carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

6 natural sites in Normandy to discover as soon as possible

Fancy a little wild getaway? The natural sites of Normandy conceal a thousand and one wonders to discover with the family.

Llocalized in the north-west of France, the natural sites of Normandy are recognizable by their plains and groves. Thanks to its 600 kilometers of coastline along the English Channel, Normandy also benefits from an exceptional maritime frontage. Today we offer six unmissable natural sites, which will delight lovers of landscapes and wide open spaces.

La Roche d'Oëtre, an enchanting site

To begin with, the Roche d'Oëtre site, nestled in the heart of Swiss Normandy, is a wild belvedere classified as a sensitive natural area. Fashioned in stone, this place is ideal for hikers. From the top of its 118 meters, the precipice of the Roche d'Oëtre offers a breathtaking panorama on the gorges of the Rouvre. The profiles of faces that emerge according to the imagination of visitors give this cliff a mystical character. The place is conducive to tales and legends.

The bay of Mont Saint-Michel

As for the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel, it is an extraordinary place recognized as a world heritage site. On this natural site, the sand, the sea and the sky share the horizon. Mons and visitors alike live there to the rhythm of the tides. They shape and draw this unique landscape every day. A wide variety of birds, fish and seashells populate the area. They also live alongside some seal colonies. At low tide, the hike around the Mount is a unique experience. Do not miss this spectacle on a clear day or on a smoldering day. The brightness is in fact never the same.

The bay of Mont Saint-Michel is one of the natural sites of Normandy

The pond of Vauville

Let's continue this trip to the seaside. At the heart of 60 hectares of nature reserve, the Veauville pond is 2 meters long and 000 meters wide. It forms a natural reservoir of fresh water, separated from the sea by a fine dune cordon. The area is populated by hundreds of species of insects and multiple species of birds such as northern shoveler, moorhen and pike. This reserve in the Manche department also has a ornithological observatory. It allows visitors to contemplate many species of birds in their natural environment.

The cliffs of Étretat

It is now time to discover the Alabaster coast. The gray pebble beach of Etretat surrounded by majestic white chalk cliffs is a must-see Normandy destination. A source of inspiration for Monet, Maupassant and Flaubert, the cliffs of Étretat always fascinate and amaze young and old. This impressive mineral theater is moreover admired each year by many walkers, swimmers, boarders and boaters, in search of unspoiled nature.

Cliffs of Étretat

The gorges of Villiers

Let's continue this journey in the heart of the Andaine forest. The gorges of Villiers cross a wild nature made up of rivers, bogs, screes, moors and rocky escarpments. The cave of the fairy Gisele and the Chaude Eau fountain are particularly popular with hikers. They can let themselves be won over by the charm of the place, while discovering the legends associated with it.

The dunes of Hattainville

The dunes of Hattainville constitute a classified and protected natural site since 1980. This massif of dunes, preserved from urbanization, is as vast as it is impressive. The many walks thus lead the curious meet an abundant flora and characteristic fauna. For a hike in the dunes, it is useful to equip yourself with a compass or a GPS. It is indeed very easy to get lost.

Dunes d'Hattainville

6 sites naturels de Normandie à découvrir au plus vite

Envie d’une petite escapade sauvage ? Les sites naturels de Normandie recèlent mille et une merveilles à découvrir en famille.

Localisée dans le nord-ouest de la France, les sites naturels de Normandie sont reconnaissables à leurs plaines et leurs bocages. Grâce à ses 600 kilomètres de côtes le long de la Manche, la Normandie bénéficie également d’une façade maritime exceptionnelle. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui six sites naturels incontournables, qui raviront les amoureux de paysages et de grands espaces.

La Roche d’Oëtre, un site enchanteur

Pour commencer, le site de la Roche d’Oëtre niché au cœur de la Suisse normande, est un belvédère sauvage classé espace naturel sensible. Façonné dans la pierre, ce lieu est idéal pour les randonneurs. Du haut de ses 118 mètres, le précipice de la Roche d’Oëtre offre un panorama à couper le souffle sur les gorges de la Rouvre. Les profils de visages qui se dessinent au gré de l’imagination des visiteurs donnent à cette falaise un caractère mystique. Le lieu est propice aux récits de contes et légendes.

La baie du Mont Saint-Michel

La Baie du Mont Saint-Michel est quant-à-elle un lieu extraordinaire reconnu au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité. Sur ce site naturel, le sable, la mer et le ciel se partagent l’horizon. Les Montois comme les visiteurs vivent là-bas au rythme des marées. Elles façonnent et dessinent chaque jour ce paysage unique. Une grande variété d’oiseaux, de poissons et de coquillages peuplent les lieux. Ils côtoient en outre quelques colonies de phoques. À marée basse, la randonnée autour du Mont est une expérience unique. Ne manquez pas ce spectacle par temps clair comme par temps couver. La luminosité n’y est en effet jamais la même.

La baie du Mont Saint-Michel fait partie des sites naturels de Normandie

La mare de Vauville

Continuons ce voyage au bord de mer. Au coeur des 60 hectares de réserve naturelle, la mare de Veauville est longue de 2 000 mètres et large de 500 mètres. Elle forme un réservoir naturel d’eau douce, séparé de la mer par un fin cordon dunaire. La zone est peuplée par des centaines d’espèces d’insectes et de multiples espèces d’oiseaux comme le canard souchet, la poule d’eau et le milouin. Cette réserve du département de la Manche dispose d’ailleurs d’un observatoire ornithologique. Il permet aux visiteurs de contempler de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux dans leur milieu naturel.

Les falaises d’Étretat

Il est temps désormais de découvrir la côte d’Albâtre. La plage de galets gris d’Étretat entourée des majestueuses falaises de craie blanche est une incontournable destination normande. Source d’inspiration pour Monet, Maupassant et Flaubert, les falaises d’Étretat fascinent et émerveillent toujours petits et grands. Cet impressionnant théâtre minéral est d’ailleurs admiré chaque année par nombre de marcheurs, nageurs, planchistes et plaisanciers, en quête de nature préservée.

Falaises d'Étretat

Les gorges de Villiers

Poursuivons ce périple au coeur de la forêt d’Andaine. Les gorges de Villiers traversent une nature sauvage constituée de rivières, de tourbières, de pierriers, de landes et d’escarpements rocheux. La grotte de la fée Gisèle et la fontaine de Chaude Eau sont particulièrement appréciées des randonneurs. Ils peuvent s’y laisser gagner par le charme des lieux, tout en découvrant les légendes qui y sont associées.

Les dunes d’Hattainville

Les dunes d’Hattainville constituent quant-à-elles un site naturel classé et protégé depuis 1980. Ce massif de dunes préservé de l’urbanisation, est aussi vaste qu’impressionnant. Les nombreuses promenades conduisent les curieux à la rencontre d’une flore abondante et d’une faune caractéristique. Pour une randonnée dans les dunes, il est utile de s’équiper d’une boussole ou d’un GPS, car il est très facile de s’y perdre.

Dunes d'Hattainville

La rédaction