carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

In the forest, adopt the right reflexes to protect these fragile places

The French forest is particularly diverse due to the great variety of climates and reliefs. A real wealth for our country, a third of the territory of which is covered with forests. A natural treasure that should be preserved. In the forest, adopt the right reflexes!

THEOffice National des Forêts manages nearly eleven million hectares of public forests in mainland France and overseas. 9 people ensure the sustainable management of these forests. They are in charge of regulating wood production, preserving biodiversity, welcoming the public and managing natural risks. But all forest users have a role to play in protecting this ecosystem. We invite you to discover the main principles that every walker in the forest should have in mind. In the forest, adopt the right reflexes ...

Collect waste to preserve the beauty and life of the forest

"Waste, never in the forest" ... The NFB's call is very clear. Household, industrial and electronic waste pollute water and soil. They are dangerous for animals as well as for people.

Moderate the picking of flowers and mushrooms

Overpicking can threaten even the most common species. Never pick more than five liters of mushrooms - i.e. a basket - and limit yourself to the contents of one hand for the flowers.

Mushroom in the undergrowth

No fire, no barbecue, no cigarette ends

Forest fires are often caused by negligence. Dangerous for walkers and residents, fire is capable of destroying hectares of forest in a very short time. It then takes decades for biodiversity to recover. If you witness a fire start, immediately notify the emergency services

Signaling

In the forest, although the signage is often discreet, it plays a decisive role. Preserving the forest requires a good knowledge of signage. Do not venture into a forestry work area. Do not use a motor vehicle on roads closed to traffic, marked with a barrier (even open) or a prohibition sign.

In the forest, adopt the right reflexes.

Stay on marked paths or trails

Whether you are walkers, cyclists or horse riders, it is forbidden to drive outside the marked paths. Do not take the false paths created by the regular passage of bicycles or horses. Going off the trails accelerates erosion and degrades the vegetation of the undergrowth.

Respect wildlife

The forest is home to many animals, which feed, reproduce and raise their young in this environment. It is important not to approach them, not to feed them and especially not to touch them.

Fox in forest

Dead wood remains on the ground

Foresters voluntarily leave dead wood on the ground. Its decomposition allows the return of minerals in the soil, necessary for the good health of trees, and for the development of many insects, fungi, birds, lichens, mosses and lichens.

Watch out for ticks

From April to October, ticks are numerous in the forest. Some of them can transmit Lyme disease, which if not detected and treated properly, can cause serious damage to the body for years.

River in Dordogne

En forêt adoptez les bons réflexes afin de protéger ces lieux fragiles

La forêt française est particulièrement diversifiée en raison de la grande variété de climats et de reliefs. Une véritable richesse pour notre pays, dont un tiers du territoire est couvert de forêts. Un trésor naturel qu’il convient de préserver. En forêt, adoptez les bons réflexes !

L’Office National des Forêts gère près de onze millions d’hectares de forêts publiques en métropole et en outre-mer. 9 000 personnes assurent la gestion durable de ces forêts. Elles sont en charge de la régulation de la production de bois, la préservation de la biodiversité, l’accueil du public et la gestion des risques naturels. Mais tous les usagers de la forêt ont un rôle à jouer pour protéger cet écosystème. Nous vous proposons de découvrir les grands principes que tout promeneur en forêt devrait avoir en tête. En forêt, adoptez les bons réflexes…

Remporter les déchets pour préserver la beauté et la vie de la forêt

“Les déchets, jamais dans la forêt”… L’appel de l’ONF est très clair. Les déchets ménagers, industriels, électroniques polluent les eaux et les sols. Ils sont dangereux pour les animaux comme pour les hommes.

Modérer les cueillettes de fleurs et champignons

Les cueillettes excessives peuvent menacer les espèces même les plus courantes. Ne cueillez jamais plus de cinq litres de champignons – c’est à dire un panier – et limitez-vous au contenu d’une main pour les fleurs.

Champignon dans les sous-bois

Ni feu, ni barbecue, ni mégots

Les feux de forêt sont souvent provoqués par des négligences. Dangereux pour les promeneurs et les riverains, le feu est capable de détruire des hectares de forêt en très peu de temps. Il faut ensuite des décennies pour que la biodiversité se rétablisse. Si vous êtes témoin d’un départ de feu, prévenez tout de suite les secours

La signalisation

En forêt, si la signalisation est souvent discrète, elle joue un rôle déterminant. Préserver la forêt passe par une bonne connaissance de la signalisation. Ne vous aventurez pas sur une zone de chantier forestier. Ne circulez pas avec un véhicule à moteur sur des chemins fermés à la circulation, signalés par une barrière (même ouverte) ou un panneau d’interdiction.

En forêt, adoptez les bons réflexes.

Rester sur les chemins ou sentiers balisés

Que vous soyez promeneurs, cyclistes ou cavaliers, il est interdit de circuler en dehors des chemins balisés. N’empruntez pas les faux chemins créés par le passage régulier de vélos ou de chevaux. Sortir des sentiers accélère l’érosion et dégrade la végétation du sous-bois.

Respecter la faune sauvage

La forêt abrite de nombreux animaux, qui se nourrissent, se reproduisent et élèvent leurs petits dans ce milieu. Il est important de ne pas s’approcher d’eux, de ne pas les nourrir et de ne surtout pas les toucher.

Renard en forêt

Le bois mort reste au sol

Les forestiers laissent volontairement du bois mort au sol. Sa décomposition permet le retour des minéraux dans le sol, nécessaire à la bonne santé des arbres, et au développement de nombreux insectes, champignons, oiseaux, lichens, mousses et lichens.

Attention aux tiques

D’avril à octobre, les tiques sont nombreuses en forêt. Certaines d’entre elles peuvent transmettre la maladie de Lyme, qui si elle n’est pas décelée et traitée correctement, peut causer des troubles graves sur l’organisme pendant des années.

Rivière en Dordogne

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Fragiles et précieuses, les forêts de France méritent notre plus grand respect