carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 19: Bourges Cathedral

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1992, Bourges Cathedral.

In the Center-Val-de-Loire region, Bourges is one of the cradles of Christianity in France. It is indeed there that one of the first Christian communities in Gaul developed. Bourges cathedral, built later, between the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries, is dedicated to the first Christian martyr, Saint-Étienne. The building has been recognized as a World Heritage Site as a masterpiece of nascent Gothic architecture. The articulation of its spaces, the unity of its design and the treatment of light make Bourges Cathedral, a unique expression of medieval architectural genius. In the direct vicinity of the cathedral, there are medieval half-timbered houses.

Bourges today

The history of Bourges cathedral

Bourges cathedral was built by order of Henri de Sully from 1995. It was then to symbolize the power of the archbishopric of Bourges. The choir will rise from the Romanesque church already present on the site. Guillaume de Dangeon will develop the project with the sculpted decoration and the stained glass windows. The second construction campaign will allow the construction of the nave and the western facade. It will be completed in 1230. All the architects who will succeed one another will know how to preserve the coherence of the apparent simplicity of the building.

Bourges Cathedral seen from the back

Architecture

Bourges cathedral has the particularity of not having a transept. This choice greatly contributes to the effect of unity of space. The second characteristic of the building is the light. There is indeed an important presence of stained glass windows, however rare at the beginning of the XNUMXth century. The stained glass window "The Parable of the Good Samaritan" is moreover a masterpiece of medieval glassmaking. The cathedral, the sculpted decorations as well as the presence of stained glass windows wanted to be affirmations of dogma in the face of heresies. The search for elevation, perspective and the fusion of volumes in the interior space, are particularly remarkable. The double flight of flying buttresses and the five sculpted portals are other characteristics of the aerial and impressive Bourges cathedral.

Decor of Bourges Cathedral

Bourges cathedral today

Saint-Etienne Cathedral in Bourges welcomes more than 600 visitors each year. The more daring can climb the 000 steps of the north tower, the “Butter Tower”, and admire the perspective of the building, as well as the panoramic view of the city. Inside, everyone can admire the oldest astronomical clock in France, or visit the crypts in the basement. After their visit, other visits await the curious, who can head to the Jacques Coeur Palace or to one of the magnificent museums of the city. And for a total change of scenery, why not let yourself be tempted by a visit to the Bourges marshes? At the foot of the medieval quarter, 396 hectares of nature and vegetable gardens offer surprising walks in the heart of the city.

marshes of Bourges

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Patrimoine Mondial #19 : La cathédrale de Bourges

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1992, la cathédrale de Bourges.

En région Centre-Val-de-Loire, Bourges est l’un des berceaux du christianisme en France. C’est en effet là que s’est développée l’une des premières communautés chrétiennes de Gaule. La cathédrale de Bourges, édifiée plus tard, entre le XIIème et XIIIème siècles, est dédiée au premier martyr chrétien, Saint-Étienne. L’édifice a été reconnu au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité en tant que chef d’oeuvre de l’architecture gothique naissante. L’articulation de ses espaces, l’unité de sa conception et le traitement de la lumière font de la cathédrale de Bourges, une expression unique du génie architectural médiéval. Aux abords directs de la cathédrale subsistent des maisons médiévales à pans de bois.

Bourges aujourd'hui

L’histoire de la cathédrale de Bourges

La cathédrale de Bourges a été édifiée sur ordre d’Henri de Sully à partir de 1995. Elle devait alors symboliser la puissance de l’archevêché de Bourges. Le choeur s’élèvera depuis l’église romane déjà présente sur le site. Guillaume de Dangeon développera le projet avec le décor sculpté et les vitraux. La seconde campagne de construction permettra la construction de la nef et de la façade occidentale. Elle s’achèvera en 1230. Tous les architectes qui se succèderont sauront préserver la cohérence de l’apparente simplicité de l’édifice.

Cathédrale de Bourges vue de l'arrière

Architecture

La cathédrale de Bourges a la particularité de pas posséder de transept. Ce choix contribue grandement à l’effet d’unité de l’espace. La seconde caractéristique de l’édifice est la lumière. On y trouve en effet une présence importante de vitraux, pourtant rare au début du XIIIème siècle. Le vitrail « La parabole du bon samaritain » est d’ailleurs un chef d’oeuvre de la verrerie médiévale. La cathédrale, les décors sculptés ainsi que la présence de vitraux se voulaient être des affirmations du dogme face aux hérésies. La recherche de l’élévation, de la perspective et de la fusion des volumes dans l’espace intérieur, sont particulièrement remarquable. La double volée d’arcs-boutants et les cinq portails sculptés sont d’autres caractéristiques de l’aérienne et impressionnante cathédrale de Bourges.

Décor de la cathédrale de Bourges

La cathédrale de Bourges aujourd’hui

La cathédrale Saint-Étienne de Bourges accueille chaque année plus de 600 000 visiteurs. Les plus audacieux peuvent gravir les 396 marches de la tour nord, la « tour de Beurre », et admirer la perspective de l’édifice, tout comme la vue panoramique sur la ville. À l’intérieur, chacun peut admirer la plus ancienne horloge astronomique de France, ou encore visiter les cryptes en sous-sol. Après leur visite, d’autres visites attendent les curieux, qui peuvent se diriger au Palais Jacques Coeur ou dans l’un des magnifiques musées de la ville. Et pour un dépaysement total, pourquoi ne pas se laisser tenter par une visite du marais de Bourges ? Au pied du quartier médiéval, 135 hectares de nature et de potagers offrent de surprenantes promenades en coeur de ville.

marais de Bourges