Camping Ile d'Yeu

In Pays-de-la-Loire, in Vendée, the Ile d'Yeu is a jewel of the Atlantic Ocean.

Dance the Bay of Biscay, 17 kilometers from the Vendée coast, Ile d'Yeu reveals its best-kept treasures to holidaymakers. And she simply gives them the luxury of the countryside in the middle of the ocean.

Natural heritage 

Beaches, dunes, cliffs and coves ... But also moors, groves and valleys, trace sumptuous landscapes facing the ocean. The coast is Ile d'Yeu is sandy and verdant, while the wilder west coast is rocky. The beaches and coves are an invitation to relaxation and idleness. The paths through the moors and the undergrowth are an opportunity to discover biodiversity.

Cultural heritage

The culture of Ile d'Yeu was shaped by the presence of the ocean. To the northwest, the Grand Phare is one of the five maritime fires. The Museum of Fishing and Rescue at Sea allows an immersion in the daily life of the women and men who reside on the island. Do not hesitate to stroll on the quays or in the heart of the markets. Then taste the tasty products of this unique terroir.

Historical patrimony

Dive into the history of Ile d'Yeu thanks to its villages, monuments and prehistoric sites. During your walks discover menhirs and dolmens left here by the first inhabitants of the place. Then take a step back in time by visiting the old castle. In Port-Joinville, Notre-Dame-du-Port church and the old factories await you as well. Finally, the citadel, or Fort de la Pierre Levée, tells its long story. In turn prison, barracks and even Marshal Pétain's place of detention… It contains many mysteries.

Outdoor sports on the Ile d'Yeu

When your holidays on the Ile d'Yeu, enjoy the many sports and water activities. Veil, surf and paddle are on the program of your vacation in the middle of the ocean. Treat yourself to incredible bike rides or walks. Do not miss the opportunity for an invigorating swim, on one of the many beaches and coves of the island.

Find a camping Welcome

Camping Île d’Yeu

Dans les Pays-de-la-Loire, en Vendée, l’île d’Yeu est un joyau de l’océan Atlantique.

Dans le golfe de Gascogne, à 17 kilomètres des côtes vendéennes, l’île d’Yeu révèle aux vacanciers ses trésors les mieux gardés. Et elle leur offre tout simplement le luxe de la campagne au milieu de l’océan.

Patrimoine naturel 

Plages, dunes, falaises et criques… Mais aussi landes, bocages et combes, tracent de somptueux paysages tournés vers l’océan. La côte est de l’Île d’Yeu est sablonneuse et verdoyante, alors que la côte ouest plus sauvage est rocheuse. Les plages et criques sont une invitation à la détente et au farniente. Les chemins à travers les landes et les sous-bois sont l’occasion de découvrir la biodiversité.

Patrimoine culturel

La culture de l’île d’Yeu a été façonnée par la présence de l’océan. Au nord-ouest, le Grand Phare est l’un des cinq feux maritimes. Le Musée de la Pêche et du Sauvetage en Mer permet une immersion dans le quotidien des femmes et des hommes qui résident sur l’île. N’hésitez pas non plus à flâner sur les quais ou au coeur des marchés. Dégustez ensuite les savoureux produits de ce terroir unique.

Patrimoine historique

Plongez dans l’histoire de l’île d’Yeu grâce à ses villages, monuments et sites préhistoriques. Lors de vos promenades découvrez les menhirs et dolmens laissés ici par les premiers habitants des lieux. Faites ensuite un saut dans le temps en visitant le Vieux Château. À Port-Joinville, l’église Notre-Dame-du-Port et les anciennes usines vous attendent également. Pour finir, la citadelle, ou Fort de la Pierre Levée, raconte sa longue histoire. Tour à tour prison, caserne et même lieu de détention du Maréchal Pétain… Elle renferme bien des mystères.

Sports de pleine nature sur l’île d’Yeu

Lors de vos vacances sur l’île d’Yeu, profitez des nombreux sports et activités nautiques. Voile, surf et paddle sont au programme de vos vacances au milieu de l’océan. Offrez-vous également d’incroyables promenades à vélo ou à pied. Ne manquez pas non plus l’occasion d’une baignade vivifiante, sur l’une des nombreuses plages et criques de l’île.

Trouvez un camping Welcome