carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 8: The Mercantour National Park

In Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur, between sea and mountains, the Mercantour National Park stretches over nearly 150 kilometers. This wild territory located not far from the frenzy of the Riviera beaches, constitutes a haven of peace for mountain lovers.

From the Alpes-Maritimes to the Alpes de Haute-Provence, the Mercantour National Park is a magnificent mountainous territory. Leaning against the border of the Italian foothills, it is the last Alpine rampart before an impressive plunge of the reliefs into the Mediterranean. From its limestone or schist massif in the north-west, to the crystalline massif in the south-east, this territory of rare beauty has long been considered inhospitable. For centuries, only shepherds and soldiers have surveyed its peaks and its paths. But the expeditions of Victor de Cessole at the beginning of the XNUMXth century gradually aroused the interest of mountaineers. Today, the Mercantour National Park is an extraordinary preserved natural site. Each year, it attracts many visitors in search of mountainous landscapes.

Six valleys for a single National Park

The Mercantour National Park has six valleys, each of which is of particular interest. In the heart of Nice Colorado, the high valleys of Var and Cians are carved in a red rock made up of pelites. The Roya and Bévéra valleys ensure the transition between the scents of Mediterranean olive trees, and those of stone pines at a higher altitude. The Tinée valley also acts as a link between the southern Mediterranean and the northern boreal alpine. The Vésubie valley is sculpted by its torrents and Quaternary glaciers. Further north, in the heart of the dry Alps, the Ubaye valley is shaped by the many glaciers and rivers. To finish, the Haut-Verdon valley is the superb setting of the largest natural high-altitude lake in Europe, Lake Allos.

Allos Lake
Allos Lake

Exceptional summits

Dance the Mercantour National Park, many emblematic summits thus share the honors. The summit of Gélas culminates at 3 meters above sea level. However, it is only 143 kilometers from the sea as the crow flies. From its summit, the panorama is simply breathtaking. The majestic Lac d'Allos is surrounded by five towers in Annot sandstone, all of which culminate at over 50 meters. Among them, Mount Pelat (3 meters) offers on a clear day an exceptional view ranging from Mont-Blanc to the Provençal Sainte-Victoire mountain.

Remarkable flora and fauna

Dance the Mercantour National Park, a mosaic of natural environments host an incredible biological variety. Indeed, the geological diversity coupled with a complex topography and micro-climates give the Mercantour, an extraordinary biodiversity. Among the more than 2 plant species, Bertoloni's Aquilegia or Cornella's Nigritella amaze hikers. Fauna side, chamois, ibex, golden eagles, ermines or Tengmalm owls can be admired on the heights. Since 1992, the wolf even came back to settle in this alpine area. This repopulation is in fact proof of the good health of ecosystems.

Wolf of Mercantour
Wolf of Mercantour

A rich cultural heritage

Difficult to talk about Mercantour national park not to mention the many traces of the past present in the park. Since prehistoric times, people have taken up residence in the heart of these mountains. Today, 4 major archaeological sites amaze young and old. La Tournerie in Roubion, the valley of Millefonts and the Col de Tende… But it is undoubtedly the site of the engravings of Mont Bego, the Valley of Wonders, which is the most iconic. The remains and buildings of the Mercantour also tell a more recent story. That of agro-pastoralism of course, but also the rich cross-border history of these ridges and summits.

A paradise for outdoor sports

Hiking is certainly the most popular sport in the Mercantour National Park. The Great Crossing du Mercantour by the GR 52 is also a legendary trek. During 16 stages, he then takes hikers over 220 kilometers and 13 meters of vertical drop. There are also many high mountain huts spread across the region. Enthusiasts welcome walkers wonderfully. But hiking is not the only sport in the great outdoors. Everything is possible here. Mountain biking, canyoning, trail running, via-ferrata, climbing, horse riding… The only limit will be your energy!

Lac Lauzanier in the Mercantour
Lauzanier lake

Parcs Nationaux de France #8 : Le Parc National du Mercantour

En Provence-Alpes-Côte-d’Azur, entre mer et montagne, le Parc National du Mercantour s’étale sur près de 150 kilomètres. Ce territoire sauvage situé non loin de la frénésie des plages azuréennes, constitue un havre de paix pour les amoureux de la montagne.

