carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 7: Arles, Roman and Roman monuments

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the sites recognized in 1981, Arles and its Roman and Roman monuments.

Lhe Roman and Romanesque monuments of Arles are privileged witnesses major historical periods. They alone reveal the cultural and economic richness of places, at different times of human history. According to UNESCO, Arles moreover offers "an example of adaptation of an ancient city to the civilization of medieval Europe". Imposing ancient monuments from the first century BC stand alongside buildings and remains from the XNUMXth, XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries. This great diversity reveals to visitors how the city of Arles has managed to maintain its prestige throughout history.

Ancient remains, witnesses of the first golden age

The arenas of Arles are a Roman amphitheater inspired by the Colosseum in Rome. They are particularly preserved. The majestic building is the most important Roman remains visible in its integrity in France. In the first century, 25 people could gather at the arenas to celebrate gladiators and Roman victories. Later, shows will be organized there. But with growing medieval insecurity, the population transformed the building into an urban fortress.

The ancient theater of Arles, devolved to Apollo and built during the reign of Augustus, is one of the first stone theaters in the Roman world. The cavea could accommodate 10 spectators, divided according to their social background. Of the 000 majestic Corinthian-style columns that decorated the stage wall, only two have survived. They are now nicknamed "the two widows".

As in any Roman city the forum had a central place within the city, but today only two fragments of the forum of Arles are still visible. On the other hand, the astonishing foundations of this large paved square of 3 square meters - which constitute the originality of this work - are still visible in the basement of the city. Cryptoporticus supported the forum of the ancient city thanks to a horseshoe structure 89 meters long and 59 meters wide.

Arles from the sky
Arles from the sky

The remains of the second golden age

Built at the beginning of the XNUMXth century when the Emperor Constantine resided in Arelate, the thermal baths of Constantine or thermal baths of the North, are among the best preserved in France. The visible remains correspond to the caldarium and solium. The Alyscamps - Champs-Elysées in Provençal - constitute a pagan necropolis from Roman times, which became Christian in the Middle Ages. It witnessed the martyrdom of Genest in the XNUMXth century, and it finally became the starting point of the pilgrimage to Compostela for Provençal pilgrims.

The Alyscamps
The Alyscamps

Medieval remains

In the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, Arles once again became one of the most beautiful cities in the Mediterranean world. Saint-Trophime cathedral is also one of the major monuments of Provençal Romanesque art. Its vast cloister rivals in size with that of Thoronet, Sénanque or Montmajour. Its sculpted portal constitutes one of the largest sculpted sets of Romanesque art in Provence.

Saint-Trophime Cathedral in Arles
Saint-Trophime Cathedral

Arles today

Nowadays, the Roman amphitheater is the most visited monument in the city, but also the best known internationally. It is home to many shows and Camargue races. The theater has also become a place of shows. In summer, it hosts the Arles and Costume Festivals, the International Meetings of Photography, and the Peplum Film Festival. Saint-Trophime Cathedral houses magnificent works from different eras. Visitors can admire there Aubusson tapestry, paintings by Louis Finson such as the stoning of Etienne, but also numerous sculptures, early Christian sarcophagi, tombs and funeral monuments.

At the gates of Arles, the Camargue, a territory where "men live with horses, bulls, birds, sky and water" is offered to visitors. This preserved natural space of 100 hectares, a veritable sanctuary for exceptional flora and fauna, is now protected by the Camargue Regional Nature Park. Manades and marked trails welcome hikers on foot, by bike or on horseback.

Horses running free in the Camargue
Horses running free in the Camargue

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Patrimoine Mondial #7 : Arles, monuments romains et romans

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des sites reconnus en 1981, Arles et ses monuments romains et romans.

Les monuments romains et romans d’Arles sont les témoins privilégiés de périodes historiques majeures. Ils révèlent à eux seuls la richesse culturelle et économique des lieux, à différentes époques de l’histoire humaine. Selon l’UNESCO, Arles offre d’ailleurs “un exemple d’adaptation d’une cité antique à la civilisation de l’Europe médiévale”. D’imposants monuments antiques du premier siècle avant Jésus-Christ côtoient en effet des bâtiments et vestiges des Vème, XIème et XIIème siècles. Cette grande diversité révèle aux visiteurs la manière dont la cité d’Arles a su conserver son prestige à travers l’Histoire.

Les vestiges antiques témoins du premier âge d’or

Les arènes d’Arles sont un amphithéâtre romain inspiré du Colisée de Rome. Elles sont particulièrement préservées. Le majestueux édifice est le plus important vestige romain visible dans son intégrité en France. Au premier siècle, 25 000 personnes pouvaient se réunir aux arènes pour célébrer les gladiateurs et les victoires romaines. Plus tard, des spectacles y seront organisés, avant que l’insécurité médiévale grandissante conduise la population à transformer l’édifice en forteresse urbaine.

Le théâtre antique d’Arles, dévolu à Apollon et construit sous le règne d’Auguste, est l’un des premiers théâtres en pierre du monde romain. La cavea pouvait accueillir 10 000 spectateurs, répartis selon leur appartenance sociale. Sur les 100 majestueuses colonnes de style corinthien qui décoraient le mur de scène, seules deux ont subsisté. On les surnomme désormais “les deux veuves”.

Comme dans toute ville romaine le forum avait une place centrale au sein de la cité, mais aujourd’hui seuls deux fragments du forum d’Arles sont toujours visibles. En revanche, les étonnantes fondations de cette grande place dallée de 3 000 mètres carrés – qui constituent toute l’originalité de cet ouvrage – sont toujours visibles dans le sous-sol de la ville. Les cryptoportiques supportaient le forum de la cité antique grâce à une structure en fer à cheval de 89 mètres de long et 59 mètres de large.

Arles vue du ciel

Arles vue du ciel

Les vestiges du deuxième âge d’or

Construits au début du IVème siècle alors que l’empereur Constantin résidait à Arelate, les thermes de Constantin ou thermes du Nord, sont parmi les mieux conservés de France. Les vestiges visibles correspondent au caldarium et au solium. Les Alyscamps – Champs-Elysées en provençal – constituent une nécropole païenne de l’époque romaine, devenue chrétienne au Moyen-Âge. Elle a été le témoin du martyr de Genest au IVème siècle, et elle est finalement devenue le point de départ du pèlerinage de Compostelle pour les pèlerins provençaux.

Les Alyscamps

Les Alyscamps

Les vestiges médiévaux

Aux XIème et XIIème siècles, Arles redevient l’une des plus belles villes du monde méditerranéen. La cathédrale Saint-Trophime est d’ailleurs l’un des monuments majeurs de l’art roman provençal. Son vaste cloître rivalise dans ses dimensions avec celui du Thoronet, de Sénanque ou de Montmajour. Son portail sculpté constitue quant-à-lui l’un des plus grands ensembles sculptés de l’art roman en Provence.

Cathédrale Saint-Trophime à Arles

Cathédrale Saint-Trophime

Arles aujourd’hui

De nos jours, l’amphithéâtre romain est le monument de la ville le plus visité, mais aussi le plus connu à l’international. Il abrite de nombreux spectacles et des courses camarguaises. Le théâtre est également redevenu un lieu de spectacles. Il accueille en été les Fêtes d’Arles et du costume, les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, ou encore le Festival du film péplum. La cathédrale Saint-Trophime abrite de magnifiques oeuvres de différentes époques. Les visiteurs peuvent y admirer la tapisserie d’Aubusson, des tableaux de Louis Finson tels que la lapidation d’Etienne, mais aussi de nombreuses sculptures, des sarcophages paléochrétiens, des tombeaux et des monuments funéraires.

Aux portes d’Arles, la Camargue, territoire où “les hommes vivent avec les chevaux, les taureaux, les oiseaux, le ciel et l’eau” s’offre aux visiteurs. Cet espace naturel préservé de 100 000 hectares, véritable sanctuaire pour une flore et une faune exceptionnelles, est désormais protégé par le Parc Naturel Régional de Camargue. Manades et sentiers balisés accueillent les promeneurs à pied, à vélo ou à cheval.

Chevaux en liberté en Camargue

Chevaux en liberté en Camargue

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO