carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Martin Fourcade enters the Biathlon legend

Who will be able to stop the French Martin Fourcade? This exceptional athlete multiplies his exploits. He has just won the eleventh world title of his career.

Anear the bottom of last season, Martin Fourcade is back on top. Last January, he won five new victories in all specialties. And the French biathlete has just won his eleventh individual world title during of the Biathlon World Championships in Anterselva, Italy. He thus equalizes with the Norwegian Ole-Einar Bjoerndalen, world reference in the discipline, who remains however the most successful biathlete at the Worlds. 20 gold medals counting the relays against 12 for Martin.

An exceptional track record

It's hard to sum up the impressive track record of Martin Fourcade. Five-time Olympic champion, seven times winner of the general classification of the World Cup and twelve times world champion. He is the man of all records. 32 Crystal Globes, record for the number of points scored in a World Cup season and the number of consecutive World Cup podiums. He is the only biathlete to have achieved four World Cup Grand Slams, winning all the crystal globes put into play during the 2012-2013, 2015-2016, 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 seasons. The Catalan has totaled 82 individual victories since the start of his career.

“No need for a caption. No words needed 🥇🤩 »

The 19 last February, Martin won his eleventh world title. He let his joy burst out on the podium before sharing it on Instagram.

See this post on Instagram

No need for a caption. No words needed. 🥇🤩

A publication shared by Martin Fourcade (@martinfourcade) on

And he is right to celebrate this victory. With 19/20 on the rifle, and 57 seconds ahead of his rival the Norwegian Johannes boe, and 1 minute and 22 seconds on the Austrian Dominik landertinger, Martin Fourcade achieved a real feat.

Martin Fourcade entered the Biathlon legend and will remain in the firmament of French sport

The big question now is whether Martin will stop there or whether he will continue his irresistible rise. He should announce at the end of the season if he continues the adventure until Beijing Olympics in 2022, or if he retires. Whatever his decision, Martin Fourcade will remain in the hearts of the French an exceptional athlete, who knew how to make them vibrate by accomplishing feats and making them discover a sport relatively unknown to the general public.

Martin Fourcade entre dans la légende du Biathlon

Qui pourra bien arrêter le français Martin Fourcade ? Ce sportif d’exception multiplie les exploits. Il vient de remporter le onzième titre mondial de sa carrière.

Après le creux de vague de la saison dernière, Martin Fourcade est de retour au sommet. En janvier dernier, il remporte cinq nouvelles victoires dans toutes les spécialités. Et le biathlète français vient de décrocher son onzième titre mondial individuel lors des championnats du monde de Biathlon à Anterselva en Italie. Il égalise ainsi avec le norvégien Ole-Einar Bjoerndalen, référence mondiale de la discipline, qui demeure toutefois le biathlète le plus titré aux Mondiaux. 20 médailles d’or en comptant les relais contre 12 pour Martin.

Un palmarès exceptionnel

Difficile de résumer l’impressionnant palmarès de Martin Fourcade. Quintuple champion olympique, sept fois vainqueur du classement général de la Coupe du monde et douze fois champion du monde. Il est l’homme de tous les records. 32 Globes de Cristal, record du nombre de points marqués sur une saison de Coupe du monde et du nombre de podiums consécutifs en Coupe du monde. Il est le seul biathlète à avoir réalisé quatre Grands Chelems en Coupe du monde, en remportant tous les globes de cristal mis en jeu lors des saisons 2012-2013, 2015-2016, 2016-2017 et 2017-2018. Le Catalan totalise 82 victoires individuelles depuis le début de sa carrière.

“Pas besoin de légende. No words needed 🥇🤩”

Le 19 février dernier, Martin a remporté son onzième titre mondial. Il a laissé éclaté sa joie sur le podium avant de la partager sur Instagram.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Pas besoin de légende. No words needed. 🥇🤩

Une publication partagée par Martin Fourcade (@martinfourcade) le

Et il a bien raison de célébrer cette victoire. Avec 19/20 à la carabine, et 57 secondes d’avance sur son rival le norvégien Johannes Boe, et 1 minute et 22 secondes sur l’Autrichien Dominik Landertinger, Martin Fourcade a réalisé un réel exploit.

Martin Fourcade est entré dans la légende du Biathlon et restera au firmament du sport français

La grande question est désormais de savoir si Martin s’arrêtera là ou s’il poursuivra son irrésistible ascension. Il devrait annoncer en fin de saison s’il continue l’aventure jusqu’aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin en 2022, ou s’il prend sa retraite. Quelle que soit sa décision, Martin Fourcade demeurera dans le coeur des français un sportif d’exception, qui a su les faire vibrer en accomplissant des exploits et en leur faisant découvrir un sport relativement méconnu du grand public.

La rédaction