carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 5: Vanoise National Park

In the heart of Savoy, between the high valleys of Maurienne and Tarentaise, the Vanoise National Park is a natural high-mountain theater. Rich in lakes, glaciers and peaks over 3 meters above sea level, this park is an exceptional destination.

En 1963, the first French National Park was born on the Vanoise massif. A great recognition for this wild and preserved natural setting. Together with its Italian neighbor, it constitutes the Parco Nazionale Gran Paradiso, one of the largest protected areas in Western Europe. Vanoise National Park is a true paradise for the flora and fauna that it shelters. It is also suitable for all nature and mountain enthusiasts, who walk its trails every year.

Iconic passes, peaks and glaciers

The 400 kilometers of marked trails in the Vanoise National Park are an invitation to discover sites well known to mountain lovers. La Grande Casse which rises to 3855 meters above sea level, the Dent Parrachée, or the Aiguille du Péclet are summits popular with hikers. The Grande Motte glaciers, Vanoise or Gébroulaz, just like the Plan Séry, Mont Coua or Arpont lakes offer holidaymakers unforgettable panoramas. And what about the many passes of this vertiginous site, including the most famous of them. The highest road mountain pass of all the Alps, the Iseran pass, is a high place of the Tour de France.

Flora of Vanoise National Park

biodiversity

At the origins of the creation of the Park, the objective was to preserve the ibex, then endangered. It was a success for the preservation of this species, as for that of all the species present on the massif. Today, over more than 500 km2, the Vanoise park offers its visitors breathtaking landscapes, sheltering abundant biodiversity. The forests, alpine pastures, lakes and alpine glaciers of the massif are the territory of many emblematic species. The common frog, the marmot, the ibex, the chamois, the rock ptarmigan and the black grouse are real local stars. They nevertheless coexist with many species of herbivores, rodents, carnivores and birds.

Breeding on the Vanoise massif

Botanists can marvel at the sight of 1 mountain plant species. Aquatic meadows, saxicolous vegetation, meadows and lawns, but also hems, floating meadows or even heathlands and high peat bogs bear witness to a preserved ecosystem.

Sport in the Vanoise massif

The resorts of Courchevel, Ménuires, Tignes, Val d'Isère and even Val-Thorens have made the reputation of this French kingdom of alpine skiing. Today, the park attracts a number of sportsmen in search of wild spaces and mountain recreation. Over the decades, hiking and mountaineering have also greatly developed. with respect for sustainable development. The vocation of the park is also to boost tourism linked to the discovery of nature, while preserving the natural sites, the authenticity of the culture of these mountains and local development. A fragile balance between economic development and site protection, which the local authorities and the inhabitants of the park are looking for.

Family discovery in the Vanoise National Park

A thousand-year-old history

By crisscrossing the hiking trails of Vanoise National Park, seasoned visitors can contemplate the many traces left by men over the centuries. Rock art reveals the presence of shepherds for nearly 4 years. The important body of rock engravings of the Great Black Rock is the most remarkable set of the massif. These engravings dating from the Neolithic and the Middle Ages represent animals, armed men, and even knights in arms. An incredible testimony of a distant past, which mingles with the vestiges of a more contemporary era. The many sheepfolds and villages of abandoned shepherds, are discovered at altitude and attest to the difficult daily life of the shepherds of yesteryear.

Preservation of built heritage

Since 2018, the park has collaborated with an independent architect who supports the owners in their restoration projects. The objective of this partnership is to preserve and respect the architecture of the built heritage of the Vanoise National Park. “School projects” are regularly organized. The owners and local artisans are thus trained in traditional techniques with specialists.

Traditional sheepfold in the heart of the Alps

Visit the Vanoise Park

In summer, hiking is in the spotlight in the Vanoise National Park. But climbing, horseback riding, kayaking and even via ferrata are also popular with tourists. The more athletic can also embark on a magnificent trek. The tour of the Vanoise is a loop that takes the GR-5 and the GR-55. It requires a week of effort. Ibex, marmots, and impressive glaciers can be discovered throughout this extraordinary hike. And in winter, it is rather skiing that is king. Fans of downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, cross-country skiing, but also snowboarding are delighted on the slopes of the park's stations. Vanoise National Park can be discovered in any season. Do not wait any longer to prepare your stay.

Read also on the same subject:
National Parks of France # 1: Port-Cros
Let yourself be tempted by an escapade in one of the magnificent National Parks of France

Parcs Nationaux de France #5 : Le Parc National de la Vanoise

Au coeur de la Savoie, entre les hautes vallées de la Maurienne et de la Tarentaise, le Parc National de la Vanoise est un théâtre naturel de haute-montagne. Riche de lacs, de glaciers et de sommets de plus de 3 000 mètres d’altitude, ce parc est une destination d’exception.

En 1963, le premier Parc National français a vu le jour sur le massif de la Vanoise. Une belle reconnaissance pour cet écrin naturel sauvage et préservé. Il constitue avec son voisin italien le Parco nazionale Gran Paradiso, l’un des plus grands espaces protégés d’Europe Occidentale. Le Parc National de la Vanoise est un vrai paradis pour la flore et la faune qu’il abrite. Il l’est également pour tous les passionnés de nature et de montagnes, qui parcourent ses sentiers chaque année.

