carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Sports Outdoor: A quest for well-being rather than performance

Running, hiking, trail running, marathon, cycling, triathlon ... To play sports, the favorite setting for the French is the outdoors. 47% of French people practice one or more outdoor sports. Among them, 36% indulge in their favorite sport in a natural environment, while 11% simply choose their city or neighborhood.

Sland, sea or even air ports, outdoor sports are really popular! The Ministry of Sports indicates that more than 30 million French people occasionally practice sport in nature… Hiking and Mountain biking are the most popular, closely followed by jogging, road cycling and fishing. The observatory of youth, popular education and community life looked into the habits of the French, and the results of their survey say a lot about our practices.

The primary motivations

Health and relaxation are the primary motivations of French outdoor athletes. Pleasure, amusement, improvement in appearance or form, but also contact with nature and meeting others are also important goals. Oddly enough, performance, competition, risk, adventure and thrills occupy the bottom of the podium.

“A majority of athletes are engaged in regular and independent amateur sport, and seek more to maintain good health, or to relax, than to surpass themselves or have extreme sensations. If the search for health is the first of the motivations displayed overall, for those who play football and tennis, for example, the search for pleasure and fun takes precedence. Health, relaxation, but also contact with nature are sought after by hikers, while fitness practitioners place health and improving appearance and shape very much in the forefront of their motivations. "

If one finds oneself dreaming while watching the extreme videos of the most reckless sportsmen, the average Outdoor sportsman is not in search of performance, not even in search of adrenaline. What matters above all is the well-being and the sharing of privileged moments.

Mountain biking with friends

In pursuit of well-being

Outdoor activities, well-being and health prevention are closely linked in outdoor sport. Outside, the five senses are awake. The body sharpens as you go out, and the mind frees itself from worries. Hikers and Nordic walkers work the endurance of body and mind. By bike, cardiovascular and respiratory development is ideal. The practitioners work on their balance and escape far from the daily constraints. In climbingflexibility and concentration are essential.

After the effort ...

This sport boosts self-confidence as much as it promotes conditioning of the whole body. In orienteering, alertness is put to the test. In water, the kayak works coordination and upper body muscles in dreamy settings, while windsurfing and sailing ensure an escape. The followers of Outdoor Fitness are city dwellers who take care of their health by traveling through their daily environment.

Live moments of sharing

While some athletes practice their favorite sport alone, others prefer outings as a couple, with family or friends. Outdoor sport is experienced with those we love, in the heart of mostly exceptional natural landscapes.

Friends in nature

With outdoor sports all the components of well-being come together. Physical effort, breathtaking landscapes and privileged relationships… A real recipe for well-being. No wonder the French find themselves in the middle of nature to leave everyday worries behind!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Sports Outdoor : Une quête de bien-être plus que de performance

Course à pied, randonnée, trail, marathon, cyclisme, triathlon… Pour faire du sport, le cadre de prédilection des français est le plein-air. 47 % des français pratiquent un ou plusieurs sports Outdoor. Parmi eux, 36 % s’adonnent à leur sport préféré en milieu naturel, alors que 11 % choisissent tout simplement leur ville ou leur quartier.

Sports terrestres, nautiques ou même aériens, les sports Outdoor ont vraiment la côte ! Le Ministère des Sports indique d’ailleurs que plus de 30 millions de français pratiquent occasionnellement un sport dans la nature… La randonnée pédestre et le VTT sont les plus plébiscités, suivis de près par le footing, le vélo de route et la pêche. L’observatoire de la jeunesse, de l’éducation populaire et de la vie associative s’est penché sur les habitudes des français, et les résultats de leur enquête en disent long sur nos pratiques.

Les motivations premières

La santé et la détente sont les premières motivations des sportifs Outdoor français. Le plaisir, l’amusement, l’amélioration de l’apparence ou de la forme, mais aussi le contact avec la nature et la rencontre avec les autres constituent également des objectifs importants. Curieusement, la performance, la compétition, le risque, l’aventure et les sensations occupent le bas du podium.

“Une majorité des sportifs est engagée dans une pratique sportive amateure régulière et autonome, et cherche davantage à se maintenir en bonne santé, ou à se détendre, qu’à se dépasser ou à avoir des sensations extrêmes. Si la recherche de la santé est globalement la première des motivations affichées, pour ceux qui pratiquent le football et le tennis, par exemple, la recherche du plaisir et de l’amusement prime. Santé, détente, mais aussi contacts avec la nature sont recherchés par les randonneurs, tandis que les pratiquants du fitness mettent la santé et l’amélioration de l’apparence et de la forme très en avant dans leurs motivations.”

Si l’on se prend à rêver en regardant les vidéos extrêmes des sportifs les plus téméraires, le sportif Outdoor moyen n’est pas en quête de performance, pas même en quête d’adrénaline. Ce qui compte par dessus tout, c’est le bien-être et le partage de moments privilégiés.

VTT entre amis

À la poursuite du bien-être

Activités de pleine nature, bien-être et prévention santé sont intimement liés en sport Outdoor. A l’extérieur, Les cinq sens sont en éveil. Le corps s’affûte au fur et à mesure des sorties, et le mental se libère des soucis. Les randonneurs et marcheurs nordiques travaillent l’endurance du corps et de l’esprit. En vélo, le développement cardio-vasculaire et respiratoire est idéal. Les pratiquants travaillent leur équilibre et s’échappent loin des contraintes quotidiennes. En escalade, souplesse et concentration sont indispensables.

Après l'effort...

Ce sport booste la confiance en soi autant qu’il favorise le gainage de tout le corps. En course d’orientation, la vivacité d’esprit est mise à l’épreuve. Dans l’eau, le kayak travaille la coordination et les muscles du haut du corps dans des décors de rêve, alors que le windsurf et la voile assurent une évasion. Les adeptes du Fitness Outdoor sont quant à eux des citadins qui soignent leur santé en sillonnant leur environnement quotidien.

Vivre des instants de partage

Si certains sportifs pratiquent leur sport préféré seul, d’autres privilégient les sorties en couple, en famille ou entre amis. Le sport de pleine nature se vit avec ceux qu’on aime, au coeur de paysages naturels le plus souvent exceptionnels.

Amis en pleine nature

Avec les sports Outdoor toutes les composantes du bien-être sont réunies. Effort physique, paysages à couper le souffle et relations privilégiées… Une vraie recette du bien-être. Pas étonnant que les français se retrouvent en pleine nature pour laisser derrière eux les soucis du quotidien !

La rédaction