carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 16: Strasbourg, Grande-Île and Neustadt

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1988, Strasbourg, Grande-Île and Neustadt.

Located in Alsace in the Grand-Est region, Strasbourg is a major witness to European history. The buildings built throughout the rich and sometimes tormented past of this territory, have been wonderfully preserved over the centuries. Today, the historical and cultural heritage of Strasbourg is thus admired all over the world. And it is totally deserved. Because in the heart of a preserved medieval architecture, Germanic and French influences have shaped a very unique and contrasting city. Capital of europe alongside Brussels and Luxembourg, but also Christmas capital, this city never ceases to amaze its visitors. In fact, more and more of them are going there and praising the now legendary Alsatian welcome.

Strasbourg, seen from the sky

The Grande-Île de Strasbourg

The Grande-Île is Strasbourg postcard. True historic heart, it is surrounded by the Ill river. Downstream from the Vauban dam and as far as the fishermen's quay, this district is an extraordinary example of a medieval city. La Petite-France, half-timbered houses, Notre Dame Cathedral and the Grand-Rue plunge visitors into the Middle Ages. The mansions and Place de Gutenberg recall the triumphant hours of the Renaissance. The rue des Hallebardes, the rue des Juifs, the streets of the Grandes-Arcades and the Vieux-Marché-aux-Poissons, the place Kléber and the Corbeau bridge are all marvels to discover while strolling. The development of the banks now makes it possible to around the Grande-Île on foot along the Ill and the Faux-Rempart ditch. A walk not to be missed under any circumstances.

Neustadt

The Neustadt, literally "new city", is also called the German quarter or imperial quarter. It was indeed built between the end of the XNUMXth century and the First World War. Alsace was then German, and the new city was to become one of the showcases of the German Empire. It is also considered today as the best testimony of the architecture and imperial Germanic town planning. Republic Square is emblematic of this desire. Five prestigious buildings were built there. The imperial palace, now the Palais du Rhin, the palace of the diet of Alsace-Lorraine, which has become the national theater of Strasbourg, but also the national and university library of Strasbourg. The two buildings of the Ministry of Alsace-Lorraine now house the regional public finance department. They are one of the only examples of a “monumental Berlin” type complex.

Strasbourg's Neustadt, seen from the sky

Strasbourg today

Nowadays, Strasbourg is a bustling city of life. Impossible to get bored during your stay in Alsace. The visit of the city center, the Christmas market, the famous wine route and bike rides are a must. Do not miss a visit to the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, at the European Parliament or at the botanical garden. It is, after that of Montpellier, the oldest botanical garden in France. A real plant treasure to discover with the family.

Patrimoine mondial #16 : Strasbourg, Grande-Île et Neustadt

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1988, Strasbourg, Grande-Île et Neustadt.

Située en Alsace dans le Grand-Est, Strasbourg est un témoin majeur de l’histoire européenne. Les édifices construits tout au long du passé riche et parfois tourmenté de ce territoire, ont été merveilleusement préservés au fil des siècles. Aujourd’hui, le patrimoine historique et culturel de Strasbourg est admiré dans le monde entier. Et c’est tout à fait mérité. Car au coeur d’une architecture médiévale préservée, les influences germaniques et françaises ont façonné une ville tout à fait singulière et contrastée. Capitale de l’Europe aux côtés de Bruxelles et Luxembourg, mais aussi capitale de Noël, cette ville ne cesse d’émerveiller ses visiteurs. Ils sont d’ailleurs toujours plus nombreux à s’y rendre et à plébisciter le désormais légendaire accueil alsacien.

Strasbourg, vue du ciel

La Grande-Île de Strasbourg

La Grande-Île est la carte postale de Strasbourg. Véritable coeur historique, elle est entourée par la rivière Ill. En aval du barrage Vauban et jusqu’au quai des pêcheurs, ce quartier est un extraordinaire exemple de cité médiévale. La Petite-France, les maisons à colombage, la cathédrale Notre-Dame et la Grand-Rue plongent les visiteurs dans le Moyen-Âge. Les hôtels particuliers et la place de Gutenberg rappellent quant-à-eux les heures triomphantes de la Renaissance. La rue des Hallebardes, la rue des Juifs, les rues des Grandes-Arcades et du Vieux-Marché-aux-Poissons, la place Kléber et le pont Corbeau sont autant de merveilles à découvrir en flânant. L’aménagement des berges permet aujourd’hui de faire le tour de la Grande-Île à pied en longeant l’Ill et le fossé du Faux-Rempart. Une promenade à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte.

Neustadt

La Neustadt, littéralement “nouvelle ville”, est aussi appelée quartier allemand ou quartier impérial. Elle a en effet été édifiée entre la fin du XIXème siècle et la première guerre mondiale. L’Alsace était alors allemande, et la nouvelle ville devait devenir l’une des vitrines de l’Empire germanique. Elle est d’ailleurs considérée aujourd’hui comme le meilleur témoignage de l’architecture et de l’urbanisme germanique impérial. La Place de la République est emblématique de cette volonté. Cinq bâtiment prestigieux y ont été édifiés. Le palais impérial, actuel Palais du Rhin, le palais de la diète d’Alsace-Lorraine, devenu théâtre national de Strasbourg, mais aussi la bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg. Les deux bâtiments du Ministère d’Alsace-Lorraine accueillent aujourd’hui la direction régionale des finances publiques. Ils constituent l’un des seuls exemples de complexe de type “monumental berlinois”.

La Neustadt de Strasbourg, vue du ciel

Strasbourg aujourd’hui

De nos jours, Strasbourg est une ville bouillonnante de vie. Impossible de s’ennuyer lors de votre séjour en Alsace. La visite du centre ville, le marché de Noël, la célèbre route des vins et les balades à vélo sont des incontournables. Ne manquez pas non plus une visite au Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain, au Parlement Européen ou au jardin botanique. Il est, après celui de Montpellier, le plus ancien jardin botanique de France. Un véritable trésor végétal à découvrir en famille.

La rédaction