fbpx

BEST RATES GUARANTEED

No additional cost, our rates are identical to those charged by the campings.

World Heritage # 20: The historic center of Avignon

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1995, the historic center of Avignon: Palace of the Popes, Episcopal Complex and Pont d'Avignon.

On the banks of the Rhône, in Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur, the City of the Popes is the result of a very particular episode in history. In the XNUMXth century, Avignon was indeed the seat of the papacy. We are talking about the exile of the popes in Avignon, wanted by the King of France Philippe Le Bel. Its objective was then to strengthen the influence of France on Europe, through the power of the Church. As a result, exceptional buildings were erected in a very short time. The Palais des Papes, the episcopal complex and the Avignon bridge still remain today privileged witnesses of medieval religious, administrative and military architecture. They also reveal the exchange of influences across Europe, particularly in the field of arts and architecture.

The Palace of the Popes

In Avignon, the Palace of the Popes was according to Jean Froissart, "the strongest house in the world". The ensemble that it forms with the Rocher des Doms is indeed considerable and impressive. The Palais des Papes is quite simply the largest of the Gothic constructions of the Middle Ages. The old Palace of Benoit XII is a real fortress erected on the Rocher des Doms. There is the main courtyard, the consistory room where the cardinals met, the Saint-Jean chapel, the cloister and the Pope's tower. The New Palace of Clement VI is more sumptuous. It houses the papal chapel and the Audience room. Artists from all over Europe worked on the ornaments of the palace. The best known of them, the Italian Matteo Giovanetti, created the painted decorations for the Saint-Jean and Saint-Martial chapels.

Palais des Papes

Intramural

From 1, Innocent VI initiated the construction of the ramparts. More than 355 kilometers long, the walls protected the inhabitants from the attackers, but also from the floods of the Rhône. In its girdle are the Palais des Papes, the Place du Palais and the Notre-Dame-des-Doms Cathedral. Built in the 4th century then remodeled in the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, the basilica and its gilded lead virgin dominates the Rhône valley.

Ramparts of Avignon

Avignon bridge

The Saint-Benezet Bridge constitutes a real technical feat. Built from the 22th century, it linked the banks of the Rhône with its 4 arches. Today, there are only XNUMX left, the others having collapsed during flooding. The bridge is known the world over, in particular thanks to the rhyme "Sur le pont d'Avignon". Know that it is always possible to dance on the bridge of Avignon ! It is indeed open to visits throughout the year.

The bridge of Avignon

Avignon today

Since the return of Gregory XI to Rome, only 70 years after the arrival of Pope Clement V in Avignon, the Palace of the Popes has changed its vocation several times. Military barracks, theater stage, place of exhibitions… The site has had several lives. Today, nearly a million visitors flock each year to discover the City of the Popes. And the city of Avignon now shines around the world thanks to its famous festival. Every year the Avignon Festival in fact attract tens of thousands of theatergoers.

Avignon Cathedral

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Patrimoine Mondial #20 : Le centre historique d’Avignon

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1995, le centre historique d’Avignon : Palais des papes, ensemble épiscopal et Pont d’Avignon.

Sur les rives du Rhône, en Provence-Alpes-Côte-d’Azur, la Cité des papes est le fruit d’un épisode très particulier de l’histoire. Au XIVème siècle, Avignon fut en effet le siège de la papauté. On parle de l’exil des papes en Avignon, voulu par le roi de France Philippe Le Bel. Son objectif était alors de renforcer l’influence de la France sur l’Europe, au travers du pouvoir de l’Église. En conséquence, d’exceptionnels bâtiments ont été édifiés en très peu de temps. Le Palais des Papes, l’ensemble épiscopal et le pont d’Avignon demeurent aujourd’hui encore les témoins privilégiés de l’architecture médiévale religieuse, administrative et militaire. Ils révèlent également les échanges d’influences à travers l’Europe, notamment dans le domaine des arts et de l’architecture.

Le Palais des Papes

En Avignon, le Palais des Papes était selon Jean Froissart, « la plus forte maison du monde ». L’ensemble qu’il forme avec le rocher des Doms est en effet considérable et impressionnant. Le Palais des Papes est d’ailleurs tout simplement la plus grande des constructions gothiques du Moyen-Âge. Le Palais vieux de Benoit XII est une véritable forteresse érigée sur le rocher des Doms. On y trouve la cour d’honneur, la salle du consistoire où se réunissaient les cardinaux, la chapelle Saint-Jean, le cloître ainsi que la tour du Pape. Le Palais neuf de Clément VI est plus fastueux. Il abrite quant-à-lui la chapelle pontificale, et la salle d’Audience. Des artistes de toute l’Europe ont travaillé aux ornements du palais. Le plus connu d’entre eux, l’italien Matteo Giovanetti a réalisé les décors peints des chapelles Saint-Jean et Saint-Martial.

Palais des Papes

Intra-Muros

À partir de 1 355, Innocent VI a initié l’édification des remparts. Longues de plus de 4 kilomètres, les murailles protégeaient les habitants des assaillants, mais aussi des crues du Rhône. En son ceint, se trouvent le Palais des Papes, la Place du Palais et la Cathédrale Notre-Dame-des-Doms. Construite au XIIème siècle puis remaniée aux XVème et XVIème siècles, la basilique et sa vierge de plomb doré domine sur la vallée du Rhône.

Remparts d'Avignon

Le Pont d’Avignon

Le Pont Saint-Benezet constitue une véritable prouesse technique. Édifié à partir du XIIème siècle, il reliait entre elles les rives du Rhône grâce à ses 22 arches. Aujourd’hui, il n’en subsiste plus que 4, les autres s’étant effondrées lors d’inondations. Le pont est connu dans le monde entier, notamment grâce à la comptine « Sur le pont d’Avignon ». Sachez qu’il est toujours possible de danser sur le Pont d’Avignon ! Il est en effet ouvert aux visites tout au long de l’année.

Pont d'Avignon

Avignon aujourd’hui

Depuis le retour de Grégoire XI à Rome, 70 ans seulement après la venue du Pape Clément V en Avignon, le Palais des Papes a changé plusieurs fois de vocation. Caserne militaire, scène de théâtre, lieu d’expositions… Le site a eu plusieurs vies. Aujourd’hui, près d’un million de visiteurs se pressent chaque année pour découvrir la Cité des Papes. Et la ville d’Avignon rayonne désormais à travers le monde grâce à son célèbre festival. Chaque année le Festival d’Avignon attirent en effet des dizaines de milliers d’amateurs de théâtre.

Cathédrale d'Avignon