fbpx

UNESCO World Heritage # 22: Pyrenees - Mont Perdu

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1997, Pyrenees - Mont Perdu.

In the heart of the Pyrenees, on both sides of the Franco-Spanish border, the Pyrenees - Mont Perdu website is exceptional. Two of the largest and deepest canyons in Europe, as well as three spectacular glacial cirques extend over more than 30 hectares. These impressive geological formations are witnesses to the pastoral past of this territory. Because around the peak of Mont-Perdu, landscapes have not been shaped by man for over a century. It is therefore for its natural and geological wealth, but also for its cultural interest, that the majestic site has been listed as a World Heritage Site.

A cross-border site, union of two natural parks

Pyrenees - Mont Perdu is located in two national parks. On the French side, the Pyrenees National Park and the three glacial cirques of Gavarnie, Estaubé and Troumouse offer breathtaking landscapes. On the Spanish side, the Spanish national park of Ordesa and Mont-Perdu, the canyon of Niscle and the gorges of Escuain also amaze visitors. The two parks are thus working hand in hand to preserve this mountainous territory.

Hiking on the Pyrenees Mont-Perdu site
Hikers in Ordesa and Mont-Perdu National Park

Natural heritage of the Pyrenees - Mont Perdu

Pyrenees - Mont Perdu is recognized as a world heritage for "its areas of exceptional aesthetic importance". With its spectacular geological formations, it is "an eminent example in the history of the Earth". But in the heart of this mineral treasure, biodiversity is preserved. More than 1 plant species and a representative fauna in fact populate the area. Oaks, beeches, firs, pines, birches and willows… But also silver vetch, saxifrage, androsace and edelweiss can be found along the paths. Sheltered by this vegetation, the marmot, ibex, ermine, roe deer and chamois live in complete freedom. Looking up, walkers can also hope to admire Bonelli's eagle, bearded vulture, grouse or capercaillie.

Fauna of the Pyrenees

Cultural heritage of the Pyrenees - Mont Perdu

Since the Middle Ages, the landscapes of the Pyrenees - Mont Perdu were shaped by pastoralism. The villages, farms, fields, high pastures and paths constitute an inestimable testimony of the mountain society of yesteryear. The habitat model reveals a way of life based on seasonal migration. The paths connect the villages to pastures and meadows. They reveal the ingenious system of transhumance developed over the centuries. Today fallen into disuse, it is still practiced on site by some pastoral communities.

The Pont-Nadau replaced the wooden footbridge at the end of the XNUMXth century
On the road to the circus of Gavarnie, the Pont-Nadau replaced the wooden footbridge at the end of the XNUMXth century

Nowadays, many nature lovers roam every year the magnificent trails of the Pyrenees - Mont Perdu. Hikers are thus delighted by the exceptional landscapes and panoramas. After their discovery of mountain peaks, torrents and meadows, many activities await them on the outskirts of the parks. The Pyrenees are indeed the ideal playground for mountain biking, climbing, canoeing but also via-ferrata and tree climbing.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO #22 : Pyrénées – Mont Perdu

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1997, Pyrénées – Mont Perdu.

Au coeur des Pyrénées, de part et d’autre de la frontière franco-espagnole, le site Pyrénées – Mont Perdu est exceptionnel. Deux des plus grands et profonds canyons d’Europe, ainsi que trois spectaculaires cirques glaciaires s’étendent en effet sur plus de 30 000 hectares. Ces impressionnantes formations géologiques sont les témoins du passé pastoral de ce territoire. Car autour du pic du Mont-Perdu, les paysages n’ont plus été façonnés par l’homme depuis plus d’un siècle. C’est donc pour sa richesse naturelle et géologique, mais aussi pour son intérêt culturel, que le majestueux site a été inscrit au patrimoine de l’humanité.

Un site transfrontalier, union de deux parcs naturels

Pyrénées – Mont Perdu se situe sur deux parcs nationaux. Côté français, le Parc national des Pyrénées et les trois cirques glaciaires de Gavarnie, d’Estaubé et de Troumouse offrent des paysages à couper le souffle. Côté espagnol, le Parc national espagnol d’Ordesa et du Mont-Perdu, le canyon de Niscle et les gorges d’Escuain émerveillent également les visiteurs. Les deux parcs oeuvrent ainsi main dans la main, à la préservation de ce territoire montagneux.

Randonnée sur le site Pyrénées Mont-Perdu
Randonneurs dans le Parc national d’Ordesa et du Mont-Perdu

Patrimoine naturel de Pyrénées – Mont Perdu

Pyrénées – Mont Perdu est reconnu au patrimoine de l’humanité pour « ses aires d’une importance esthétique exceptionnelle ». Avec ses spectaculaires formations géologiques, il est un « éminent exemple de l’histoire de la Terre ». Mais au coeur de ce trésor minéral, la biodiversité est préservée. Plus de 1 500 espèces végétales et une faune représentative peuplent en effet les lieux. Chênes, hêtres, sapins, pins, bouleaux et saules… Mais aussi vesce argentée, saxifrage, androsace et edelweiss se découvrent le long des sentiers. Abrités par cette végétation, la marmotte, le bouquetin, l’hermine, le chevreuil et l’isard vivent en toute liberté. En levant les yeux, les marcheurs peuvent aussi espérer admirer l’aigle de Bonelli, le gypaète barbu, la gélinotte ou le grand tétras.

Faune des Pyrénées

Patrimoine culturel de Pyrénées – Mont Perdu

Depuis le Moyen-Âge, les paysages de Pyrénées – Mont Perdu ont été façonnés par le pastoralisme. Les villages, fermes, champs, hauts pâturages et chemins constituent un inestimable témoignage de la société montagnarde d’autrefois. Le modèle d’habitat dévoile un mode de vie basé sur la migration saisonnière. Les chemins relient les villages aux pâturages et prairies. Ils révèlent l’ingénieux système de transhumance élaboré au fil des siècles. Aujourd’hui tombé en désuétude, il est encore pratiqué sur place par quelques communautés pastorales.

Le Pont-Nadau a remplacé la passerelle en bois à la fin du XIXème siècle
Sur la route du cirque de Gavarnie, le Pont-Nadau a remplacé la passerelle en bois à la fin du XIXème siècle

De nos jours, de nombreux amoureux de la nature sillonnent chaque année les magnifiques sentiers de Pyrénées – Mont Perdu. Les randonneurs sont ainsi comblés par les paysages et les panoramas d’exception. Après leurs découvertes des sommets, torrents et prairies d’altitude, de nombreuses activités les attendent en périphérie des parcs. Les Pyrénées sont en effet le terrain de jeu rêvé pour pratiquer le VTT, l’escalade, le canoë mais aussi la via-ferrata et l’accrobranche.