carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 8: Amiens Cathedral

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the sites recognized in 1981, the cathedral of Amiens.

Din Hauts-de-France, in the heart of Picardy, Notre-Dame d'Amiens cathedral is one of the most completed and largest classical Gothic churches of the XNUMXth century. "The consistency of the plan, the beauty of the three-level interior elevation and the arrangement of an extremely skilful sculpted program on the main facade and the south arm of the transept ”, just as its decorations and stained glass windows make this building a true masterpiece of medieval architecture. Historians consider that Our Lady of Amiens marked the height of Gothic architecture. Several of the innovations implemented in Amiens announced "the advent of the flamboyant style in architecture and monumental sculpture".

"Perfection in daring"

200 m000, 3 meters long and an arch height of 145 meters! The majestic building rises to the sky. It is still today the largest cathedral in France. Notre-Dame d'Amiens is twice the size of Notre-Dame de Paris. Amiens cathedral is also overlooked by the oldest wooden and lead spire in France. Erected in 1530, it inspired Viollet-le-Duc to design that of Notre-Dame de Paris. Jean Macrez is guide and author. He claims the title of "last living gargoyle" of the place. This enthusiast is particularly fond of "the unity of style, the purity of lines, the harmony of proportions" of this imposing cathedral. “Perfection in daring! "...

The history of Amiens cathedral

Notre-Dame d'Amiens cathedral was built in the 70th century in less than XNUMX years, on the ashes of a Romanesque church. Amiens was going through a particularly prosperous period. Three prime contractors thus succeeded one another on the monumental site. Robert de Luzarches was in charge of the plans, the nave and the porches of the eastern facade. Thomas de Cormont will complete the nave, the ambulatory and the radiating chapels. His son Renaud de Cormont is responsible for the superstructures of the choir and the apse. It was also he who designed the vertiginous soaring towards the sky of the highest cross ribs.

The side chapels, the spire and the two towers of the western facade will be added in the XNUMXth century. The prestigious architect Viollet-le-Duc will also leave a mark there in the XNUMXth century, on the occasion of a restoration of the Galerie des Sonneurs which brings together the two towers. He will also add statues and gargoyles, as he did in Paris.

Outstanding elements

Since the great war, the weeping angel carved on a tomb has become the most famous of the cathedral's 750 sculptures. The soldiers of the British army moved by this angel seeming to feel the same sorrow as them, sent their family postcards with his effigy and thus made known the angel. The octagonal labyrinth formed by the pavement of the nave and 234 meters long, constituted an alternative to the pilgrimage to the Holy Land. The faithful walked through it on their knees to the center, symbol of the Holy Sepulcher.

Each year, the cathedral puts on its clothes of light. More than 2 million visitors have already had the opportunity to discover the magnificent sound and light show, which has become one of the highlights of the year in Amiens. In 2019 and 2020, many events celebrating 800 years of the cathedral occurred. The closing celebrations of this anniversary will take place on November 20, 21 and 22, 2020.

Patrimoine Mondial #8 : La cathédrale d’Amiens

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des sites reconnus en 1981, la cathédrale d’Amiens.

Dans les Hauts-de-France, au coeur de la Picardie, la cathédrale Notre-Dame d’Amiens est l’une des plus achevées et des plus grandes églises gothiques classiques du XIIIème siècle. “La cohérence du plan, la beauté de l’élévation intérieure à trois niveaux et l’agencement d’un programme sculpté extrêmement savant à la façade principale et au bras sud du transept”,  tout comme ses décorations et ses vitraux font de cet édifice un véritable chef-d’oeuvre de l’architecture médiévale. Les historiens considèrent que Notre-Dame d’Amiens a marqué l’apogée de l’architecture gothique. Plusieurs des innovations mises en oeuvre à Amiens ont annoncé “l’avènement du style flamboyant dans l’architecture et la sculpture monumentale”.

“La perfection dans l’audace”

200 000 m3, 145 mètres de long et une hauteur sous voûte de 42 mètres ! Le majestueux édifice s’élève vers le ciel. Il est aujourd’hui encore la plus vaste cathédrale de France. Notre-Dame d’Amiens est deux fois plus volumineuse que Notre-Dame de Paris. La cathédrale d’Amiens est par ailleurs surplombée de la plus ancienne flèche en bois et plomb de France. Érigée en 1530, elle inspira Viollet-le-Duc pour concevoir celle de Notre-Dame de Paris. Jean Macrez guide et auteur, qui revendique le titre de “dernière gargouille vivante” des lieux, affectionne tout particulièrement “l’unité du style, la pureté des lignes, l’harmonie des proportions” de cette imposante cathédrale. “La perfection dans l’audace !”…

Croisées d'ogives à Notre-Dame d'Amiens

Un peu d’histoire

La cathédrale Notre-Dame d’Amiens a été édifiée au XIIIème siècle en moins de 70 ans, sur les cendres d’une église romane. Amiens traversait alors une période particulièrement prospère. Trois maîtres d’oeuvre se sont succédés sur le chantier monumental. Robert de Luzarches fût en charge des plans, de la nef et des porches de la façade orientale. Thomas de Cormont achèvera la nef, le déambulatoire et les chapelles rayonnantes. Son fils Renaud de Cormont est à l’origine des superstructures du chœur et de l’abside, ainsi que de la vertigineuse envolée vers le ciel des plus hautes croisées d’ogives.

Les chapelles latérales, la flèche et les deux tours de la façade occidentale seront ajoutées au XIVème siècle. Le prestigieux architecte Viollet-le-Duc y laissera également une trace au XIXème siècle, à l’occasion d’une restauration de la galerie des Sonneurs qui réunit les deux tours. Il ajoutera également des statues et des gargouilles, comme il le fit à Paris.

Éléments remarquables

Depuis la grande guerre, l’ange pleureur sculpté sur un tombeau est devenu la plus célèbre des 750 sculptures de la cathédrale. Les soldats de l’armée britannique émus par cet ange semblant ressentir la même peine qu’eux, envoyèrent à leur famille des cartes postales à son effigie et firent ainsi connaître l’angelot. Le labyrinthe octogonal formé par le pavement de la nef et long de 234 mètres, constituait une alternative au pèlerinage en Terre Sainte. Les fidèles le parcouraient à genoux jusqu’au centre, symbole du Saint-Sépulcre.

Labyrinthe de la Cathédrale d'Amiens

Chaque année, la cathédrale revêt ses habits de lumière. Plus de 2 millions de visiteurs ont déjà eu l’occasion de découvrir le magnifique spectacle sons et lumières, devenu un des temps fort de l’année à Amiens. En 2019 et 2020, de nombreuses manifestations célébrant les 800 ans de la cathédrale se sont déroulés. Les fêtes de clôture de cet anniversaire auront lieu les 20, 21 et 22 novembre 2020.

La rédaction

Crédit image : Shutterstock : Isogood_patrick

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO