carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

In Ardèche, discover the Païolive wood and its mysterious limestone blocks

To the south of the Ardèche department, at the foot of the Cévennes, hides an unknown treasure. The Païolive wood and its majestic limestone blocks invite contemplation.

LPaïolive wood is a mysterious site almost fantastic looking. The inhabitants have also named it the wood of "fados", fairy wood. Because this forest of holm and white oaks has settled in a magical mineral chaos, giving the site its singularity. Walking the paths of this wood, hikers can admire cliffs, arches and towers. Each of its limestone blocks is associated with a tale or legend. While walking the paths of the virgin, the corniche or the hiker loop, walkers of all ages cannot remain insensitive to the charm of this exceptional natural environment.

A thousand-year-old history

From prehistoric times, the mild climate of this region attracted the first men. Dolmens and remains of pottery thus bear witness to their presence and the beginnings of agriculture, pottery and the Iron Age in the region. The historic period then saw the arrival of new inhabitants who exploited the outskirts of the woods, the rivers but also the most remote areas.

The bear and the lion in Païolive

Hinterland

Païolive wood is classified as a natural area of ​​ecological, faunistic and floristic interest, Natura 2005 site, and Sensitive Natural Area. Many plant and animal species are regularly observed and studied there. Several rare endemic plant species inhabit the wood. The European beaver has also found refuge there, as have the kingfisher, the eagle owl, the lulu lark, the black kite and many other birds that have made the wood their nesting place.

Martin Fisherman in the Païolive woods

Sports and hobbies

Hiking, caving are queens in Païolive wood. The multiple paths and guts are an invitation to discovery. The Les Vans hike, for example, lasting 3 hours and a distance of 9 kilometers, allows hikers to discover some of the secrets of these sumptuous places. Below the wood they are the Chassezac gorges waiting for you. Canoe, kayak and paddle will allow you to access the remains of the historic agricultural buildings and the impressive cliffs. The most intrepid can also climb the cliffs of the grand canyon of Chassezac.

Chassezac gorges

Do not wait any longer discover the mysteries of Païolive wood and the Gorges de Chassezac. Experienced guides will tell you the legends and help you discover the granite blocks and their history. They will also be able to reveal to you the wealth of flora and fauna which can be discovered by the most attentive visitors.

Remarkable geological site, historical and natural heritage, sports and leisure… Nothing is missing from Païolive wood. Successful vacations are guaranteed!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

En Ardèche, découvrez le bois de Païolive et ses mystérieux blocs calcaire

Tout au sud du département de l’Ardèche, au pied des Cévennes se cache un trésor méconnu. Le bois de Païolive et ses majestueux blocs calcaire invitent à la contemplation.

Le bois de Païolive est un site mystérieux aux allures presque fantastiques. Les habitants l’ont d’ailleurs nommé le bois des “fados”, le bois des fées. Car cette forêt de chênes verts et blancs s’est installée dans un chaos minéral féérique, conférant au site sa singularité. En parcourant les chemins de ce bois, les randonneurs peuvent admirer falaises, arcs et tours. Chacun de ses blocs calcaire est associé à un conte ou une légende. En parcourant les sentiers de la vierge, de la corniche ou de la boucle du randonneur, les marcheurs de tout âge ne peuvent rester insensibles au charme de ce milieu naturel d’exception

Une histoire millénaire

Dès la Préhistoire, le climat doux de cette région a attiré les premiers hommes. Dolmens et vestiges de poterie témoignent de leur présence et des débuts de l’agriculture, la poterie et l’âge de fer dans la région. La période historique a ensuite vu arriver de nouveaux habitants qui exploitèrent la périphérie du bois, les cours d’eau mais aussi les zones les plus reculés.

L'ours et le lion à Païolive

Faune et flore

Le bois de Païolive est classé en zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique, site Natura 2005, et Espace Naturel Sensible. De nombreuses espèces végétales et animales y sont régulièrement observées et étudiées. Plusieurs espèces végétales endémiques rares peuplent le bois. Le castor d’Europe y a également trouvé refuge, tout comme le martin-pêcheur, le grand-duc, l’alouette lulu, le milan noir et bien d’autres oiseaux qui ont fait du bois leur lieu de nidification.

Martin Pêcheur dans le bois de Païolive

Sport et loisirs

Randonnée, spéléologie sont reines dans le bois de Païolive. Les multiples sentiers et boyaux sont une invitation à la découverte. La randonnée Les Vans par exemple, d’une durée de 3 heures et d’une distance de 9 kilomètres, permet aux randonneurs de découvrir certains des secrets de ces lieux somptueux. En contre-bas du bois ce sont les Gorges de Chassezac qui vous attendent. Canoë, kayak et paddle vous permettront d’accéder aux vestiges du bâtis agricole historique et aux impressionnantes falaises. Les plus intrépides pourront d’ailleurs escalader les falaises du grand canyon de Chassezac.

Gorges de Chassezac

N’attendez plus pour découvrir les mystères du bois de Païolive et des Gorges de Chassezac. Des guides expérimentés sauront vous conter les légendes et vous faire découvrir les blocs granitiques et leur histoire. Ils pourront également vous révéler la richesse de la flore et de la faune qui se laissent découvrir aux visiteurs les plus attentifs.

Site géologique remarquable, patrimoine historique et naturel, sports et loisirs… Il ne manque rien au bois de Païolive. Les vacances réussies sont garanties !

La rédaction