sorties à cheval.

En étant en bord de Loire, la baignade et le canoë-kayak sont des incontournables pour ceux qui recherchent de la fraîcheur ou le simple plaisir de l’eau. Vous pourrez faire des randonnées sur la Loire en canoë, kayak et stand up paddle. Des parcours avec des distances variées répondront à vos envies. C’est une formidable occasion de découvrir au fil de l’eau le patrimoine ligérien ainsi que la faune et la flore du Parc naturel régional Loire-Anjou-Touraine. Renseignez-vous auprès de Benoît pour organiser vos sorties canoë. Par exemple, tous les jeudi des départs du camping sont prévus.

Si vous êtes passionnés de wake, ou simplement adeptes de la glisse et d’activités en extérieur, à 20 km du camping un Exoloisirs est un parc avec plan d’eau équipé d’un téléski 5 pylônes pour la pratique du wakeboard, ski nautique et wakeboard ! 

Si vous êtes avec des bambins, emmenez-les à Saumur Forest Aventures ! C’est une base d’activités en extérieur où vous pourrez vous adonner à l’accrobranche, paint-ball, Laser Game… Tout ce qu’il vous faut pour passer une agréable journée en extérieur !

Souhaitez-vous prendre de la hauteur ? A seulement 20 km du camping, soit 20 min de voiture ou 1 h de vélo, vous pourrez accéder à un complexe d’escalade.

Et si vous vous offriez un instant magique en montgolfière !? Vue du ciel, la Vallée de la Loire, classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, vous dévoilera tous ses charmes grâce à Anjou-Nantes Montgolfière. La base de départ est à 2 km du camping et le spectacle vu d’en haut avec les lumières de la région est un MUST pour des vacances inoubliables en Val-de-Loire.

Les “Coups de coeur” du patrimoine à moins de 15 km du camping

Documentation touristique à télécharger

Pour préparer plus en détails votre séjour, rendez-vous pages Camping, Hébergements et Thématiques.

Le guide Welcome

Des articles pour vous aider dans la préparation de vos vacances !

En groupe, en famille ou en solo

N'hésitez pas à demander un devis sur mesure !

Demander un devis