carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 2: The Calanques National Park

The latest of the ten national parks in France, the Calanques National Park is the first peri-urban national park in Europe, both land and sea.

Au heart of the metropolis Aix-Marseille Provence, the Calanques National Park extends over a land core of 85 km2 and a marine core of 435 km2. This land of meetings and exchanges is rich in an exceptional natural, landscape and cultural heritage. Creeks diving into the sea, the underwater canyon of Cassidaigne, the archipelago of Frioul, the Massif de Saint-Cyr and the Soubeyrane cliffs, are emblematic. They all offer breathtaking landscapes. Each of them is home to natural treasures to be discovered on land, at sea, but also under the surface.

Geological heritage

The alternation of rocks in mille-feuilles of Soubeyrane cliffs between white limestone, sandstone and puddingstone is particularly recognizable. It breaks with the immaculate whiteness of the limestone of Calanques massif. The islands and islets of the Frioul and Riou archipelagos emerge on the surface of the water. The Cap Canaille, the Bec de l'Aigle, Les Goudes and Mont Rose are the pride of the inhabitants. In this preserved park, the coasts are jagged by erosion, hollowed out by deep valleys and faults.

Soubeyrane cliff and creeks massif
Soubeyrane cliff and creeks massif

Seemingly inhospitable, these rocky coasts actually host a rich biodiversity. On land and at sea, the Park's teams passionately preserve exceptional flora and fauna.

Iconic marine fauna

At sea, 60 heritage marine species and 5 habitats of community interest are considered rare and fragile. They constitute the interest of this Mediterranean ecosystem. The famous and endemic Posidonia herbarium is a precious refuge for the saupe, the sar, the wrasse, the seahorse, the diadem sea urchin and the largest seashell in the Mediterranean, the large mother-of-pearl. On rocky bottoms, or inside a fault, it is not uncommon to encounter a brown grouper or a corb. At depth, divers can admire colonies of red coral and gorgonians. Offshore, cross cetaceans and some loggerhead turtles. You can also admire bottlenose dolphins, blue and white dolphins, or even majestic fin whales.

Mediterranean red coral in the Calanques National Park
Mediterranean red coral

Terrestrial fauna to be preserved

As for fauna, the famous "gabian" is particularly present as everywhere on the French Mediterranean coasts, but leaves room for the most discreet. gray shearwaters and crested cormorants. By looking up, it is even possible to admire one of the 32 pairs of Bonelli eagles from France, and at night one of the largest bats in Europe, Cestoni's hound and its 40 centimeters wingspan.

The Mediterranean flora of the Calanques National Park

On earth, 43 of the 900 plant species that coexist are recognized as remarkable. Mediterranean rosemaries, thyme, holm oaks and kerms, arbutus and Aleppo pines, rub shoulders with cistus, coris, aphyllantes and maritime asterisks, as well as some remarkable species such as the sabline of Provence, astragalus from Marseille and Lobel's broom. All these species are particularly adapted to the extreme conditions encountered on these coasts subjected to winds, heat and spray.

Arbutus unedo
Arbutus unedo

Historical patrimony

Throughout history, these coasts have been a haven of peace for people. The cave of the Hoppers reveals the oldest human traces of the Calanques, contemporaries of Neanderthals. In the Cosquer cave, these are negative hands of 27 years that appear on the rock. The men of prehistory have left behind many representations of animals such as ibex, chamois, bison, aurochs, deer, antelopes, felines and even penguins and seals.

During Antiquity, Ligurian and Etruscan sailors have given way to the Phocaeans and to the development of the ancient port of Marseille located a stone's throw away. In the middle Ages, agricultural and pastoral activities are intensifying in the land. There are also remains of sheepfold from this period. Military batteries bear witness to the fights and the fight against piracy of the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries. Later, men will turn to fishing and rock mining, which will shape the identity of the place.

Life in the Calanques National Park

Creeks are a great playground for strolling, hiking, climbing, diving, coasting ... But they are also a place of study. Many biologists, botanists, geologists, geophysicists and even chemists work there. They observe and analyze the data collected on site. The underground source of Port-Miou for example, is an extraordinary underground laboratory. Teams take turns to protect and preserve this unique territory on the edge of the metropolis. They educate and inform visitors, many of whom flock to the paths to discover the wonders of the creeks.

Seen on the Calanques

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Parcs Nationaux de France #2 : Le Parc national des Calanques

Dernier né des dix parcs nationaux de France, le Parc national des Calanques est le premier Parc national périurbain d’Europe, à la fois terrestre et marin.

Au coeur de la métropole Aix-Marseille Provence, le Parc national des Calanques s’étend sur un coeur terrestre de 85 km2 et un coeur marin de 435 km2. Cette terre de rencontres et d’échanges est riche d’un patrimoine naturel, paysager et culturel exceptionnel. Les calanques plongeant dans la mer, la canyon sous-marin de Cassidaigne, l’archipel du Frioul, le Massif de Saint-Cyr et les falaises Soubeyrane, sont emblématiques. Ils offrent tous des paysages à couper le souffle. Chacun d’eux abritent des trésors naturels à découvrir sur terre, en mer, mais aussi sous la surface.

