carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 7: The National Forest Park

On the Langres plateau, between Champagne and Burgundy, straddling the departments of Haute-Marne and Côte d'Or, the National Forest Park covers nearly 250 hectares. True sanctuary of wild life, its heart constitutes an exceptional biosphere reserve.

Created in 2019, the youngest National Parks, the National Forest Park is the first park in plains deciduous forest. It benefits from continental and oceanic climatic influences, but also from some Mediterranean and Alpine entrances. Thus many natural environments share the places. Forests, like tufa marshes, limestone lawns and meadows are home to an extraordinary variety of animal and plant species. Nearly 700 kilometers of waterways crisscross the park. Because this land is rich in springs, resurgences, waterfalls and rivers. Synergies between water and forests give the heart of the park a peaceful and restful character. Almost magical ...

source

Representative biodiversity

The deciduous forests of the Forests National Park are quite representative of the limestone plateaus of the north-eastern quarter of France. Beeches, oaks, ash trees, alders are the masters of the place. But the fifteen different tree species per hectare, give shade to a quantity of shrubs, shrubs and mushrooms. Spring Nivéole, the Martagon Lily and the famous Sabot de Vénus are the discreet stars of the undergrowth. On the fauna side, common species such as deer, roe deer and wild boar, rub shoulders with rarer species such as the forest cat ou the black stork. But most of the richness of the fauna is found in the soil, leaves and wood. Arachnids, mollusks, beetles and other insects abound here. They contribute to the balance of this valuable forest ecosystem.

Famous Venus hoof

A witness to the links between man and nature

The National Forest Park is the privileged witness of the close links between man and nature. Since the Neolithic, the inhabitants have left traces of their passage there. This is how visitors can admire the famous Vix Vase, which is none other than the largest Greek vase found to date. The Gallo-Romans also left many vestiges behind them. In the Middle Ages, it was then the monks who left their mark on the place. Agricultural, forestry, hydraulic and metallurgical operations have succeeded each other over the years in this territory. Today the Park wishes continue this harmonious cohabitation between nature and human activities. Its primary ambition is therefore to “preserve these exceptional heritage, but also economic, social and cultural development”.

Beech forest

Visit the National Forest Park

Walks, discovery of biodiversity or archeology, visits to villages of character, monastic or industrial heritage ... There is so much to experience in the National Forest Park. In the heart of the park, as in its membership area, enthusiasts bring traditions to life. They share their knowledge and know-how with the amazed visitors. Don't wait any longer to discover the youngest, and perhaps also the quietest, of France's national parks.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Parcs nationaux de France #7 : Le Parc National des Forêts

Sur le plateau de Langres, entre Champagne et Bourgogne, à cheval sur les départements de Haute-Marne et de Côte d’Or, le Parc National des Forêts s’étend sur près de 250 000 hectares. Véritable sanctuaire de la vie sauvage, son coeur constitue une réserve de biosphère exceptionnelle.

Créé en 2019, le petit dernier des Parcs nationaux, le Parc national des Forêts est le premier parc en forêt feuillue de plaine. Il bénéficie des influences climatiques continentale et océanique, mais aussi de quelques entrées méditerranéennes et alpines. C’est ainsi que de nombreux milieux naturels se partagent les lieux. Les forêts, tout comme les marais tufeux, les pelouses calcaires et les prairies abritent une extraordinaire variété d’espèces animales et végétales. Près de 700 kilomètres de cours d’eau sillonnent par ailleurs dans le parc. Car cette terre est riche de sources, de résurgences, de cascades et de rivières. Les synergies entre l’eau et la forêt donnent au coeur du parc un caractère paisible et reposant. Presque féérique…

source

Une biodiversité représentative

Les forêts de feuillus du Parc national des Forêts sont tout à fait représentatives des plateaux calcaires du quart nord-est de la France. Hêtres, chênes, frênes, aulnes sont les maitres des lieux. Mais la quinzaine d’essences d’arbres différentes par hectare, donne de l’ombre à une quantité d’arbustes, d’arbrisseaux et de champignons. La Nivéole de printemps, le Lis martagon et le célèbre Sabot de Vénus sont les stars discrètes des sous-bois. Côté faune, des espèces courantes telles que les cerfs, chevreuils et sangliers, côtoient des espèces plus rares comme le chat forestier ou la cigogne noire. Mais l’essentiel de la richesse de la faune se situe dans le sol, les feuilles et le bois. Les arachnides, mollusques, coléoptères et autres insectes y abondent. Ils contribuent à l’équilibre de cet écosystème forestier d’une grande valeur.

Célèbre sabot de Vénus

Un témoin des liens entre l’homme et la nature

Le Parc national des Forêts est le témoin privilégié des liens étroits entre l’homme et la nature. Depuis le Néolithique, les habitants y ont laissé des traces de leur passage. C’est ainsi que les visiteurs peuvent admirer le célèbre Vase de Vix, qui n’est autre que le plus grand vase grec retrouvé à ce jour. Les gallo-romains ont également laissé de nombreux vestiges derrière eux. Au Moyen-âge, ce sont ensuite les moines qui ont marqué les lieux. Les exploitations agricole, forestière, hydraulique et métallurgique se sont succédées au fil des époques sur ce territoire. Aujourd’hui le Parc souhaite poursuivre cette cohabitation harmonieuse entre la nature et les activités humaines. Il a donc pour ambition première de « préserver ces patrimoines exceptionnels, mais aussi le développement économique, social et culturel ».

Forêt de hêtres

Visiter le Parc national des Forêts

Promenades, découverte de la biodiversité ou de l’archéologie, visites de villages de caractère, du patrimoine monastique ou encore industriel… Il y a tant de choses à vivre dans le Parc national des Forêts. Dans le coeur du parc, tout comme dans sa zone d’adhésion, des passionnés font vivre les traditions. Ils partagent leurs savoir et leurs savoir-faire avec les visiteurs émerveillés. Ne tardez plus pour découvrir le plus jeune, et peut-être aussi le plus calme, des Parcs nationaux de France.