carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Zoom on 5 of the most beautiful hikes in Puy-de-Dôme

In the heart of Auvergne, the sumptuous landscapes of the Puy-de-Dôme hikes are available to lovers of walking and wild nature. From the famous chain of Puys, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, to the Forez mountains, to the Dore mountains and its famous Puy de Sancy… The chains of dormant volcanoes draw a territory of great beauty.

Lhe department of Puy-de-Dôme is a French geological and ecological treasure. Hills, domes, volcanoes and granite plateaus rub shoulders with green plains and valleys. The Sancy and the Cézallier are often watered by rain and snow, while a drier but stormy climate reigns over the Limagnes. From this climatic diversity emerges a biodiversity of great richness. Meadows, lawns, woods, high altitude moors, peat bogs and natural lakes welcome an abundant fauna and lush flora. A natural setting awaits lovers of hiking in the Puy de Dôme.

In the Puy-de-Dôme, 3 kilometers of Small Hikes listed in the Departmental Plan of Walking and Hiking Routes, await athletes and families. In a spirit of openness and preservation, the Departmental Council has structured and developed paths. These trails allow visitors to explore the territory in complete safety. The color code of the markings indicates to everyone whether the chosen hike corresponds to their level and their desire for the day. The yellow butterfly symbolizes a family walk "Lea and Tino" lasting 716 minutes to 45 hours. the blue markings correspond to hikes of less than 2 hours. And yellow, to those of 2 to 2 hours. Green indicates a hike of more than 4 hours.

Léa and Tino family walk: The Gergovie plateau

To start with the family, this 3,5 km loop around the Gergovie plateau. In the footsteps of Vercingétorix, you will discover the oppidum. It is the site of the famous Gallic victory against the Roman legions.

Family break on the Gergovie plateau

Blue classified Puy-de-Dôme hike: The ascension du puy de Dôme

Departing from Col de Ceyssat, the laces of the Muleteers trail will take you to the summit in less than an hour. This path would have been taken by pilgrims going to the temple of Mercury, god of travelers, merchants and thieves. This large temple was an important place of worship for the Gallo-Romans. Its remains were discovered in 1872, during the construction of the Observatory.

Walk in Puy-de-Dôme

Yellow classified Puy-de-Dôme hike: Round du puy de Dôme

From the Col de Ceyssat car park, allow a good two hours to complete this hike. You will cover 7,5 kilometers and nearly 400 meters of elevation gain. Throughout your walk, you will progress under a canopy of beech and hazelnut trees, then in pastures. You will contemplate the Puy de Côme, the Grand Suchet and the Petit Suchet, as well as the volcanoes and the Sancy massif.

Hiking in the undergrowth

Green classified Puy-de-Dôme hike: The stonemason's hut, between basalt and granite

Departing from Saint-Babel, this 10-kilometer hike with nearly 300 meters of elevation gain can be completed in less than 4 hours. It will finally lead you between the old volcanoes of the County. You will therefore walk to the crystalline base cut by the Saint-Yvoine horst. Exceptional panoramas await you. After having made this beautiful hike, do not forget to go through the nearby County Forest. It is recognized as one of the richest forest areas in Auvergne. It is also classified “Natura 2000” for its ecological, faunistic and floristic interest.

Hiking in Puy-de-Dôme

For great athletes: The domes loop

To end this overview, the loop of the domes is a hiking route over 2 or 3 days. You will then walk through the Chaîne des Puys, along the 49 kilometers of marked paths that cross landscapes and sumptuous panoramas. At the bend of the trails, hikers will discover dragonflies, agrions, butterflies, lichens, mosses, hymenoptera, vipers, and bats. The lucky ones might cross paths with the little tengmalm owl. This mountain owl is only 25 centimeters.

And to give you a taste, do not miss this beautiful video on the hikes of Puy-de-Dôme.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Zoom sur 5 des plus belles randonnées du Puy-de-Dôme

Au coeur de l’Auvergne, les paysages somptueux des randonnées du Puy-de-Dôme s’offrent aux passionnés de marche et de nature sauvage. De la célèbre chaîne des Puys, classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, aux monts du Forez, jusqu’aux monts Dore et son célèbre puy de Sancy… Les chaînes de volcans endormis dessinent un territoire d’une grande beauté.