Des Alpes-Maritimes aux Alpes de Haute-Provence, le Parc National du Mercantour est un territoire montagneux magnifique. Adossé à la frontière du piémont italien, il est le dernier rempart alpin avant une impressionnante plongée des reliefs dans la Méditerranée. De son massif calcaire ou schisteux au nord-ouest, au massif cristallin du sud-est, ce territoire d’une beauté rare a longtemps été considéré comme inhospitalier. Pendant des siècles, seuls les bergers et les militaires ont arpenté ses cimes et ses sentiers. Mais les expéditions de Victor de Cessole au début du XXème siècle ont suscité peu à peu l’interêt des alpinistes. Aujourd’hui, le Parc national du Mercantour est un extraordinaire site naturel préservé. Il attire ainsi chaque année, de nombreux visiteurs en quête de paysages montagneux.

Six vallées pour un seul Parc national

Le Parc national du Mercantour comporte six vallées, revêtant chacune un intérêt particulier. Au coeur du Colorado niçois, les hautes vallées du Var et du Cians sont taillées dans une roche rouge constituée de pélites. Les vallées de la Roya et de la Bévéra assurent la transition entre les parfums d’olivier de Méditerranée, et ceux des pins cembro plus en altitude. La vallée de la Tinée joue également le rôle de trait d’union entre le sud méditerranéen et le nord boréal alpin. La vallée de la Vésubie est quant-à-elle sculptée par ses torrents et ses glaciers quaternaires. Plus au nord, au coeur des Alpes sèches, la vallée de l’Ubaye est façonnée par les nombreux glaciers et rivières. Pour finir, la vallée du Haut-Verdon est le superbe écrin du plus grand lac naturel d’altitude d’Europe, le lac d’Allos.

Lac d'Allos
Lac d’Allos

Des sommets d’exception

Dans le Parc national du Mercantour, de nombreux sommets emblématiques se partagent ainsi les honneurs. La cime du Gélas culmine à 3 143 mètres d’altitude. Elle n’est pourtant qu’à 50 kilomètres de la mer à vol d’oiseau. De son sommet, le panorama est tout simplement à couper le souffle. Le majestueux lac d’Allos est cerné par cinq tours en grès d’Annot culminant tous à plus de 2 500 mètres. Parmi elles, le Mont Pelat (3 051 mètres) offre par temps clair une vue exceptionnelle allant du Mont-Blanc, à la provençale montagne Sainte-Victoire.

Une faune et une flore remarquable

Dans le Parc national du Mercantour, une mosaïque de milieux naturels accueillent une incroyable variété biologique. En effet, la diversité géologique couplée à une topographie complexe et aux micro-climats confèrent au Mercantour, une extraordinaire biodiversité. Parmi les plus de 2 000 espèces végétales, l’Ancolie de Bertoloni ou la Nigritelle de Cornella émerveillent les randonneurs. Côté faune, les chamois, bouquetins, aigles royaux, hermines ou chouettes de Tengmalm s’admirent sur les hauteurs. Depuis 1992, le loup est même revenu s’installer dans cette zone alpine. Ce repeuplement est en réalité une preuve de la bonne santé des écosystèmes.

Loup du Mercantour
Loup du Mercantour

Un patrimoine culturel riche

Difficile de parler du Parc national du Mercantour sans mentionner les nombreuses traces du passé présentes sur le parc. Depuis la Préhistoire, les hommes ont élu domicile au coeur de ces montagnes. Aujourd’hui, 4 sites archéologiques majeurs émerveillent petits et grands. La Tournerie à Roubion, le vallon de Millefonts et le col de Tende… Mais c’est sans aucun doute le site des gravures du Mont Bego, la vallée des Merveilles, qui est le plus emblématique. Les vestiges et bâtis du Mercantour racontent également une histoire plus récente. Celle de l’agropastoralisme bien sûr, mais aussi la riche histoire transfrontalière de ces crêtes et sommets.

Un paradis pour les sports de pleine nature

La randonnée est certainement le sport le plus pratiqué dans le Parc national du Mercantour. La Grande Traversée du Mercantour par le GR 52 est d’ailleurs un trek mythique. Pendant 16 étapes, il entraîne alors les randonneurs sur 220 kilomètres et 13 000 mètres de dénivelés. De nombreux refuges de haute-montagne sont par ailleurs répartis sur le territoire. Des passionnés y accueillent merveilleusement les marcheurs. Mais la randonnée n’est pas le seul sport de pleine nature. Ici, tout est possible. VTT, canyoning, trail, via-ferrata, escalade, équitation… La seule limite sera votre énergie !

Lac Lauzanier dans le Mercantour
Lac du Lauzanier

La rédaction