carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage of # 9: The Palace of Fontainebleau

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the sites recognized in 1981, the Palace of Fontainebleau and its park. The architecture, integrity and history they have witnessed make them treasures of our country's heritage.

On says Palace of Fontainebleau that it has been "the true home of kings, the house of centuries". Fontainebleau is 800 years of history united in one place. 34 kings and 2 emperors used it as a hunting or holiday residence. For 7 centuries the rulers, officials, intimates and the court have continuously inhabited the place. With its 1 pieces spread over 500 hectares, Fontainebleau is an invitation discovering the history of France. But the places are also conducive to discovering the history of art, which is intimately linked to it.

Fontainebleau
“Fontainebleau embodies, better than elsewhere, the French art of living. "

A deserved recognition

Over the centuries, the Palace of Fontainebleau has played a considerable role in the development of architecture and the arts. The architecture and decor of the castle have indeed exerted a major influence on the development of the arts in France and in Europe. Many events in the history of France of the greatest importance are also associated with this emblematic historic site.

“Residence until the 1685th century of French sovereigns, who constantly maintained and enriched it with artistic contributions, the Château de Fontainebleau is also associated with history. Significant events took place there such as the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, in 1814, or the abdication of Napoleon I, in XNUMX. "

Fontainebleau has been constantly occupied, maintained and modified. But he kept the trace of every reign and every style. The successive contributions of François Ier, Henri IV, Louis XIII, Louis XV, Louis XVI and Napoleon I, however, have not altered its authenticity and its integrity.

A little history

Fontainebleau is the only castle inhabited by all the rulers from the XNUMXth to the XNUMXth century. Formerly, the castle was a hunting residence, located in the heart of a large forest in the Ile de France. Then Fontainebleau has undergone many transformations during its history. In the XNUMXth century, under the influence of the Renaissance, François I wanted to make it the “new Rome”. He contributed greatly to its enlargement and embellishment. Italian artists, painters, sculptors and architects were invited to decorate the immense palace. It will eventually become a major center for artists.

In the XNUMXth century, after successive expansions, the palace and the park of Fontainebleau acquired the physiognomy that they will keep until today. Napoleon will greatly contribute to its restoration. It will completely refurnish the palace after the Revolution. It still remains today "the most furnished of the royal castles".

Fontainebleau today

500 visitors flock to the aisles and rooms of Fontainebleau every year. They admire there centuries of history in one place. Renaissance masterpieces commissioned by François I, with refined interiors by Marie-Antoinette. From the state apartment of Napoleon I, to discover the tastes of Napoleon III and Eugenie ...

The curators of the castle are implementing a rich program. The art history festival ou historical reconstructions around the life of Napoleon I are very popular. 2020 should be marked by the residence of Thomas Hengelbrock. An exhibition on the Renaissance, "The Art of Festivity at the Cour des Valois" will also be set up.

Patrimoine Mondial de #9 : Le Palais de Fontainebleau

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des sites reconnus en 1981, le Palais de Fontainebleau et son parc. L’architecture, l’intégrité et l’histoire dont ils ont été témoins, en font des joyaux du patrimoine de notre pays.

On dit du Palais de Fontainebleau qu’il a été “la vraie demeure des rois, la maison de siècles”. Fontainebleau c’est 800 ans d’histoire réunis en un seul lieu. 34 rois et 2 empereurs l’ont utilisé comme résidence de chasse ou de villégiature. Durant 7 siècles les souverains, les officiels, les intimes et la cour ont continuellement habité les lieux. Avec ses 1 500 pièces déployées sur les 130 hectares, Fontainebleau est une invitation à la découverte de l’histoire de France. Mais les lieux sont également propices à la découverte l’histoire de l’art, qui lui est intimement liée.

Fontainebleau

“Fontainebleau incarne, mieux qu’ailleurs, l’art de vivre à la française.”

Une reconnaissance méritée

Au fil des siècles, le Palais de Fontainebleau a joué un rôle considérable sur le développement de l’architecture et des arts. L’architecture et le décor du château ont en effet exercé une influence majeure sur l’évolution des arts en France et en Europe. De nombreux évènements de l’histoire de France de la plus haute importance sont par ailleurs associés à ce site historique emblématique.

“Résidence jusqu’au XIXe siècle des souverains français, qui l’ont constamment entretenue et enrichie d’apports artistiques, le château de Fontainebleau est en outre associé à l’Histoire. Des évènements marquants s’y sont déroulés tels que la révocation de l’édit de Nantes, en 1685, ou encore l’abdication de Napoléon Ier, en 1814.”

Fontainebleau a été constamment occupé, entretenu et modifié. Mais il a conservé la trace de chaque règne et de chaque style. Les apports successifs de François Ier, Henri IV, Louis XIII, Louis XV, Louis XVI et Napoléon Ier n’ont toutefois pas altéré sont authenticité et son intégrité.

Grande bibliothèque de Fontainebleau

Grande bibliothèque de Fontainebleau

Un peu d’histoire

Fontainebleau est le seul château habité par tous les souverains du XIIème au XIXème siècle. Autrefois, le château était une résidence de chasse, placée au coeur d’une grande forêt d’Île de France. Puis Fontainebleau a connu de nombreuses transformations au cours de son histoire. Au XVIème siècle, sous l’influence de la Renaissance, François Ier voulût en faire la “nouvelle Rome”. Il contribua grandement à son agrandissement et son embellissement. Les artistes italiens, peintres, sculpteurs et architectes, furent conviés pour décorer l’immense palais. Il deviendra finalement un centre majeur pour les artistes.

Au XIXème siècle, après des agrandissements successifs, le palais et le parc de Fontainebleau ont acquis la physionomie qu’ils conserveront jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Napoléon contribuera grandement à sa restauration. Il remeublera entièrement le palais après la Révolution. Il demeure toujours aujourd’hui “le plus meublé des châteaux royaux”.

Fontainebleau aujourd’hui

500 000 visiteurs se pressent chaque année dans les allées et les salles de Fontainebleau. Ils y admirent des siècles d’histoire en un seul et même lieu. des chefs d’œuvre de la Renaissance commandés par François Ier, aux intérieurs raffinés de Marie-Antoinette. De l’appartement d’apparat de Napoléon Ier, à la découverte des goûts de Napoléon III et Eugénie…

Les conservateurs du château mettent en oeuvre une riche programmation. Le festival de l’histoire de l’art ou des reconstitutions historiques autour de la vie de Napoléon Ier sont très appréciés. 2020 devrait être marquée par la résidence de Thomas Hengelbrock. Une exposition sur la Renaissance, “L’Art de la fête à la cour des Valois” sera par ailleurs mise en place.

La rédaction

Crédit image éditoriale La grande bibliothèque : Shutterstock/Takashi Images

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO