carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 10: Triumphal Arch and Orange Theater

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with one of the sites recognized in 1981, the triumphal arch and the Orange theater, reflections of the glory of the Western Roman Empire.

Din the Rhône valley, the Orange theater is a precious witness of Roman antiquity. It is indeed one of the best preserved Roman theaters in Europe. The building is also, with the arenas of Nîmes and the Pont du Gard, one of the most beautiful legacies of Imperial Rome. In the old days, the Orange region experienced one of the bloodiest battles of the conquest of Gaul and northern Europe. The veterans of the XNUMXth Gallic Legion then founded the Roman colony of Orange there. Today it has become a magnificent open-air museum. The extraordinary state of preservation of ancient theater and Arc de Triomphe now make this city a major destination for heritage lovers.

The ancient theater of Orange

Built in the first century, the ancient theater of Orange is a jewel of antiquity. The imposing façade wall, 103 meters long and 36 meters high, is the best preserved in the entire Roman Empire. It thus testifies to the ambition of the builders for this Roman colony. The decorations, marbles, sculptures and columns honored the glory of the Emperor. Right in the center, at the top of the stage wall, the statue of Emperor Augustus still sits in the seat. Louis XIV said of this monumental wall that it was " the most beautiful wall of his kingdom ". The bleachers, once sheltered by a fabric awning, could once accommodate up to 9 spectators. They were divided there according to their social class.

Orange Theater

Orange Theater

With the fall of the Western Roman Empire, the building was finally abandoned. The steps are gradually buried under a thick layer of sand. Paradoxically, it will contribute to the preservation of the site. In the Middle Ages, houses were then built at the foot of the wall. The locations of the beams are also always visible on the wall. It was not until the XNUMXth century that the bleachers were brought to light again. Prosper Merimee will do everything in its power to have the monument classified and thus guarantee its preservation.

Check out this short video highlighting the complete structure of the theater under antiquity.

The triumphal arch

At the entrance to the city, the Roman triumphal arch of Orange is one of the most beautiful provincial triumphal arches from the time of Augustus. Built between the year 10 and the year 25, its bas-reliefs retrace the scenes of battles. They bear witness to the fighting which led to the establishment of Pax Romana. The monument is a symbol of the triumph of Roman imperialism. It was first dedicated to the glory of the veterans of the XNUMXth Gallic Legion, then to Tiberius.

Orange triumphal arch

Orange triumphal arch

Orange today

From now on, the theater is once again hosting performances. It has become a Mecca for classical music and opera. Each year, the largest lyric art festival in France, the Chorégies attract a large crowd. Many other shows, concerts and plays are organized there each year. The acoustics of the premises are of very high quality.

To discover the sumptuous ancient remains of Orange and the city seen from the sky, do not miss this video.

Patrimoine Mondial #10 : Arc de triomphe et théâtre d’Orange

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec l’un des sites reconnus en 1981, l’arc de triomphe et le théâtre d’Orange, reflets de la gloire de l’Empire Romain d’Occident.

Dans la vallée du Rhône, le théâtre d’Orange est un témoin précieux de l’antiquité romaine. Il est l’un des théâtres romains les mieux conservés d’Europe. L’édifice constitue d’ailleurs avec les arènes de Nîmes et le pont du Gard, l’un des plus beaux héritages de la Rome Impériale. Autrefois, la région d’Orange a connu l’un des combats les plus sanglants de la conquête de la Gaule et du Nord de l’Europe. Les vétérans de la llème légion gallique y ont ensuite fondé la colonie romaine d’Orange. Elle est devenue aujourd’hui un magnifique musée à ciel ouvert. L’extraordinaire état de préservation du théâtre antique et de l’arc de Triomphe font de cette ville une destination majeure pour les amateurs de patrimoine.

Le théâtre antique d’Orange

Construit au premier siècle le théâtre antique d’Orange est un joyau de l’Antiquité. L’imposant mur de façade de 103 mètres de long et 36 mètres de haut, est le mieux conservé de tout l’empire romain. Il témoigne de l’ambition des bâtisseurs pour cette colonie romaine. Les décorations, marbres, sculptures et colonnes honoraient la gloire de l’Empereur.  En plein centre, au sommet du mur de scène la statue de l’empereur Auguste trône toujours. Louis XIV disait de ce mur monumental, qu’il était “la plus belle muraille de son royaume”. Les gradins, jadis abrités par un auvent en tissu, pouvaient autrefois accueillir jusqu’à 9 000 spectateurs. Ils y étaient répartis dans selon leur classe sociale.

Théâtre d'Orange

Théâtre d’Orange

À la chute de l’Empire Romain d’Occident, l’édifice est finalement laissé à l’abandon. Les gradins sont ensevelis peu à peu sous une épaisse couche de sable. Paradoxalement, elle contribuera à la préservation du site. Au moyen-âge, des habitations sont ensuite construites au pied du mur. Les emplacements des poutres sont d’ailleurs toujours visibles sur le mur. Il faudra attendre le XIXème siècle pour que les gradins soient à nouveau mis au jour. Prosper Mérimée fera tout ce qui est en son pouvoir, pour faire classer le monument et garantir ainsi sa préservation.

Découvrez cette courte vidéo mettant en évidence la structure complète du théâtre sous l’antiquité.

L’arc de triomphe

À l’entrée de la ville, l’arc de triomphe romain d’Orange est l’un des plus beaux arcs de triomphe provinciaux de l’époque d’Auguste. Construit entre l’an 10 et l’an 25, ses bas-reliefs retracent les scènes de batailles. Elles sont le témoin des combats qui ont conduit à l’établissement de la Pax Romana. Le monument est un symbole du triomphe de l’impérialisme romain. Il fût d’abord dédié à la gloire des vétérans de la llème légion gallique, puis à Tibère.

Arc de triomphe d'Orange

Arc de triomphe d’Orange

Orange aujourd’hui

Désormais, le théâtre accueille à nouveau des représentations. Il est devenu un haut lieu de la musique classique et de l’opéra. Chaque année, le plus grand festival d’art lyrique de France, les Chorégies attirent une foule nombreuse. De nombreux autres spectacles, concerts et pièces de théâtre y sont organisés chaque année. L’acoustique des lieux est d’une très grande qualité.

Pour découvrir les somptueux vestiges antiques d’Orange et la ville vue du ciel, ne manquez pas cette vidéo.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO