carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 14: The places of Nancy

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1983, places of Nancy: Place Stanislas, de la Carrière and Alliance in Nancy.

Au heart of Europe, in the Grand-Est, the history of France has often mingled with those of other European countries. Places Stanislas, de la Carrière and Alliance de Nancy are witnesses to part of this rich past. They form a remarkable urban architectural ensemble representative of the Enlightenment period. The places of Nancy offer "the oldest and most typical testimony of the town planning of the Age of Enlightenment, in a modern city where an enlightened monarch realized an exceptional program of spaces and public buildings, demonstrating that he was sensitive. to the needs of the population ”.

A little history

In 1737, diplomatic maneuvers are linked to gain power in Europe. The former king of Poland Stanislas Leszczyński then receives life annuity from his son-in-law Louis XV, the Duchy of Lorraine. He will return to France on his death according to the conventions established with the governments of France and Austria. To prepare the people of Lorraine to become French, Stanislas then promulgated the edicts allowing the creation of a Council of State and a Council of Finance and Commerce. It was thus inspired by the system then in force in France. If the Duke of Lorraine is relieved of the administration, he will nevertheless work as patron of the Age of Enlightenment. He will entrust Emmanuel Héré with a vast construction project. Thus the three places of Nancy will be restored, with the aim of uniting the old town and the new town in a single urban space.

Nancy, city of heritage

Stanislas Square

Of classical architecture, Stanislas Square is surrounded by the Town Hall, the four pavilions housing the Opera-theater, the Grand Hôtel de la Reine, the Jacquet pavilion and the Museum of Fine Arts. The Basses Faces open up the perspective of the triumphal arch. Six monumental wrought iron gates enhanced with gold leaf were put in place at the instigation of Jean Lamour. They then close the spaces and give the whole a rococo touch. Many symbols of royalty are also hidden on these gates. In the center of the square, the statue of Stanislas was erected in 1831 to replace that of Louis XV, which Stanislas had installed in homage to his son-in-law. She ultimately did not resist the Revolution.

Place de la Carrière

In the extension of Place Stanislas, the immense Place de la Carrière was since the Middle Ages a place of tournaments, jousting and equestrian activities. In the XNUMXth century, the Government Palace, seat of the Intendant of France, was built there. Stanislas' architect, Emmanuel Héré builds private mansions. It also restores the facades of existing buildings. The central open space then accommodates four rows of trees and small fountains.

Place de la Carrière

Place d'Alliance

Much smaller and more discreet than its neighbors, Place d'Alliance was built in a new town on the site of the Duke of Lorraine's former vegetable garden. The fountain with three old men throne in its center, not far from the hundred-year-old lime trees. This fountain and the name of this square commemorate the Franco-Austrian Treaty of Alliance of 1756.

Alliance

Nowadays, the places of Nancy arouse wonder. More than 3 million visitors came to Nancy in 2018, to savor the sweetness of life and the cultural and sporting dynamism of this city steeped in history.

Patrimoine Mondial #14 : Les places de Nancy

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1983, les places de Nancy : La place Stanislas, de la Carrière et d’Alliance à Nancy.

Au coeur de l’Europe, dans le Grand-Est, l’histoire de France s’est souvent mêlée à celles d’autres pays européens. Les places Stanislas, de la Carrière et d’Alliance de Nancy sont les témoins d’une partie de ce riche passé. Elles forment un ensemble architectural urbain remarquable et représentatif de la période des Lumières. Les places de Nancy offrent “le témoignage le plus ancien et le plus typique de l’urbanisme du Siècle des Lumières, dans une ville moderne où un monarque éclairé réalisa un exceptionnel programme d’espaces et de bâtiments publics, démontrant qu’il était sensible aux besoins de la population”.

Un peu d’histoire

En 1737, les manoeuvres diplomatiques s’enchaînent pour accéder au pouvoir en Europe. L’ancien roi de Pologne Stanislas Leszczyński reçoit alors en viager de son gendre Louis XV, le duché de Lorraine. Il reviendra à la France à sa mort selon les conventions fixées avec les gouvernements de France et d’Autriche. Pour préparer les lorrains à devenir français, Stanislas promulgue les édits permettant la création d’un Conseil d’État et d’un Conseil des Finances et Commerce. Il inspire ainsi du système alors en vigueur en France. Si le duc de Lorraine est déchargé de l’administration, il oeuvrera néanmoins en tant que mécène du siècle des Lumières. Il confiera à Emmanuel Héré un vaste projet de construction. C’est ainsi que les trois places de Nancy seront restaurées, dans le but d’unir la ville vieille et la ville neuve en un seul et unique espace urbain.

Nancy, ville de patrimoine

La place Stanislas

D’architecture classique, la place Stanislas est entourée de l’Hotel de ville, des quatre pavillons abritant l’Opéra-théâtre, le Grand Hôtel de la Reine, le pavillon Jacquet et le musée des Beaux-Arts, ainsi que des Basses Faces qui ouvrent la perspective sur l’arc de triomphe. Six grilles monumentales en fer forgé rehaussées de feuilles d’or mises en place sous l’impulsion de Jean Lamour, ferment les espaces et confèrent à l’ensemble une touche rococo. De nombreux symboles de la royauté se cachent d’ailleurs sur ces grilles. Au centre de la place, la statue de Stanislas a été érigé en 1831 en remplacement de celle de Louis XV, que Stanislas avait installée en hommage à son gendre. Elle n’aura finalement pas résisté à la Révolution.

Place Stanislas

La place de la Carrière

Dans le prolongement de la place Stanislas, l’immense place de la Carrière était depuis le Moyen-Âge un lieu de tournois, de joutes et d’activités équestres. Au XVIIIème siècle, le Palais du Gouvernement, siège de l’Intendant de France y est édifié. L’architecte de Stanislas, Emmanuel Héré édifie quant-à-lui des hôtels particuliers et restaure les façades des bâtiments existants. Le terre plein central accueille alors quatre rangées d”arbres et des petites fontaines.

Place de la Carrière

La place d’Alliance

Bien plus petite et discrète que ses voisines, la place d’Alliance a été bâtie en ville-neuve sur le site de l’ancien potager du duc de Lorraine. La fontaine aux trois vieillards trône en son centre, non loin des tilleuls centenaires. Cette fontaine et le nom de cette place commémorent le traité d’alliance franco-autrichien de 1756.

Alliance

De nos jours, les places de Nancy suscitent l’émerveillement. Plus de 3 millions de visiteurs se sont rendus à Nancy en 2018, pour savourer la douceur de vivre et le dynamisme culturel et sportif de cette ville chargée d’histoire.

La rédaction

Crédit image éditoriale :
Grilles : Shutterstock-CC / Martyn Jandula

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO