carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Walk: Focus on the Open Churches network

Do you like to recharge your batteries in quiet and peaceful places during your hikes? You will undoubtedly appreciate the buildings of the Open Churches network. They are conducive to rest, meditation, as well as the discovery of art and heritage.

Din the North of France and in the Grand-Est, in Belgium and in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Open Churches network brings together more than 425 places of worship. The network's objective is to introduce visitors to magnificent monuments. All the buildings that have joined the “Open Churches” project are places steeped in history. Their architecture and their close environment allow visitors to experience a real immersion in the heritage and history of the region. Going by bike or on foot around these churches is an opportunity to unite two passions, hiking and heritage.

Enhancement of heritage

By creating the Open Churches network, the founders' primary objective was to highlight religious heritage and make it accessible to as many people as possible. Little by little, the volunteers developed tools, routes, circuits and events. They thus aroused the interest of a large audience. Visits, concerts, conferences but also hiking trails were then developed around the visit of the buildings.

Walk through the vineyards

Open Churches Network: a space dedicated to all

The stone walls, the rich decorations, the sculptures, the works of art, but also the tumultuous stories and the legends… Within the open churches, everything is present to lead the walkers to the discovery and contemplation. All visitors are welcome. Groups, families, children, adolescents ... Everyone can choose to visit for a few minutes or a few hours, one or the other of these silent witnesses of the history of our territories.

Church and mill of Maroilles

Church and mill of Maroilles

Guided tours in Open Churches

During a hiking route, guides can accompany visitors. They thus discover the peculiarities of each place of worship. Within each church, passionate volunteers welcome you with open arms. More than 2 volunteers organize events and bring the project to life. They raise awareness, provide information and contribute to securing and renovating the premises.

Open Churches network

By exploring these sacred places, you will experience quality moments with your loved ones, thanks to the cultural, spiritual, creative and sporting opportunities that develop within the network. Discovery hikes, exhibitions, workshops, commemorations, concerts, conferences ... Young and old can easily find what they are looking for during a hike around a church in Open Churches network. An enrichment for body and mind, and memories to build as a family.

For more information, do not miss the site du Open Churches network, listing each place of worship adhering to the project, its periods and opening hours, photos, "its peculiarities, the remarkable features highlighted, cultural events, and tourist circuits in the area".

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Promenade : Zoom sur le réseau Églises Ouvertes

Vous aimez vous ressourcer dans des endroits calmes et paisibles pendant vos randonnées ? Vous apprécierez sans aucun doute les édifices du réseau Églises Ouvertes. Ils sont propices au repos, au recueillement, ainsi qu’à la découverte de l’art et du patrimoine.

Dans le Nord de la France et dans le Grand-Est, en Belgique et au Grand-Duché du Luxembourg, le réseau Églises Ouvertes rassemble plus de 425 lieux de cultes. L’objectif du réseau est de faire découvrir de magnifiques monuments aux visiteurs. Tous les édifices ayant adhéré au projet “Églises Ouvertes” sont des lieux chargés d’histoire. Leur architecture et leur environnement proche permettent au visiteurs de vivre une véritable immersion dans le patrimoine et l’histoire de la région. Partir à vélo ou à pied aux environs de ces églises est l’occasion d’unir deux passions, la randonnée et le patrimoine.

Une mise en valeur du patrimoine

En créant le réseau Églises Ouvertes, l’objectif premier des fondateurs a été de mettre en valeur le patrimoine religieux et de le rendre accessible au plus grand nombre. Peu à peu les bénévoles ont développé des outils, des parcours, des circuits et des événements. Ils ont ainsi suscité l’intérêt d’un large public. Visites, concerts, conférences mais aussi circuits de randonnée se sont alors développés autour de la visite des édifices.

Promenade à travers les vignes

Églises Ouvertes : un espace dédié à tous

Les murs en pierre, les riches décorations, les sculptures, les oeuvres d’art, mais aussi les histoires tumultueuses et les légendes… Au sein des Églises ouvertes, tout est présent pour conduire les marcheurs à la découverte et au recueillement. Tous les visiteurs sont les bienvenus. Groupes, familles, enfants, adolescents… Chacun peut choisir de visiter pendant quelques minutes ou quelques heures, l’un ou l’autre de ces témoins silencieux de l’histoire de nos territoires.

Église et moulin de Maroilles

Église et moulin de Maroilles

Des visites guidées au sein des Églises Ouvertes

Durant un itinéraire en randonnée, des guides peuvent accompagner les visiteurs. Ils découvrent ainsi les particularités de chaque lieu de culte. Au sein de chaque église, des bénévoles passionnés vous accueillent à bras ouverts. Plus de 2 000 bénévoles animent en effet des événements, font vivre le projet. Ils sensibilisent, informent et contribuent à la sécurisation et la rénovation des lieux.

réseau Églises Ouvertes

En partant à la découverte de ces lieux sacrés, vous vivrez des instants de qualité avec vos proches, grâce aux opportunités culturelles, spirituelles, créatives et sportives qui se développent au sein du réseau. Randonnées découverte, expositions, ateliers, commémorations, concerts, conférences… Petits et grands trouvent facilement leur bonheur lors d’une randonnée autour d’une église du réseau Églises Ouvertes. Un enrichissement pour le corps et pour l’esprit, et des souvenirs à construire en famille.

Pour plus d’informations, ne manquez pas le site du réseau Églises Ouvertes, répertoriant chaque lieu de culte adhérant au projet, ses périodes et horaires d’ouverture, des photos, “ses particularités, les éléments remarquables mis en valeur, les évènements culturels, et les circuits touristiques des environs”.

La rédaction