Patrimoine géologique

L’alternance des roches en mille-feuilles des falaises Soubeyrane entre calcaire blanc, grès et poudingue est particulièrement reconnaissable. Elle rompt avec la blancheur immaculé du calcaire du massif des calanques. Les îles et îlots des archipels du Frioul et de Riou se dessinent à fleur d’eau. Le Cap Canaille, le Bec de l’Aigle, Les Goudes et le Mont Rose font la fierté des habitants. Dans ce parc préservé, les côtes sont déchiquetées par l’érosion, creusées de vallées profondes et de failles.

Falaise Soubeyrane et massif des calanques

Falaise Soubeyrane et massif des calanques

En apparence inhospitalière, ces côtes rocheuses accueillent une riche biodiversité. Sur terre et en mer, les équipes du Parc préservent avec passion une flore et une faune exceptionnelles.

Une faune marine emblématique

En mer, ce sont 60 espèces marines patrimoniales et 5 habitats d’intérêt communautaire considérés comme rares et fragiles en Europe, qui constituent cet écosystème méditerranéen. Le célèbre et endémique herbier de posidonie est un refuge précieux pour la saupe, le sar, la girelle, l’hippocampe, l’oursin diadème et le plus grand coquillage de Méditerranée, la grande nacre. Sur les fonds rocheux, ou à l’intérieur d’une faille, il n’est pas rare de rencontrer un mérou brun ou un corb. En profondeur, les plongeurs peuvent admirer des colonies de corail rouge et des gorgones. Au large, croisent les cétacés et quelques tortues caouanne. On peut aussi y admirer des grands dauphins, des dauphins bleu et blanc, ou même de majestueux rorquals communs.

Corail rouge de Méditerranée dans le Parc national des Calanques

Corail rouge de Méditerranée

Une faune terrestre à préserver

Côté faune, le célèbre “gabian” est particulièrement présent comme partout sur les côtes méditerranéennes françaises, mais laisse la place aux plus discrets puffins cendrés et cormorans huppés. En levant la tête, il est même possible d’admirer l’un des 32 couples d’aigles de Bonelli de France, et la nuit l’une des plus grandes chauves-souris d’Europe, le molosse de Cestoni et ses 40 centimètres d’envergure.

Une flore méditerranéenne

Sur terre, 43 des 900 espèces végétales qui cohabitent, sont reconnues comme remarquables. Les méditerranéens romarins, thyms, chênes verts et kermes, arbousiers et pins d’alep, côtoient les cistes, coris, aphyllantes et astérisques maritimes, ainsi que quelques espèces remarquables telles que la sabline de Provence, l’astragale de Marseille et le genêt de Lobel. Toutes ces espèces sont particulièrement adaptées aux conditions extrêmes rencontrées sur ces côtes soumises aux vents, à la chaleur et aux embruns.

Arbousier

Arbousier

Patrimoine historique

Tout au long de l’histoire, ces côtes ont été un havre de paix pour les hommes. La grotte des Trémies révèle les plus anciennes traces humaines des Calanques, contemporaines de l’homme de Néandertal. Dans la grotte Cosquer, ce sont des mains négatives de 27 000 ans qui apparaissent sur la roche. Les hommes de la préhistoire ont laissé derrière eux de nombreuses représentations d’animaux tels que des bouquetins, chamois, bisons, aurochs, cerfs, antilopes, félin et même pingouins et phoques.

Pendant l’Antiquité, les marins ligures et étrusques ont laissé place aux phocéens et au développement de port antique de Marseille situé à quelques encablures. Au Moyen Âge, les activités agricoles et pastorales s’intensifient dans les terres. On y trouve d’ailleurs des vestiges de bergerie de cette époque. Les batteries militaires témoignent des combats et de la lutte contre la piraterie des XVIIIème et XIXème siècles. Plus tard, les hommes se tourneront vers la pêche et l’extraction de la roche, qui façonneront l’identité des lieux.

La vie dans le Parc national des Calanques

Les Calanques sont un terrain de jeu formidable pour flâner, randonner, grimper, plonger, caboter, mais elles sont également un lieu d’étude. De nombreux biologistes, botanistes, géologues, géophysiciens et même chimistes y travaillent, observent et analysent les données recueillies sur site. La source souterraine de Port-Miou par exemple, est un extraordinaire laboratoire souterrain. Des équipes se relaient pour protéger et préserver ce territoire unique en bordure de métropole. Ils sensibilisent et informent les visiteurs qui sont nombreux, principalement en été, à se presser sur les chemins pour découvrir les merveilles des calanques.

Vu sur les Calanques

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :

Parcs Nationaux de France #1 : Port-Cros
Laissez-vous tenter par une escapade dans l’un des magnifiques Parcs Nationaux de France