carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Fragile and precious, the forests of France deserve our respect

With the beautiful days, the call of the forest becomes more urgent. Walking or horse riding, cycling, running, strolling and exploring with the family, are the little pleasures of sunny weekends. In the Landes, in Fontainebleau and Rambouillet, in the Haute-Vallée de la Chevreuse, in the Alps or the Pyrenees, the forests of France are home to a rich biodiversity. They contribute to the balance of our environment.

EIn the plains, in the mountains and on the coast, our forests are of extraordinary diversity. The forests of France consist of 138 tree species. Oaks, beeches and chestnut trees are the most represented hardwoods. In the large coniferous family, maritime and Scots pines, spruces and firs are the most abundant. In addition to these seven main species, there are cherry trees, lime trees, maple trees, hornbeam, service trees, aspens, ash trees and alders. All these trees are home to abundant flora and fauna. In the forests of the metropolis, indeed live 73 mammal species, 120 species of birds, tens of thousands of species of insects and arachnids, and no less than 30 species of fungi!

A green lung

In France, the forest is gaining ground and this is excellent news! 17 million hectares of forest are the green lung of our country. The forest plays a major role in preserving the environment. It contributes for example to filtration of rainwater and runoff. A forest on the water's edge also absorbs up to 80% of nitrates, 70% of phosphates and 70% of sediments. Thanks to photosynthesis, the forest also absorbs carbon dioxide and releases oxygen. It is estimated that in France, 70 million tonnes of carbon dioxide are trapped each year by the forest, which contributes to the fight against global warming.

Red deer in a forest

A bulwark against natural risks

Forests protect populations from natural risks, such as floods, landslides, avalanches, or the effects of the wind. If the majority of forests are found in the plains, the forests of the Mediterranean and Atlantic coasts play a major role against erosion and silting up. 380 kilometers of dune cordon spread over 7 departments are now protected by the National Forestry Office. In the mountains, forests prevent avalanches, rockfalls and landslides. They are also home to the sources of the largest rivers in Europe.

A resource to be preserved

The wood is a renewable natural resource primordial in our societies. Heating, construction, furnishing, packaging, insulation… There are many uses for wood. Thanks to the ONF and the keen awareness of the forest growers, this resource is managed in accordance with the rules of sustainable development, and harvested while respecting the natural growth of forests.

The walker's charter

But beyond its ecological and economic interest, the forest quite simply makes the happiness of many walkers, cyclists and horse riders, all involved in the preservation of this exceptional natural space. Because in the forest, everyone is responsible. The protection of natural spaces is the priority of the National Forestry Office, which has highlighted the points of vigilance to be aware of so that the forest remains a preserved sanctuary, where walkers and animals evolve in complete safety. To help visitors protect France's forests, the ONF has published the walker's charter, “I love the forest: together, let's protect it! ".

The charter reveals the dangers that threaten our forests, such as litter, fires, lawless pickings and pick-ups, motor vehicles, traffic outside of marked paths and trails, or the unsupervised presence of pets. The forest is precious and fragile. It is necessary to adopt the right reflexes to preserve it. Before your walks, do not forget to consult the walker's charter.

Forest walkers

Read also on the same subject: 
In the forest, adopt the right reflexes

Fragiles et précieuses, les forêts de France méritent notre respect

Avec les beaux jours, l’appel de la forêt se fait plus pressant. Balade à pied ou à cheval, sortie vélo, running, flânerie et découverte en famille, constituent les petits plaisirs des week-ends ensoleillés. Dans les Landes, à Fontainebleau et Rambouillet, dans la haute-vallée de la Chevreuse, dans les Alpes ou les Pyrénées, les forêts de France abritent une riche biodiversité. Elles contribuent à l’équilibre de notre environnement.

En plaine, en montagne et sur le littoral, nos forêts sont d’une extraordinaire diversité. Les forêts de France se composent de 138 essences d’arbres. Les chênes, hêtres et châtaigniers sont les feuillus les plus représentés. Dans la grande famille des résineux, ce sont les pins maritimes et sylvestre, les épicéas et les sapins qui sont les plus abondants. À ces sept essences principales s’ajoutent les merisiers, tilleuls, érables, charmes, alisiers, trembles, frênes, et aulnes. Tous ces arbres abritent une faune et une flore abondantes. Dans les forêts de métropole, vivent en effet 73 espèces de mammifères, 120 espèces d’oiseaux, des dizaines de milliers d’espèces d’insectes et d’arachnides, et pas moins de 30 000 espèces de champignons !

Un poumon vert

Dans l’hexagone, la forêt gagne du terrain et c’est une excellente nouvelle ! 17 millions d’hectares de forêt constituent le poumon vert de notre pays. La forêt joue un rôle majeur pour la préservation de l’environnement. Elle contribue par exemple à la filtration des eaux de pluie et de ruissellement. Une forêt en bordure d’eau absorbe par ailleurs jusqu’à 80% des nitrates, 70% des phosphates et 70% des sédiments. Grâce à la photosynthèse, la forêt absorbe également le dioxyde de carbone et rejette de l’oxygène. On estime qu’en France, 70 millions de tonnes de dioxyde de carbone sont piégés chaque année par la forêt, ce qui contribue à la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.

Cerf élaphe dans une forêt

Un rempart contre les risques naturels

Les forêts protègent les populations des risques naturels, que sont les inondations, les glissements de terrain, les avalanches, ou encore les effets du vent. Si la majorité des forêts se trouvent en plaine, les forêts des littoraux méditerranéen et atlantique jouent un rôle majeur contre l’érosion et l’ensablement. 380 kilomètres de cordon dunaire répartis sur 7 départements sont aujourd’hui protégés par l’Office National des Forêts. En montagne, les forêts préviennent les avalanches, les chutes de pierre et les glissements de terrain. Elles abritent également les sources des plus grands fleuves d’Europe.

Une ressource à préserver

Le bois est une ressource naturelle renouvelable primordiale dans nos sociétés. Chauffage, construction, ameublement, emballage, isolation… Nombreux sont les usages du bois. Grâce à l’ONF et à la conscience aiguisée des sylviculteurs, cette ressource est gérée dans les règles du développement durable, et prélevée dans le respect de l’accroissement naturel des forêts.

La charte du promeneur

Mais au-delà de son intérêt écologique et économique, la forêt fait tout simplement le bonheur de nombreux marcheurs, cyclistes et cavaliers, tous impliqués dans la préservation de cet espace naturel d’exception. Car en forêt, la responsabilité de tous est engagée. La protection des espaces naturels est la priorité de l’Office National des Forêts, qui a mis en évidence les point de vigilance à connaître afin que la forêt demeure un sanctuaire préservé, où promeneurs et animaux évoluent en toute sécurité. Pour aider les visiteurs à protéger les forêts de France, l’ONF a édité la charte du promeneur, “J’aime la forêt : ensemble, protégeons-là !”.

La charte révèle les dangers qui menacent nos forêts, tels que les déchets, les feux, les cueillettes et ramassages anarchiques, les véhicules à moteur, la circulation en dehors des chemins et sentiers balisés, ou encore la présence non surveillée des animaux de compagnie. La forêt est précieuse et fragile. Il convient d’adopter les bons réflexes pour la préserver. Avant vos promenades, n’oubliez pas de consulter la charte du promeneur.

Promeneurs en forêt

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet : 
En forêt, adoptez les bons réflexes