carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 13: The Gulf of Porto and its natural sites

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as UNESCO World Heritage, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1983, the Gulf of Porto: Calanche de Piana, Gulf of Girolata and Scandola reserve.

Dyears on Corsica regional natural park, the Gulf of Porto and its exceptional natural sites constitute an extraordinary geological ensemble with transparent waters and inaccessible caves and islets. This magnificent territory is home to remarkable and emblematic flora and fauna. The major interest of this place in terms of geology, biodiversity and the beauty of the landscapes, make Gulf of Porto one of the three sites in mainland France recognized by UNESCO for its natural heritage.

Scandola Reserve
Scandola Reserve

The impressive porphyry massif with tormented shapes is of exceptional natural beauty and aesthetic importance. The site contains some of the most representative natural habitats and the most important for conservation on-site de Mediterranean biological diversity.

Exceptional landscapes

Dance the Gulf of Porto, calm and natural beauty evoke a lost paradise. Volcanic rocks, crystal clear waters, jagged coastline, multiple caves and secret coves, give this coast a character both wild and serene. And to discover the hidden riches of these places, nothing like hiking through the maquis. Those who have a sea foot can also discover them by kayak between land and sea. Because the beauty of the park is fully savored in the effort. It allows you to get away from the beaten track. It is then the opportunity to feel alone in the world in the middle of a generous and spectacular nature inaccessible by road.

Gulf of Girolata
Gulf of Girolata

The creeks of Piana et the Girolata peninsula offer a magical setting. Visitors can then give free rein to their imaginations by admiring the intriguing shapes standing out from the rocks, objects of many tales, tales and legends.

An emblematic maquis

Over time, the Corsican maquis has forged a legend. This impenetrable reserve of plant essences has long been a means of defense. It allowed the islanders to take shelter from the dangers coming from the sea. Because it must be said that it is easy to get lost in the bush. The multitude of shrubs, trees and flowers constitute a particularly dense environment. At the heart of the 900 terrestrial hectares of Scandola reserve, holm oaks, strawberry trees and heather rub shoulders with rare species such as armeria, tree euphora, rock rose and groundsel. And underwater flora is just as abundant. The clear waters of the reserve are home to hundreds of species of algae and a posidonia herbarium magnificent.

View of the Gulf of Girolata from the Corsican maquis
View of the Gulf of Girolata from the Corsican maquis

Representative fauna

In the bush or on the coast, birdwatchers can hope to meet ospreys, crested cormorants, gray shearwaters, peregrine falcons and even golden eagles. Beneath the surface, corals, gorgonians, groupers, morays, saupes and red mullet arouse wonder. A little further offshore, tuna, swordfish and marine mammals abound. At sea, it is not uncommon to come across a school of dolphins or to see the emergence of a whale or sperm whale ridge.

Calanques de Piana in the heart of the Gulf of Porto
Calanques de piana

The Gulf of Porto is an exceptional mineral and vegetal theater. Lthe creeks of Piana, the Gulf of Girolata and the Scandola reserve, are sumptuous territories to discover in any season. Do not delay! Plan your stay in this corner of France. It will ensure you a change of scenery and a wonder of every moment.

Patrimoine Mondial #13 : Le Golfe de Porto et ses sites naturels

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1983, le Golfe de Porto : Calanche de Piana, golfe de Girolata et réserve de Scandola.

Dans le parc naturel régional de Corse, le Golfe de Porto et ses sites naturels exceptionnels constituent un extraordinaire ensemble géologique aux eaux transparentes et aux grottes et îlots inaccessibles. Ce territoire magnifique abrite une flore et une faune remarquables et emblématiques. L’intérêt majeur de ce lieu sur le plan de la géologie, de la biodiversité et de la beauté des paysages, font du golfe de Porto l’un des trois sites de France métropolitaine reconnus par l’UNESCO pour son patrimoine naturel.

Réserve de Scandola
Réserve de Scandola

L’impressionnant massif de porphyre aux formes tourmentées est d’une beauté naturelle et d’une importance esthétique exceptionnelles. Le site contient des habitats naturels parmi les plus représentatifs et les plus importants pour la conservation in situ de la diversité biologique de Méditerranée.

Des paysages exceptionnels

Dans le golfe de Porto, le calme et la beauté naturelle évoquent un paradis perdu. Les roches volcaniques, les eaux cristallines, le littoral déchiqueté, les multiples grottes et les criques secrètes, confèrent à cette côte un caractère à la fois sauvage et serein. Et pour découvrir les richesses cachées de ces lieux, rien de tel que la randonnée à travers le maquis. Ceux qui ont le pied marin pourront également les découvrir en kayak entre terre et mer. Car la beauté du parc se savoure pleinement dans l’effort, qui permet de s’éloigner des sentiers battus et de se sentir seul au monde au milieu d’une nature généreuse et spectaculaire inaccessible par la route.

Golfe de Girolata
Golfe de Girolata

Les calanques de Piana et la presqu’île de Girolata offrent un décor féérique au sein duquel les visiteurs peuvent laisser libre cours à leur imagination en admirant les formes intrigantes se détachant des roches, objets de nombreux récits, contes et légendes.

Un maquis emblématique

Au fil du temps, le maquis corse s’est forgé une légende. Cet impénétrable réserve d’essences végétales a longtemps été un moyen de défense. Il permettait en effet aux insulaires de se mettre à l’abri des dangers venant de la mer. Car il faut  bien dire que l’on se perd facilement dans le maquis. La multitude d’arbustes, d’arbres et de fleurs constitue un milieu particulièrement dense. Au coeur des 900 hectares terrestres de la réserve de Scandola, chênes verts, arbousiers et bruyères côtoient des espèces rares telles que l’arméria, l’euphore arborescente, la ciste et le séneçon. Et la flore sous-marine est tout aussi abondante. Les eaux claires de la réserve abritent des centaines d’espèces d’algues et un herbier de posidonie magnifique.

Vue sur le golfe de Girolata depuis le maquis corse
Vue sur le golfe de Girolata depuis le maquis corse

Une faune représentative

Dans le maquis ou sur les côtes, les passionnés d’ornithologie peuvent espérer rencontrer des balbuzards, des cormorans huppés, des puffins cendrés, des faucons pèlerins et même des aigles royaux. Sous la surface, coraux, gorgones, mérous, murènes, saupes et rougets suscitent l’émerveillement. Un peu plus au large, thons, espadons et mammifères marins abondent. En mer, il n’est pas rare de croiser un banc de dauphins ou de voir émerger une dorsale de rorqual ou de cachalot.

Calanques de Piana au coeur du golfe de Porto
Calanques de Piana

Le Golfe de Porto est un théâtre minéral et végétal exceptionnel. Les calanques de Piana, le golfe de Girolata et la réserve de Scandola, sont des territoires somptueux à découvrir en toute saison. Ne tardez plus ! Planifiez votre séjour dans ce coin de France. Il vous assurera un dépaysement et un émerveillement de chaque instant.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO