carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 18: Paris and its monuments on the banks of the Seine

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1991, Paris, banks of the Seine.

It is the most emblematic of French postcards. Paris, its river and its extraordinary monuments are known around the world. However, it will be necessary to wait 12 years after the recognition of the basilica of Vézelay, then of 17 French sites, so that Paris, banks of the Seine, or finally recognized as a world heritage site. It is, however, obvious. Because this site is a real open-air museum.

From Île Saint-Louis to Pont-Neuf, from the Louvre to the Eiffel Tower, from the Place de la Concorde to the Grand-Palais, wonder is everywhere. Many Parisian monuments have indeed been built along the most famous meander of the Seine. United by the Seine, architectural masterpieces emerge from the landscape. They follow one another on the banks, beautifully illustrating each of the eras. Navigating the Seine thus offers a journey through the history of France, from the Middle Ages to contemporary times.

Aerial view of Paris

Masterpieces of the Middle Ages

In Paris, Notre-Dame cathedral is the icon of the banks of the Seine. It took almost 2 centuries to build the most emblematic religious building in the capital. It is recognizable by its two towers, its flying buttresses and its impressive rose windows. The Sainte-Chapelle is also a marvel of Gothic architecture. It was built inside the royal palace of the City at the request of Saint-Louis. The stained glass windows and sculptures of the upper chapel are wonderfully preserved.

Notre-Dame de Paris
Notre-Dame de Paris seen from the Seine

The Renaissance

Built at the end of the XNUMXth and the beginning of the XNUMXth century, the Pont-Neuf is the oldest bridge in Paris. It crosses the Seine at the western tip of Île de la Cité and alone illustrates the spirit of the Renaissance in France. Henri IV decided that this bridge would not accommodate dwellings or stalls. He had sidewalks placed there to protect pedestrians from mud and horses. Even today, the 238 meters of this stone bridge made up of 12 arches, fascinates visitors.

Pont-Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris
The new bridge

Parisian town planning

The districts of the Marais and Île Saint-Louis as well as the Quai Malaquais and the Quai Voltaire bear witness to XNUMXth and XNUMXth century Parisian town planning. They constitute magnificent and representative urban groups. The wide squares and avenues built by Haussmann under Napoleon III to the west of the city, have influenced the town planning of large cities around the world.

Buildings on Île Saint-Louis
Buildings on Île Saint-Louis

The influence of world exhibitions

In the nineteenth and early twentieth century, the universal exhibitions are of great importance. Five of them were held in Paris. And it turns out that several monuments built for these exhibitions still remain their major witnesses today. First of all, Eiffel Tower of course… It was the jewel of the 1889 exhibition, and enchants every visitor to the capital. But also the Grand Palais, the Petit Palais and the Pont Alexandre III, all three built for the 1900 exhibition. The Palais de Chaillot replaced the Old Trocadero Palace during the 1937 exhibition.

The Grand-Palais and the Pont Alexandre III
The Grand-Palais and the Pont Alexandre III

If you are going to Paris for the first time, sailing on the Seine is a must. Your trip will reveal the most beautiful monuments to you. You will walk slowly, far from the hustle and bustle of the quays, and then appreciate the best that the capital has to offer to its visitors.

Patrimoine mondial #18 : Paris et ses monuments des rives de Seine

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1991, Paris, rives de Seine.

Elle est la plus emblématique des cartes postales françaises. Paris, son fleuve et ses extraordinaires monuments sont connus à travers le monde entier. Pourtant, il faudra attendre 12 ans après la reconnaissance de la basilique du Vézelay, puis de 17 sites français, pour que Paris, rives de Seine, soit enfin reconnu au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité. Il s’agit pourtant d’une évidence. Car ce site est un véritable musée à ciel ouvert.

De l’Île Saint-Louis au Pont-Neuf, du Louvre à la Tour Eiffel, de la place de la Concorde au Grand-Palais, l’émerveillement est partout. De nombreux monuments parisiens ont en effet été édifiés le long du plus célèbre méandre de la Seine. Unis par la Seine, les chefs-d’oeuvre architecturaux émergent du paysage. Ils se succèdent sur les rives, illustrant magnifiquement chacune des époques. Naviguer sur la Seine offre ainsi une traversée dans l’histoire de France, du Moyen-Âge à l’époque contemporaine.

Vue aérienne de Paris

Chefs d’oeuvre du Moyen-Âge

À Paris, la cathédrale Notre-Dame est l’icône des rives de Seine. Il a fallu près de 2 siècles pour construire le plus emblématique édifice religieux de la capitale. Elle est reconnaissable à ses deux tours, ses arc-boutants et ses impressionnantes rosaces. La Sainte-Chapelle est elle aussi une merveille de l’architecture gothique. Elle a été construite à l’intérieur du palais royal de la Cité à la demande de Saint-Louis. Les vitraux et sculptures de la chapelle haute sont merveilleusement conservés.

Notre-Dame de Paris
Notre-Dame de Paris vue de la Seine

La Renaissance

Construit à la fin du XVIème et au début du XVIIème siècle, le Pont-Neuf est le plus ancien pont de Paris. Il traverse la Seine à la pointe ouest de l’île de la Cité et illustre à lui seul l’esprit de la Renaissance en France. Henri IV décida que ce pont n’accueillerait pas d’habitations ou d’échoppes. Il y fit placer des trottoirs pour protéger les piétons de la boue et des chevaux. Aujourd’hui encore, les 238 mètres de ce pont en pierre composé de 12 arches, fascine les visiteurs.

Pont-Neuf, le plus vieux pont de Paris
Le Pont-Neuf

L’urbanisme parisien

Les quartiers du Marais, de l’île Saint-Louis mais aussi le quai Malaquais et le quai Voltaire témoignent de l’urbanisme parisien des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. Ils constituent des ensembles urbains magnifiques et représentatifs. Les larges places et avenues construites par Haussmann sous Napoléon III à l’ouest de la ville, ont influencé l’urbanisme des grandes villes du monde entier.

Bâtiments de l'île Saint-Louis
Bâtiments de l’île Saint-Louis

L’influence des expositions universelles

Au XIXème et début du XXème siècle, les expositions universelles revêtent une grande importance. Cinq d’entre elles se sont tenues à Paris. Et il se trouve que plusieurs monuments édifiés à l’occasion de ces expositions, demeurent aujourd’hui encore leurs témoins majeurs. Tout d’abord, la tour Eiffel bien évidemment… Elle a été le joyau de l’exposition de 1889, et enchante chacun des visiteurs de la capitale. Mais aussi le Grand Palais, le Petit Palais et le Pont Alexandre III, tout trois édifiés à l’occasion de l’exposition de 1900. Le Palais de Chaillot a quant-à-lui remplacé l’Ancien palais du Trocadéro lors de l’exposition de 1937.

Le Grand-Palais et le Pont Alexandre III
Le Grand-Palais et le Pont Alexandre III

Si vous vous rendez à Paris pour la première fois, naviguer sur la Seine est un incontournable. Votre voyage vous révélera ainsi les plus beaux monuments. Vous cheminerez lentement, loin du tumulte des quais, et apprécierez alors ce que la capitale a de plus beau à offrir à ses visiteurs.

La rédaction