carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Along the water, on the most beautiful canals in France

Who has never dreamed of sailing along the water and to the rhythm of the locks on the canals of France? Finally, let yourself be charmed by the discovery of rural France at only 6 km / h.

Llong-time lovers are thrilled on the canals of France. Make way for disconnection, reading and lazing around. On the canals, stress and speed have no place. The days pass peacefully across the plains and valleys. Only the passage of locks disturb the tranquility of the passengers. France has the largest network of inland waterways in Europe. We are therefore offering you today an overview of the canals in our regions, to be discovered as soon as the confinement is over.

The Canal du Midi

From Toulouse to the Mediterranean, the Canal du Midi is an exceptional work of art. It was indeed the largest construction site of the XNUMXth century, orchestrated by its designer Pierre-Paul Riquet, under the control of Colbert and Louis XIV. Throughout this peaceful and shaded canal, the typical villages, the charming residences and the enchanting landscapes make the happiness of sailors. It is also the busiest of all the canals in France.

The Canal du Midi is the most famous of the canals in France
Canal du Midi

The Ourq canal

In the Parisian basin, the Ourq canal connects Mareuil-sur-Ourq to the Villette basin in Paris. The Canal de l'Ourq, the Canal Saint-Denis, the Bassin de la Villette and the Canal Saint-Martin thus constitute the 130 kilometers of the Parisian canal network. Very popular with fishermen and cyclists, the canal offers city dwellers a break of serenity and greeneryaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.

The Nantes-Brest canal

Built at the request of Napoleon Bonaparte, the Nantes-Brest canal opened a shipping lane within Brittany. It used to allow the transport of goods throughout the region. The towpaths have now become places for walking or cycling. They promise hours of change of scenery in the heart of a preserved and welcoming nature.

From Nantes to Brest
Nantes to Brest Canal

The side canal at the Garonne

Continue with the side canal at the Garonne connecting Toulouse to Castets-en-Dorthe near Bordeaux. It was built in the XNUMXth century as an extension of the Canal du Midi. The set of two channels then form the Canal des Deux-Mers connecting the Mediterranean to the Atlantic. About sixty locks, seven canal bridges and the Montech water slope make this structure a jewel of French heritage.

The Briare canal

The Briare canal is one of the oldest canals in France. It has the double peculiarity of connecting the Loire and the Seine and to be the first “sharing reach canal”, the prototype of all modern canals. The 54-kilometer route is punctuated by 38 locks across the Loing and Trézée valleys.

Briare Canal
Briare Canal

The Marne-Rhine-East Canal

Almost 400 kilometers long and with 178 locks the Marne-Rhine canal, is also connected to the Seine by the lateral canal of the Marne. Several remarkable structures line this canal. The inclined plane of Saint-Mouis-Arzvileer, the three tunnels, the canal bridges and the high-fall lock of Réchicourt-le-Château are particularly popular with sailors.

The Nivernais canal

The Nivernais canal for its part, links the Loire basin to that of the Yonne. Its two aqueduct bridges, its four double-lock locks, and its three long tunnels have made this charming canal famous. It still remains today, the second busiest canal in France.

Nivernais Canal
Nivernais Canal

Read also on the same subject: 
Slow Tourism: Discover France aboard the trains of yesteryear

Au fil de l’eau, sur les plus beaux canaux de France

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de naviguer au fil de l’eau et au rythme des écluses sur les canaux de France ? Laissez-vous enfin charmer par la découverte de la France des campagnes à seulement 6 km/h.

Les amoureux du temps long sont comblés sur les canaux de France. Place à la déconnexion, à la lecture et au farniente. Sur les canaux, le stress et la vitesse n’ont aucune place. Les journées s’égrainent paisiblement à travers les plaines et les vallons. Seuls les passages d’écluses viennent troubler la quiétude des passagers. La France est riche du plus vaste réseau de voies navigables d’Europe. Nous vous proposons donc aujourd’hui un tour d’horizon des canaux de nos régions, à découvrir dès la fin du confinement.

Le canal du midi

De Toulouse à la Méditerranée, le canal du Midi est un ouvrage d’art exceptionnel. Il fût en effet le plus grand chantier du XVIIème siècle, orchestré par son concepteur Pierre-Paul Riquet, sous le contrôle de Colbert et Louis XIV. Tout au long de ce paisible et ombragé canal, les villages typiques, les demeures de charmes et les paysages enchanteurs font le bonheur des navigateurs. Il est d’ailleurs le plus fréquenté de tous les canaux de France.

Le canal du Midi est le plus connu des canaux de France
Canal du Midi

Le canal de l’Ourq

Dans le bassin Parisien, le canal de l’Ourq relie Mareuil-sur-Ourq au bassin de la Villette à Paris. Le canal de l’Ourq, le canal Saint-Denis, le bassin de la Villette et le canal Saint-Martin constituent ainsi les 130 kilomètres du réseau des canaux parisiens. Fort apprécié des pêcheurs et des cyclistes, le canal offre aux citadins une parenthèse de sérénité et de verdure, loin de l’agitation de la ville.

Le canal de Nantes à Brest

Construit à la demande de Napoléon Bonaparte, le canal de Nantes à Brest a ouvert une voie de navigation à l’intérieur de la Bretagne. Il permettait autrefois le transport de marchandise à travers toute la région. Les chemins de halage sont désormais devenus des lieux de promenade à pied ou à vélo. Ils promettent ainsi des heures de dépaysement au coeur d’une nature préservée et accueillante.

De Nantes à Brest
Canal de Nantes à Brest

Le canal latéral à la Garonne

Poursuivons avec le canal latéral à la Garonne reliant Toulouse à Castets-en-Dorthe près de Bordeaux. Il a été édifié au XIXème siècle dans le prolongement du canal du Midi. L’ensemble des deux canaux forment alors le canal des Deux-Mers reliant la Méditerranée à l’Atlantique. Une soixantaine d’écluses, sept ponts-canaux et la pente d’eau de Montech font de cet ouvrage un joyau du patrimoine français.

Le canal de Briare

Le canal de Briare est l’un des plus anciens canaux de France. Il a la double particularité de relier la Loire et la Seine et d’être le premier “canal à bief de partage”, prototype de tous les canaux modernes. Le tracé long de 54 kilomètres est ponctué de 38 écluses à travers les vallées du Loing et de la Trézée.

Canal de Briare
Canal de Briare

Le canal de la Marne au Rhin-Est

Long de près de 400 kilomètres et fort de ses 178 écluses le canal de la Marne au Rhin, est également connecté à la Seine par le canal latéral de la Marne. Plusieurs ouvrages remarquables jalonnent ce canal. Le plan incliné de Saint-Mouis-Arzvileer, les trois tunnels, les ponts-canaux et l’écluse de haute chute de Réchicourt-le-Château sont particulièrement appréciés des navigateurs.

Le canal du Nivernais

Le canal du Nivernais relie pour sa part le bassin de la Loire à celui de l’Yonne. Ses deux ponts aqueducs, ses quatre écluses à double-sas, et ses trois longs tunnels ont fait la renommée de ce charmant canal. Il demeure d’ailleurs aujourd’hui encore, le deuxième canal le plus fréquenté de France.

Canal du Nivernais
Canal du Nivernais

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet : 
Slow Tourisme : Découvrir la France à bord des trains d’autrefois