carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Treks de France # 1: Discover the Grande Traversée du Mercantour

On the Franco-Italian border, nestled in the heart of the Alps, a natural treasure of the South of France awaits the most seasoned hikers… An unforgettable trek between sea and mountain, the Grande Traversée du Mercantour.

Victor de Cessole made the Mercantour known to the public during his conquest of the peaks of the Alpes-Maritimes. His early 20th century expeditions left a lasting impression. Since then, many athletes have walked the trails of Mercantour National Park, once used by shepherds and Italian or French soldiers. The Great Mercantour Crossing today offers more than 220 kilometers and 13 meters of vertical drop to be achieved in 000 stages. This trek is characterized by its multiple passes to cross, its lakes, its rugged terrain and its technicality. It reveals to walkers the extraordinary diversity of landscapes and contrasts. But it also provides unique sensations and emotions.

Between high alpine peaks and the Mediterranean Sea, this long-distance hiking trail passes through the heart of a fascinating natural setting. The 16 stages linking Estenc to Menton cross in turn the high valleys of Tinée, Vésubie, Roya and Bévéra. The arrival in Menton is made by a trail with perfumes of Provence. Throughout the journey, the shelters of Vens, Rabuons, Alexandris Foches, Sant'Anna di Vinadio, Allos, Questa, Nice or the refuge des Merveilles, allow hikers to find shelter and comfort, after long days of walking.

Allos Lake

biodiversity

The Mercantour massif has a very unique climate. Short periods of precipitation and strong winds alternate with long periods of good weather. It follows from this specificity, a particularly rich flora and fauna. 2000 plant species populate the environment. From the summits to the sea, the vegetation goes from mosses and lichens on the summits, to alpine lawns and coniferous forests. These then give way to mixed and deciduous forests. As for wildlife, the site's most “prestigious” species such as the ibex, the golden eagle, the wolf, the marmot or the bearded vulture, rub shoulders with the more discreet world of small mammals, amphibians, reptiles and insects. They abound in the park.

Ibex of Mercantour

Emblematic sites of the Grande Traversée du Mercantour

The lakes of Morgon are a series of three magnificent lakes enthroned at more than 2400 meters above sea level. Straddling the Mercantour National Park and the Italian Parco Naturale Alpi Maritime, the lakes of Framamorte tell a part of the military history of the place. A metal shelter typical of the Italian Alps allows walkers to find shelter for a few hours. The Valley of Wonders Its name takes its name from the thousands of prehistoric engravings made on colored stone slabs, the “ciappe”. These remains can be admired on reservation.

The more sporty venture on the GR 52 to cover it as a whole. But of numerous entry and exit points are accessible for day hikes or for a few days. The Departmental Plan for Walking and Hiking Routes maintains nearly 6500 kilometers of hiking routes.

Watch the video of the magnificent route of the Grande Traversée du Mercantour.

Many other sports facilities are available around the Grande Traversée du Mercantour. The Alpes-Maritimes enhance their exceptional territory through many outdoor alternatives. For example, the Vésùbia Mountain Park in Saint-Martin-Vésubie offers many high-quality infrastructures. The 13 trails of Saint-Martin-Vésubie alone offer nearly 270 kilometers of marked routes. In addition, there are cycle tourism routes, the longest zip line in France at Colmiane, or even ski resorts ... Hiking, mountain biking, via ferrata, horseback riding, canyoning and trail running await you very close to the Grande Traversée du Mercantour. . All information is available on Randoxygene.

Treks de France : Découvrez la Grande Traversée du Mercantour

À la frontière franco-italienne, niché au coeur des Alpes, un trésor naturel du Sud de la France attend les randonneurs les plus aguerris, un trek inoubliable entre mer et montagne, la Grande Traversée du Mercantour.

