carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Surfing in Vendée: The coast of light offers unforgettable sessions

With its 140 kilometers of fine sandy beaches, its beach breaks, reef-breaks, point-breaks and fallback spots, surfing in the Vendée has definitely acquired its letters of nobility.

Vendée is known for its dunes and long beaches, white houses with colorful shutters, the islands of Yeu and Noirmoutier, and the Grand Parc du Puy du Fou. But the Côte de Lumière is also a leading surfing destination. Some beaches also host prestigious national and international competitions. In Vendée, surfing is intensely experienced. Thanks to the diversity of spots, experienced surfers as well as beginners find their happiness there.

Mythical Vendée surf spots

When we evoke surfing in Vendée, we first think of the spots of Sauzaie and Bud Bud, which each year attract the most seasoned surfers. In Brétignolles-sur-Mer, the Sauzaie indeed offers a magnificent wave of reef, very rare in France. The 1 to 2 meter waves at this site are ideal for performing tricks just 20 meters from the coast. Bud-Bud in Longeville-sur-Mer is also a must-see Vendée spot. Its many sandbanks create beautiful beach breaks. Magnificent tubes are thus formed in the heart of a sumptuous landscape of dunes and maritime pine forests.

Surfing in La Sauzaie
Sauzaie spot

Many surf spots

The Vendée coast is a real pool of surf spots. Between Les Sables d'Olonne and Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, the coasts are quite simply a mine. The beach of Saint-Jean-des-Monts is also ideal for surfing. The boom is the emblematic site. In Sauveterre, the black stones spot awaits the most seasoned surfers. In case of strong swell, the bay of Sables-d'Olonne is a good fallback spot at rising tide. Another fallback site is at La Tranche-sur-Mer. Regularly, a swell of 4 to 5 meters offers exceptional long and hollow mini-lines.

Fine sand beach not far from Olonne-sur-mer
Fine sand beach not far from Olonne-sur-mer

Learn to surf in the Vendée

For beginners, the point-breaks at Sauveterre beach, or even at Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie beach allow you to progress in complete safety. In Saint-Jean-de-Monts, the nautical base and its graduate professionals welcome beginners and trainees throughout the year. At low tide, Faute-sur-Mer is a site where children can learn to surf from an early age.

Initiation to the nautical base of Saint-Jean-des-Monts

As you will have understood, the Vendée is a winter sports area where beginner surfers, as well as experienced surfers, will find their dream waves there. Book your accommodation today in un camping Welcome Surf label, and treat yourself to a surfing holiday that meets your expectations!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Surf en Vendée : La côte de lumière offre des sessions inoubliables

Avec ses 140 kilomètres de plages de sable fin, ses beach-breaks, reef-breaks, point-breaks et spots de repli, le surf en Vendée a définitivement acquis ses lettres de noblesse.

La Vendée est connue pour ses dunes et ses longues plages, ses maisons blanches aux volets colorés, les îles d’Yeu et de Noirmoutier, ou encore le Grand Parc du Puy du Fou. Mais la Côte de Lumière est également une destination surf de premier plan. Certaines plages accueillent d’ailleurs de prestigieuses compétitions nationales et internationales. En Vendée, le surf se vit intensément. Grâce à la diversité de spots, les surfeurs chevronnés comme les débutants y trouvent leur bonheur.

Les spots de surf vendéens mythiques

Quand on évoque le surf en Vendée, on pense tout d’abord aux spots de la Sauzaie et de Bud Bud, qui attirent chaque année les surfeurs les plus aguerris. À Brétignolles-sur-Mer, la Sauzaie offre en effet une magnifique vague de reef, très rare en France. Les vagues de 1 à 2 mètres de ce site sont idéales pour enchaîner les figures à seulement 20 mètres de la côte. Bud-Bud à Longeville-sur-Mer est également un incontournable spot vendéen. Ses nombreux bancs de sable créent des beach-breaks de toute beauté. De magnifiques tubes se forment ainsi au coeur d’un somptueux paysage de dunes et de forêts de pins maritimes.

Surf à La Sauzaie
Spot de la Sauzaie

De nombreux spots de surf

Le littoral vendéen est un véritable vivier de spots de surf. Entre les Sables d’Olonne et Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, les côtes sont tout simplement une mine. La plage de Saint-Jean-des-Monts est également idéale pour la pratique du surf. L’estacade en est le site emblématique. À Sauveterre, le spot de Pierres noires attend les surfeurs les plus aguerris. En cas de forte houle, la baie des Sables-d’Olonne est un bon spot de repli à marée montante. Un autre site de repli se trouve à la Tranche-sur-Mer. Régulièrement, une houle de 4 à 5 mètres offre des mini-droites longues et creuses exceptionnelles.

Plage de sable fin non loin d'Olonne-sur-mer
Plage de sable fin non loin d’Olonne-sur-mer

S’initier au surf en Vendée

Pour les débutants, les point-breaks de la plage de Sauveterre, ou encore la plage de Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie permettent d’évoluer en toute sécurité. À Saint-Jean-de-Monts, la base nautique et ses professionnels diplômés accueillent des débutants et des stagiaires tout au long de l’année. À marée basse, la Faute-sur-Mer est un site où les enfants peuvent s’initier au surf dès leur plus jeune âge.

Initiation à la base nautique de Saint-Jean-des-Monts

Vous l’aurez compris, la Vendée est un territoire de glisse où les surfeurs débutants, tout comme les surfeurs confirmés y trouveront leurs vagues de rêve. Réservez dès aujourd’hui votre hébergement dans un camping Welcome labellisé Surf, et offrez-vous un séjour de surf à la hauteur de vos attentes !