Le département du Puy-de-dôme est un trésor géologique et écologique français. Les collines, dômes, volcans et plateaux granitiques côtoient les plaines et les vallées verdoyantes. Le Sancy et le Cézallier sont souvent arrosés par la pluie et la neige, alors q’un climat plus sec mais orageux règne sur les Limagnes. De cette diversité climatique émerge une biodiversité d’une très grande richesse. Prairies, pelouses, bois, landes d’altitude, tourbières et lacs naturels accueillent une faune abondante et une flore luxuriante. Un écrin de nature attend les amateurs de randonnées dans le Puy de Dôme.

Dans le Puy-de-Dôme, 3 716 kilomètres de Petites Randonnées inscrites au Plan Départemental des Itinéraires de Promenade et de Randonnée, attendent les sportifs et les familles. Dans un esprit d’ouverture et de préservation, le Conseil départemental a structuré et aménagé des chemins. Ces sentiers permettent aux visiteurs de parcourir le territoire en toute sécurité. Le code couleur du balisage indique à chacun, si la randonnée choisie correspond à son niveau et son envie du jour. Le papillon jaune symbolise une balade familiale “Léa et Tino” d’une durée de 45 minutes à 2h. le balisage bleu correspond aux randonnées de moins de 2 heures. Et le jaune, à celles de 2 à 4 heures. Le vert indique quant-à-lui une randonnée de plus de 4 heures.

Balade familiale Léa et Tino : Le plateau de Gergovie

Pour commencer en famille, cette boucle de 3,5 kilomètres autour du plateau de Gergovie. Sur les traces de Vercingétorix, vous découvrirez l’oppidum. Il est le site de la célèbre victoire gauloise face aux légions romaines.

Pause familiale sur le plateau de Gergovie

Itinéraire bleu : L’ascension du puy de Dôme

Au départ du col de Ceyssat, les lacets du sentier des Muletiers vous conduiront au sommet en moins d’une heure. Ce chemin aurait été emprunté par les pélerins se rendant au temple de Mercure, dieu des voyageurs, des marchands et des voleurs. Ce grand temple était un important lieu de culte pour les Gallo-Romains. Ses vestiges ont été découverts en 1872, lors de la construction de l’Observatoire.

Balade en Puy-de-Dôme

Itinéraire jaune : Le tour du puy de Dôme

Au départ du parking du Col de Ceyssat, comptez deux bonnes heures pour réaliser cette randonnée. Vous parcourrez 7,5 kilomètres et près de 400 mètres de dénivelé positif. Tout au long de votre balade, vous progresserez sous une voûte de hêtres et de noisetiers, puis dans des pâturages. Vous contemplerez le puy de Côme, le Grand Suchet et le Petit Suchet, ainsi que les volcans et le massif du Sancy.

Randonnée dans les sous-bois

Itinéraire vert : La cabane du tailleur de pierres, entre basalte et granit

Au départ de Saint-Babel, cette randonnée de 10 kilomètres et près de 300 mètres de dénivelé positif se parcourt en moins de 4 heures. Elle vous mènera enfin entre les vieux volcans de la Comté. Vous cheminerez donc jusqu’au socle cristallin coupé par le horst de Saint-Yvoine. Des panoramas exceptionnels vous attendent. Après avoir réalisé cette belle randonnée, n’oubliez pas de passer par la forêt de la Comté toute proche. Elle est reconnue comme l’un des massifs forestiers les plus riches d’Auvergne. Elle est d’ailleurs classée “Natura 2000” pour son intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique.

Randonnée en Puy-de-Dôme

Pour les grands sportifs : La boucle des dômes

Pour terminer ce tour d’horizon, la boucle des dômes est un itinéraire de randonnée sur 2 ou 3 jours. Vous marcherez alors à travers la Chaîne des Puys, le long des 49 kilomètres de chemins balisés qui traversent des paysages et des panoramas somptueux. Au détour des sentiers, les randonneurs découvriront ainsi libellules, agrions, papillons, lichens, mousses, hyménoptères, vipères, et chauve-souris. Les plus chanceux croiseront peut-être la route de la petite chouette de tengmalm. Cette chouette des montagnes ne mesure que 25 centimètres.

Et pour vous donner un avant-goût, ne manquez pas cette belle vidéo sur les randonnées du Puy-de-Dôme.

La rédaction