Victor de Cessole a fait connaître le Mercantour au public lors de sa conquête des sommets des Alpes-Maritimes. Ses expéditions du début du 20ème siècle ont marqué les esprits. Depuis, de nombreux sportifs ont parcouru les sentiers du Parc National du Mercantour, autrefois empruntés par les bergers et les militaires italiens ou français. La Grande Traversée du Mercantour offre aujourd’hui plus de 220 kilomètres et 13 000 mètres de dénivelé à réaliser en 16 étapes. Ce trek se caractérise par ses multiples cols à franchir, ses lacs, ses terrains accidentés et sa technicité. Il révèle aux marcheurs l’extraordinaire diversité de paysages et de contrastes. Mais il procure également des sensations et des émotions uniques.

Entre hauts sommets alpins et mer Méditerranée, ce sentier de grande randonnée passe au coeur d’un fascinant écrin naturel. Les 16 étapes reliant Estenc à Menton traversent tour à tour les hautes vallées de la Tinée, de la Vésubie, de la Roya et de la Bévéra. L’arrivée à Menton se fait par un sentier aux parfums de Provence. Tout au long du périple, les refuges de Vens, Rabuons, Alexandris Foches, Sant’Anna di Vinadio, Allos, Questa, Nice ou encore le refuge des Merveilles, permettent aux randonneurs de trouver abri et réconfort, après de longues journées de marche.

Lac d’Allos

Biodiversité

Le massif du Mercantour dispose d’un climat très singulier. Des brèves périodes de précipitations et de vents forts alternent en effet avec de longues périodes de beau temps. Il découle ainsi de cette spécificité, une faune et une flore particulièrement riche. 2000 espèces végétales peuplent le milieu. Des sommets à la mer, la végétation passe des mousses et lichens sur les sommets, aux pelouses alpines et forêts de résineux. Ces derniers laissent ensuite la place aux forêts mixtes et de feuillus. Pour ce qui est de la faune, les espèces les plus “prestigieuses” du site telles que le bouquetin, l’aigle royal, le loup, la marmotte ou la gypaète barbu, côtoient l’univers plus discret des petits mammifères, amphibiens, reptiles et insectes. Ils abondent dans le parc.

Bouquetin du Mercantour

Sites emblématiques de la Grande Traversée du Mercantour

Les lacs de Morgon sont une série de trois magnifiques lacs trônant à plus de 2400 mètres d’altitude. À cheval entre le Parc National du Mercantour et le Parco Naturale Alpi Maritime italien, les lacs de Framamorte racontent quant-à-eux un pan de l’histoire militaire des lieux. Un abri métallique typique des Alpes italiennes permet aux marcheurs de trouver abri pour quelques heures. La vallée des Merveilles tient pour sa part son nom des milliers de gravures préhistoriques réalisées sur des dalles de pierres colorées, les “ciappe”. Ces vestiges peuvent être admirés sur réservation.

Les plus sportifs s’aventurent sur le GR 52 pour le parcourir dans son ensemble,. Mais de nombreux points d’entrée et de sortie sont accessibles pour des randonnées à la journée ou sur quelques jours. Le Plan Départemental des Itinéraires de Promenade et de Randonnée entretient près de 6500 kilomètres d’itinéraires de randonnées.

Retrouvez en vidéo le magnifique tracé de la Grande Traversée du Mercantour.

De nombreux autres aménagements sportifs se déclinent autour de la Grande Traversée du Mercantour. Les Alpes-Maritimes valorisent leur territoire exceptionnel au travers de nombreuses alternatives Outdoor. Le Vésùbia Mountain Park de Saint-Martin-Vésubie propose par exemple de nombreuses infrastructures de haute qualité. Les 13 parcours de trail de Saint-Martin-Vésubie offrent à eux seuls près de 270 kilomètres d’itinéraires balisés. À cela s’ajoutent les itinéraires cyclotouristiques, la tyrolienne la plus longue de France à la Colmiane, ou encore les stations de ski… Randonnée, VTT, via ferrata, randonnée équestre, canyonning et trail vous attendent tout près de la Grande Traversée du Mercantour. Toutes les informations sont disponibles sur Randoxygene.

La rédaction