carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The most beautiful villages in France # 2: In the Dordogne

 

In our series devoted to villages, we invite you to discover little by little the 149 most beautiful villages in France. For this second opus, we have chosen to highlight the most beautiful villages of Dordogne. In this department, ten villages are classified among The most beautiful villages in France. A concentration record shared with the Aveyron.

Situated in the New Aquitaine region, the Dordogne owes its name to the watercourse which crosses it and which makes its beauty so unique. For lovers of nature and history, the Dordogne is an ideal destination. You will be amazed by the verdant Dordogne valley, the calm it exudes and the many witnesses to the history that dot this territory. Discover in these lines the most beautiful villages of Dordogne.

A thousand-year-old history

Castles and large historic buildings can be discovered at the bend of the paths. AT Saint-Jean-de-Côle, do not miss the XNUMXth century priory and the Château de la Marthonie. Continue your journey at Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère.  Remains from all eras, from prehistoric times to contemporary times, tell the rich history of the place. AT Monpazier it is the Hundred Years' War and the wars of religion that have marked history. AT Belvès, in the heart of the Périgord Noir, the view over the Nauze valley is unforgettable.

A preserved nature

In Dordogne, green is king. The rivers that cross it make this territory a rich place with preserved biodiversity. Peregrine falcon, European genet, white-legged crayfish, ash blotter, aurochs and great egrets can be seen in the middle of forests, fields or along waterways. To fully admire the site, why not take to the skies by booking a hot air balloon ride to fly over Beynac-et-cazenac or Sarlat, and thus afford a landscape worthy of a postcard.

Most beautiful villages of Dordogne: La Roque-Gageac
Vitrac

Slow tourism and sweetness of life

To immerse yourself in the more contemporary history of the place, it is possible to sail the route from Bergerac to Bordeaux, once used by boats dedicated to the transport of goods. For hiking enthusiasts, the trails crisscross the hillsides and lead travelers on foot or by bicycle to discover the famous castles of Périgord. These guards watch over the Dordogne valley. AT la Roque-Gageac, the XNUMXth century troglodyte fort is a treasure to be discovered. AT Saint-amand-de-coly, the Château de la Grande Filolie rises proudly above the village. At the confluence of the Dordogne and Vézère rivers, Limeuil is part of the Pays des Bastides et Cités medieval.

Most beautiful villages of Dordogne: Castelnaud-la-Chapelle
Castelnaud Aachen

The most beautiful villages of Dordogne and the culinary art

Enjoying the Dordogne also means savoring local products. The farmers, restaurateurs and artisans of Dumb and Castelnaud Aachen open their doors to allow the curious to discover their know-how and the culture of the Dordogne. Geese and duck farms, traditional markets and artisan shops have made the reputation of the place. The Périgourdins are also known for their warm welcome and hospitality.

It seems that “Dordogne Périgord is gold”! Do not wait any longer to let yourself be fulfilled by this promise ...

Domme village
Domme village

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Les plus beaux villages de France #2 : En Dordogne

 

Dans notre série consacrée aux villages, nous vous proposons de découvrir peu à peu les 149 plus beaux villages de France. Pour ce deuxième opus, nous avons choisi de mettre en lumière les plus beaux villages de Dordogne. Dans ce département, dix villages sont classés parmi Les plus beaux villages de France. Un record de concentration partagé avec l’Aveyron.

Situé en région Nouvelle Aquitaine, la Dordogne doit son nom au cours d’eau qui la traverse et qui rend sa beauté si unique. Pour les amoureux de la nature et de l’histoire, la Dordogne est une destination idéale. Vous serez émerveillé par la verdoyante vallée de la Dordogne, le calme qu’elle dégage et les nombreux témoins de l’histoire qui jalonnent ce territoire. Découvrez dans ces lignes les plus beaux villages de Dordogne.

Une histoire millénaire

Châteaux et grands édifices historiques se laissent découvrir au détour des chemins. À Saint-Jean-de-Côle, ne manquez pas le prieuré du XIème siècle et le château de la Marthonie. Continuez votre périple à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère.  Des vestiges de toutes les époques, de la préhistoire à l’époque contemporaine, racontent la riche histoire des lieux. À Monpazier ce sont la guerre de cent ans et les guerres de religions qui ont marqué l’histoire. À Belvès, au coeur du Périgord noir, la vue sur la vallée de la Nauze est inoubliable.

Une nature préservée

En Dordogne, le vert est roi. Les cours d’eau qui la traversent font de ce territoire un lieu riche à la biodiversité préservée. Faucon pélerin, genette d’Europe, écrevisse à pattes blanches, buzard cendré, auroch et grande aigrette se laissent apercevoir au milieu des forêts, des champs ou le long des cours d’eau. Pour admirer pleinement le site, pourquoi ne pas prendre de la hauteur en réservant un tour en montgolfière pour survoler Beynac-et-Cazenac ou encore Sarlat, et s’offrir ainsi un paysage digne d’une carte postale.

Plus beaux villages de Dordogne : La Roque-Gageac
La Roque-Gageac

Slow tourisme et douceur de vivre

Pour s’imprégner de l’histoire plus contemporaine des lieux, il est possible de sillonner à la voile la voie de Bergerac à Bordeaux autrefois parcourue par les bateaux dédiés au transport de marchandises. Pour les amateurs de randonnée, les sentiers sillonnent sur les coteaux et entraînent les voyageurs à pied ou à vélo, à la découverte des célèbres châteaux du Périgord. Ces gardiens veillent sur la vallée de la Dordogne. À la Roque-Gageac, le fort troglodytique du XIIème siècle constitue un trésor à découvrir. À Saint-Amand-de-Coly, le château de la Grande Filolie s’élève fièrement au dessus du village. Au confluent de la Dordogne et de la Vézère, Limeuil fait quant-à-lui partie du Pays des Bastides et Cités médiévales.

Plus beaux villages de Dordogne : Castelnaud-la-Chapelle
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle

La Dordogne et l’art culinaire

Profiter de la Dordogne, c’est aussi savourer les produits du terroir. Les agriculteurs, restaurateurs et artisans de Domme et de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle ouvrent leurs portes pour faire découvrir aux curieux leur savoir-faire et la culture de la Dordogne. Élevages d’oies et de canards, marchés traditionnels et boutiques d’artisans d’art font la réputation des lieux. Les Périgourdins sont par ailleurs connus pour leur accueil chaleureux et leur hospitalité.

Il paraît que “Dordogne Périgord, c’est de l’or” ! N’attendez plus pour vous laisser combler par cette promesse…

Village de Domme
Village de Domme

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Les plus beaux villages de France #1 : En Aveyron