carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 1: Port-Cros National Park

On the Mediterranean, at the foot of the Massif des Maures, the Port-Cros National Park is a preserved gem. First land and marine park in Europe, this exceptional protected territory offers a double immersion in the heart of magnificent ecosystems, and the history of our country.

Dince 1963, the coastal archipelago of the Hyères islands in the Var department has benefited from a high level of protection due to the number of protected species housed within it, but also to the richness and diversity of the remains. that are there. A concentration of biodiversity and history just a stone's throw from the Provencal coast. Port-Cros National Park includes a large part of the island of Porquerolles, the islands of Port-Cros and Bagaud, the islet of Gabinière and the rock of Rascas, as well as the surrounding waters, ie 1 land hectares and 700 marine hectares. Bagaud Island et the islet of Gabinière are integral reserves, access to which is strictly prohibited.

Since 2016, Le Pradet, La Garde, Hyères, la Croix Valmer and Ramatuelle have joined the National Park charter and constitute the adhesion area. The coastline of these five towns on the Var coast is preserved and populated with particularly rich flora and fauna. The landscapes offered by this coastline are breathtaking.

Grouper on Gabinière Island in Port-Cros National Park

Biodiversity of the Port-Cros National Park

The creeks and coves of National Park are home to many animal species. Beneath the surface, the king grouper and its legendary calm can be discovered by divers. Large nacres, posidonia and coralligenous… As well as 180 species of fish, 265 species of crustaceans and a number of sponges. But also sea urchins and shells, more than 300 species in all, live in the heart of this exceptional ecosystem. In snorkeling or in bottles, divers marvel at the richness of this biodiversity. On earth, walkers are not left out. They can discover 12 species of mammals, 177 species of birds and a multitude of reptiles, batrachians, insects and arachnids. Certain endemic species benefit from special surveillance.

Cetaceans cross off the coast of Port-Cros National Park

Since 1999, the Pelagos sanctuary protects Mediterranean marine mammals. Fin whales, sperm whales, ziphius, pilot whales, Risso's dolphins, bottlenose dolphins, common dolphins, blue and white dolphins or even monk seals, swim off the Var islands. A natural wonder, protected by enthusiasts. The creation of Pelagos sanctuary truly focused the attention of the Park towards the open sea, where a diversity of cetacean species live in complete freedom.

Historical patrimony

Roman remains, wrecks and military forts are silent witnesses to a tumultuous past. On the island of Porquerolles and the island of Port-Cros, no less than 18 forts and batteries reveal the military past of the place. Among them, the Estissac in Port-Cros and Sainte-Agathe in Porquerolles, are open to the public. At the bottom of the water, the wrecks bear witness to ancient commerce. Lequin wreck is absolutely unique because of its cargo. It was indeed transporting Greek vases intended for sale in the Far East. In regards to the two wrecks of the Palud, one of them exported Gallic wines from Marseille. The other was carrying a shipment of amphoras from North Africa and the Eastern Mediterranean.

Fort on the island of Port-Cros

The "La Baleine" flute, discovered in 1979 tells a much later story. That of the Commander of the flute of the navy of Louis XIV, "the Whale". The sailor abandoned the ship after having set it on fire in a very uneven battle against several ships of the Anglo-Dutch fleet.

Over 50 years of major projects

Since 1963, many projects have been initiated within the Park, which has gradually become a scientific research area major and an important documentation and archives center, whose database is available online. The Park supports and develops a number of initiatives linked to the natural, cultural and landscape heritage. The first underwater trail de France was born in Port-Cros in the bay of La Palud. In Port-Cros, populations of groupers, cetaceans and Posidonia meadows are protected and carefully studied. Population inventories are carried out regularly. It is also in Port-Cros that the devastating and invasive exotic Caulerpa taxifolia was discovered. However, years of research and effort have made it possible to eradicate it.

Find in video the history of the National Park of Port-Cros, as well as the account of the many initiatives and projects developed within it for 50 years.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Parcs Nationaux de France #1 : Le Parc National de Port-Cros

Sur la Méditerranée, au pied du massif des Maures, le Parc National de Port-Cros est un joyau préservé. Premier parc terrestre et marin d’Europe, cet exceptionnel territoire protégé offre une double-immersion au coeur d’écosystèmes magnifiques, et de l’histoire de notre pays.