Des cols, des sommets et des glaciers emblématiques

Les 400 kilomètres de sentiers balisés du Parc national de la Vanoise sont une invitation à la découverte de sites bien connus des amoureux de la montagne. La Grande Casse qui culmine à 3855 mètres d’altitude, la Dent Parrachée, ou encore l’Aiguille du Péclet sont des sommets plébiscités par les randonneurs. Les glaciers de la Grande Motte, de la Vanoise ou de Gébroulaz, tout comme les lacs de Plan Séry, du Mont Coua ou de l’Arpont offrent aux vacanciers des panoramas inoubliables. Et que dire des nombreux cols de ce site vertigineux, parmi lesquels le plus célèbre d’entre eux. Le plus haut col de montagne routier de toutes les Alpes, le col de l’Iseran, est un haut lieu du Tour de France.

Flore du Parc National de la Vanoise

Biodiversité

Aux origines de la création du Parc, l’objectif était de préserver le bouquetin, alors en voie de disparition. Ce fût un succès pour la préservation de cette espèce, comme pour celle de toutes les espèces présentes sur le massif. Aujourd’hui, sur plus de 500 km2 le parc de la Vanoise offre à ses visiteurs des paysages à couper le souffle, abritant une biodiversité abondante. Les forêts, les alpages, les lacs et les glaciers alpins du massif sont le territoire de nombreuses espèces emblématiques. La grenouille rousse, la marmotte, le bouquetin, le chamois, le lagopède alpin et le tétras-lyre sont de véritables stars locales. Elles cohabitent néanmoins avec de nombreuses espèces d’herbivores, de rongeurs, de carnivores et d’oiseaux.

L'élevage sur le massif de la Vanoise

Les botanistes peuvent quant-à-eux s’émerveiller à la vue des 1 400 espèces végétales montagnardes. Les herbiers aquatiques, les végétations saxicoles, les prairies et pelouses, mais aussi les ourlets, les prairies flottantes ou encore les landes et tourbières hautes sont les témoins d’un écosystème préservé.

Le sport dans le massif de la Vanoise

Les stations de Courchevel, des Ménuires, de Tignes, de Val d’Isère ou encore de Val-Thorens ont fait la renommée de ce royaume français du ski alpin. Aujourd’hui, le parc attire en toute saison nombre de sportifs en quête d’espaces sauvages et de loisirs de montagne. Au fil des décennies, la randonnée et l’alpinisme se sont aussi très largement développés dans le respect du développement durable. La vocation du parc est d’ailleurs de dynamiser le tourisme lié à la découverte de la nature, tout en préservant les sites naturels, l’authenticité de la culture de ces montagnes et le développement local. Un fragile équilibre entre développement économique et protection du site, que recherchent les collectivités locales et les habitants du parc.

Découverte en famille dans le Parc National de la Vanoise

Une histoire millénaire

En sillonnant les sentiers de randonnée du Parc National de la Vanoise, les visiteurs aguerris peuvent contempler les nombreuses traces laissées par les hommes au fil des siècles. L’art rupestre révèle la présence de bergers depuis près de 4 000 ans. L’important corpus des gravures rupestres du Grand roc noir est l’ensemble le plus remarquable du massif. Ces gravures datant du Néolithique et du Moyen-Âge représentent des animaux, des hommes armés, et même des chevaliers en armes. Un incroyable témoignage d’un lointain passé, qui se mêle aux vestiges d’une époque plus contemporaine. Les nombreuses bergeries et villages de bergers abandonnés, se découvrent en altitude et attestent du quotidien difficile des bergers d’autrefois.

Préservation du patrimoine bâti

Depuis 2018, le parc collabore avec un architecte indépendant qui accompagne les propriétaires dans leurs projets de restauration. L’objectif de ce partenariat est de préserver et respecter l’architecture du patrimoine bâti du Parc National de la Vanoise. Des “chantiers écoles” sont régulièrement organisés. Les propriétaires et les artisans locaux se forment ainsi aux techniques traditionnelles auprès de spécialistes.

Bergerie traditionnelle au coeur des Alpes

Visiter le Parc de la Vanoise

En été, la randonnée est à l’honneur dans le Parc National de la Vanoise. Mais l’escalade, l’équitation, le kayak ou encore les via ferrata font également le bonheur des touristes. Les plus sportifs peuvent d’ailleurs se lancer dans un magnifique trek. Le tour de la Vanoise est une boucle qui emprunte le GR-5 et le GR-55. Il nécessite une semaine d’effort. Bouquetins, marmottes, et impressionnants glaciers se découvrent tout au long de cette extraordinaire randonnée.  Et en hiver, c’est plutôt le ski qui est roi. Les amateurs de ski alpin, de ski de randonnée, de ski de fond, mais aussi de snowboard sont comblés sur les pentes des stations du parc. Le Parc National de la Vanoise se découvre en toute saison. Ne tardez plus pour préparer votre séjour.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Parcs Nationaux de France #1 : Port-Cros
Laissez-vous tenter par une escapade dans l’un des magnifiques Parcs Nationaux de France