carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 17: Reims Cathedral

As part of a specially dedicated series French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a set of sites recognized in 1991, the Notre-Dame de Reims Cathedral, the former Saint-Rémi abbey and the Tau Palace, in Reims.

In the Marne, in the Grand-Est region, on the lands of Champagne, Reims Cathedral, the former royal Benedictine abbey of Saint-Rémi and the Tau palace, are sublime witnesses of the history of the French monarchy. These exceptional buildings have been recognized as a world heritage because of the handling of XNUMXth century architectural techniques, but also of the perfect marriage between architecture and sculpture. The integrity of the sites, their authenticity, as well as their close link with the history of France, make them major historical witnesses.

The royal history of the city of Reims

The city of Reims has been a theater of French history since Antiquity, especially during the Gallic Wars. It was also the place of residence of the Roman governor. It will then become the site of the famous baptism of Clovis by Bishop Rémi. Considered the cradle of the Carolingian dynasty, Reims will develop further. It will even become the capital of the kingdom of Austrasia, the "country of the Franks of the east". From Louis VII in the XNUMXth century, to Charles X in the XNUMXth century, all the kings of France will be crowned in Reims, with the exception of Henri IV.

Sculpted decoration of the Cathedral of Reims

Notre-Dame de Reims cathedral

Reims cathedral alone reveals eight centuries of technical innovation. The sumptuous building is one of the major representations of Gothic architecture in France. With its 2 statues, the cathedral of Reims also presents the most important sculpted decoration in Europe. From the construction of the current building in the XNUMXth century, to its renovation after the devastating fire that occurred during the First World War, the builders followed one another.

The old Saint-Rémi abbey

Roman-Gothic style, Saint-Rémi abbey was built in the XNUMXth century. Its sober Romanesque nave and its four-storey Gothic choir form an impressive whole. The bulb containing the chrism or holy oil, used for the anointing of kings, was formerly kept there.

Saint-Rémi Abbey

The Tau Palace

Backed by the cathedral of Reims, the first episcopal palace, the Tau Palace, was one of the residences of the archbishops of Reims. It was also the place of residence of the kings during the coronations. This palace therefore played a central role during religious ceremonies.

Reims today

Every year, hundreds of thousands of visitors flock to visit Reims cathedral, the "queen of cathedrals" and its symbolic towers. Let yourself be charmed by a guided tour by a professional passionate about heritage. At the Saint-Rémi abbey, the museum presents the history of the building, but also that of Reims from Antiquity to contemporary times. The Tau Palace houses the museum of Reims cathedral and the coronation of the kings of France.

For lovers of French history, a visit to Reims is therefore essential. During your stay, do not miss to stroll in the charming streets of the city. You will discover other architectural treasures with multiple influences. From the Gallo-Roman era to Art Deco and Street Art, you will be won over by the rich heritage of Reims. A stop at Parc Pierre Schneiter or Parc de Champagne will offer you a delicious vegetal break. And for those who have their heads in the stars, the planetarium organizes sessions for young and old.

Reims today

Patrimoine Mondial #17 : La Cathédrale de Reims

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un ensemble de sites reconnu en 1991, la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Reims, l’ancienne abbaye Saint-Rémi et le palais du Tau, à Reims.

Dans la Marne, en région Grand-Est, sur les terres de Champagne, la Cathédrale de Reims, l’ancienne abbaye royale bénédictine Saint-Rémi et le palais de Tau, sont les sublimes témoins de l’histoire de la monarchie française. Ces exceptionnels édifices ont été reconnus au patrimoine de l’humanité en raison du maniement de techniques architecturales du XIIIème siècle, mais aussi du parfait mariage entre l’architecture et la sculpture. L’intégrité des sites, leur authenticité, ainsi que leur lien étroit avec l’histoire de France, en font des témoins historiques majeurs.

L’histoire royale de la ville de Reims

La ville de Reims a été un théâtre de l’histoire de France dès l’Antiquité, notamment pendant la guerre des Gaules. Elle fût d’ailleurs le lieu de résidence du gouverneur romain. Elle deviendra ensuite le site du célèbre baptême de Clovis par l’évêque Rémi. Considérée comme le berceau de la dynastie carolingienne, Reims se développera encore, pour devenir la capitale du royaume d’Austrasie, le “pays des Francs de l’est”. De Louis VII au XIIème siècle, à Charles X au XVIIIème siècle, tous les rois de France seront sacrés à Reims, à l’exception d’Henri IV.

Décor sculpté de la Cathédrale de Reims

La cathédrale Notre-Dame de Reims

La cathédrale de Reims révèle à elle seule huit siècles d’innovations techniques. Le somptueux édifice est l’une des représentations majeures de l’architecture gothique en France. Avec ses 2 303 statues, la cathédrale de Reims présente d’ailleurs le décor sculpté le plus important d’Europe. De la construction de l’édifice actuel au XIIIème siècle, à sa rénovation après l’incendie ravageur survenu pendant la première guerre mondiale, les bâtisseurs se sont succédés.

L’ancienne abbaye Saint-Rémi

De style romano-gothique, l’abbaye Saint-Rémi a été édifiée au XIème siècle. Sa sobre nef romane et son choeur gothique à quatre étages, forment un ensemble impressionnant. L’ampoule contenant le chrême ou huile sainte, utilisée pour l’onction des rois, y était autrefois conservée.

Abbaye Saint-Rémi

Le palais du Tau

Adossé à la cathédrale de Reims, le premier palais épiscopal, le palais du Tau, était l’une des résidences des archevêques de Reims. Il était également le lieu de résidence des rois lors des sacres. Ce palais jouait donc un rôle central lors des cérémonies religieuses.

Reims aujourd’hui

Chaque année, des centaines de milliers de visiteurs se pressent pour visiter la cathédrale de Reims, la “reine des cathédrales” et ses tours si symboliques. Laissez-vous charmer par une visite guidée par un professionnel passionné de patrimoine. À l’abbaye Saint-Rémi, le musée présente l’histoire du bâtiment, mais aussi celle de Reims de l’Antiquité à l’époque contemporaine. Le palais du Tau abrite quant-à-lui le musée de la cathédrale de Reims et du sacre des rois de France.

Pour les amateurs de l’histoire de France, la visite de Reims est donc incontournable. Lors de votre séjour, ne manquez pas non plus de flâner dans les charmantes rues de la ville. Vous y découvrirez d’autres trésors d’architecture aux influences multiples. De l’époque gallo-romane à l’art déco et au Street Art, vous serez conquis par la richesse du patrimoine de Reims. Une halte au Parc Pierre Schneiter ou au Parc de Champagne, vous offrira une délicieuse pause végétale. Et pour ceux qui ont la tête dans les étoiles, le planétarium organise des séances pour petits et grands.

Reims aujourd'hui

La rédaction