Depuis 1963, l’archipel côtier des îles d’Hyères dans le département du Var, bénéficie d’un haut niveau de protection en raison du nombre d’espèces protégées accueillies en son sein, mais aussi de la richesse et de la diversité des vestiges qui s’y trouvent. Un concentré de biodiversité et d’histoire à quelques encablures seulement du littoral provençal. Le Parc National de Port-Cros comprend une grande partie de l’île de Porquerolles, les îles de Port-Cros et de Bagaud, l’îlot de la Gabinière et le rocher du Rascas, ainsi que les eaux environnantes soit 1 700 hectares terrestres et 2 900 hectares marins. L’île de Bagaud et l’îlot de la Gabinière sont des réserves intégrales, dont l’accès est strictement interdit.

Depuis 2016, Le Pradet, La Garde, Hyères, la Croix Valmer et Ramatuelle ont adhéré à la charte du Parc national et constituent l’aire d’adhésion. Le littoral de ces cinq communes du littoral varois est préservé et peuplé d’une faune et d’une flore particulièrement riches. Les paysages qu’offre ce littoral sont à couper le souffle.

Mérou sur l'île de Gabinière dans le Parc national de Port-Cros

Biodiversité du Parc National de Port-Cros

Les calanques et les criques du Parc National abritent de nombreuses espèces animales. Sous la surface, le roi mérou et son calme légendaire se laissent découvrir par les plongeurs. Les grandes nacres, la posidonie et le coralligène… Ainsi que 180 espèces de poissons, 265 espèces de crustacés et nombre d’éponges. Mais aussi oursins et coquillages, soit plus de 300 espèces en tout, vivent au coeur de cet écosystème exceptionnel. En apnée ou en bouteilles, les plongeurs s’émerveillent ainsi de la richesse de cette biodiversité. Sur terre, les marcheurs ne sont pas en reste. Ils peuvent découvrir 12 espèces de mammifères, 177 espèces d’oiseaux et une multitude de reptiles, batraciens, insectes et arachnides. Certaines espèces endémiques bénéficient d’une surveillance particulière.

Les cétacés croisent au large du Parc national de Port-Cros

Depuis 1999, le sanctuaire Pelagos protège les mammifères marins de Méditerranée. Rorquals communs, cachalots, ziphius, globicéphales noir, dauphins de Risso, grands dauphins, dauphins communs, dauphins bleu et blanc ou encore phoques moine, nagent au large des îles varoises. Une merveille de la nature, protégée par des passionnés. La création du sanctuaire Pelagos a véritablement porté les regards du Parc vers le large, où vivent en toute liberté une diversité d’espèces de cétacés.

Patrimoine historique

Vestiges romains, épaves et forts militaires sont les témoins silencieux d’un passé tumultueux. Sur l’île de Porquerolles et l’île de Port-Cros, pas moins de 18 forts et batteries révèlent le passé militaire des lieux. Parmi eux, l’Estissac à Port-Cros et Sainte-Agathe à Porquerolles, sont ouverts au public. Au fond de l’eau, les épaves témoignent du commerce antique. L’épave du Lequin est absolument unique en raison de sa cargaison. Elle transportait en effet des vases grecs destinés à la vente en Extrême-Orient. En ce qui concerne les deux épaves de la Palud, l’une d’elles exportait des vins gaulois depuis Marseille. L’autre acheminait une livraison d’amphores venant d’Afrique du Nord et de Méditerranée orientale.

Fort sur l'île de Port-Cros

La flûte “La Baleine”, découverte en 1979 raconte quant-à-elle une histoire bien plus tardive. Celle du Commandant de la flûte de la marine de Louis XIV, “la Baleine”. Le marin abandonna le navire après l’avoir incendié au cours d’un combat très inégal, contre plusieurs navires de la flotte anglo-hollandaise.

Plus de 50 ans de projets d’envergure

Depuis 1963, de nombreux projets ont été initiés au sein du Parc, qui est peu à peu devenu un territoire de recherche scientifique majeur et un centre de documentation et d’archives important, dont la base de données est disponible en ligne. Le Parc soutient et développe nombre d’initiatives ayant un lien avec le patrimoine naturel, culturel et paysager. Le premier sentier sous-marin de France a vue le jour à Port-Cros dans la baie de la Palud. À Port-Cros, les populations de mérous, les cétacés et les herbiers de posidonie sont protégées et étudiées avec soin. Des inventaires des populations sont réalisés régulièrement. C’est également à Port-Cros que la dévastatrice et envahissante Caulerpa taxifolia exotique a été découverte. Des années de recherches et d’efforts ont toutefois permis de l’éradiquer.

Retrouvez en vidéo de l’histoire du Parc National de Port-Cros, ainsi que le récit des nombreuses initiatives et projets développés en son sein depuis 50 ans.

La rédaction

Lire également sur le même sujet :
Laissez-vous tenter par une escapade dans l’un des magnifiques Parcs Nationaux de France