carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The Tour de France will take place! See you in Nice on August 29

Between containment and cancellation of gatherings, event and festival organizers will remember the Covid-19 epidemic. Sad spring 2020 ... But it seems that specialists are now seeing the end of the tunnel. And for the Grande Boucle, the news has finally officially fallen. The Tour de France will not be canceled, but only postponed.

C 'is now official. Le Tour de France will start from Nice on August 29. His arrival on the Champs-Élysées is already scheduled for September 20. And if the Tour has been postponed, its layout will remain the same as that unveiled this fall. The stages will take place over a course of 3 kilometers, mainly in the southern half of the country. Nice, the Alps, Mont-Aigoual, the Massif Central, the Pyrenees, as well as the Îles de Ré and Oléron will be honored this year. These destinations promise stages rich in technicality and emotions. Tour de France organizers disclosed details of their decision in a statement.

"Following the statements of the President of the Republic on Monday evening indicating in particular that there could be no large-scale events in France before mid-July, with the aim of effectively fighting against the spread of the epidemic of COVID19, the organizers of the Tour de France, in agreement with the Union Cycliste Internationale, have decided to postpone the Tour de France from Saturday August 29 to Sunday September 20, 2020. "

The Tour de France at the Champs-Élysées

"The spirit of the tour will be the same"

Christian Prudhomme assured him on RTL, “The spirit of the Tour will be the same, the major difficulties will be the same. It will not be a Discount Tour ”. The Tour has in fact obtained all the guarantees from local communities and public authorities. The broadcasters were also particularly responsive and attentive so that the event was relayed under the same conditions as during the summer period.

But according to public health expert Devi Sridhar, a professor at the University of Edinburgh interviewed by CyclingNews, it would undoubtedly have been "wiser" to cancel the race. According to this scientist, the pandemic will remain a "chronic problem" as long as there is no vaccine available on a large scale.

“This could be the recipe for disaster […] With thousands of people from all over the world gathered and moving from city to city, a virus could well develop. […] There is a risk that the Tour de France will even unintentionally spread the virus, and lead to a new confinement. "

The solution may therefore be to follow the sporting exploits, to vibrate with the runners and to admire the magnificent landscapes in safety, from your sofa ...

Stage of the Tour de France in the Pyrenees

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Le Tour de France aura bien lieu ! Rendez-vous à Nice le 29 août

Entre confinement et annulation des rassemblements, les organisateurs d’événements et de festivals se souviendront de l’épidémie de Covid-19. Triste printemps 2020… Mais il semblerait que les spécialistes entrevoient désormais le bout de tunnel. Et pour la Grande Boucle, la nouvelle est finalement tombée officiellement. Le Tour de France ne sera pas annulé, mais seulement reporté.

C’est désormais officiel. Le Tour de France s’élancera de Nice le 29 août. Son arrivée sur les Champs-Élysées est d’ores-et-déjà programmée pour le 20 septembre. Et si le Tour a été reporté, son tracé demeurera le même que celui dévoilé cet automne. Les étapes se dérouleront sur un parcours de 3 470 kilomètres, principalement dans la moitié Sud du pays. Nice, les Alpes, le Mont-Aigoual, le Massif Central, les Pyrénées, ainsi que les Îles de Ré et d’Oléron seront mis à l’honneur cette année. Ces destinations promettent des étapes riches en technicité et en émotions. Les organisateurs du Tour de France ont dévoilé les détails de leur décision dans un communiqué.

“Suite aux déclarations du Président de la République lundi soir indiquant notamment qu’il ne pourrait y avoir d’événements de grande ampleur en France avant la mi-juillet, et ce dans le but de lutter efficacement contre la propagation de l’épidémie de COVID19, les organisateurs du Tour de France, en accord avec l’Union Cycliste Internationale, ont décidé de reporter le Tour de France du samedi 29 août au dimanche 20 septembre 2020.”

Le Tour de France aux Champs-Élysées

“L’esprit du tour sera le même”

Christian Prudhomme l’a assuré sur RTL, “l’esprit du Tour sera le même, les grandes difficultés seront les mêmes. Ce ne sera pas un Tour au rabais”. Le Tour a en effet obtenu toutes les garanties des collectivités locales et des pouvoirs publics. Les diffuseurs ont par ailleurs été particulièrement réactifs et attentifs pour que l’événement soit relayé dans les mêmes conditions que pendant la période estivale.

Mais selon une experte en santé publique Devi Sridhar, professeure à l’Université d’Édimbourg interrogée par CyclingNews, il aurait sans doute été “plus sage” d’annuler la course. Selon cette scientifique, la pandémie demeurera un “problème chronique” tant qu’il n’y aura pas de vaccin disponible à grande échelle.

“Cela pourrait être la recette d’un désastre […] Avec des milliers de personnes du monde entier rassemblées et se déplaçant de ville en ville, un virus pourrait bien se développer. […] Il y a un risque que le Tour de France propage même involontairement le virus, et conduise à un nouveau confinement.”

La solution sera donc peut-être de suivre les exploits sportifs, de vibrer avec les coureurs et d’admirer les magnifiques paysages bien en sécurité, depuis son canapé…

Etape du Tour de France dans les Pyrénées

La rédaction